1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] your older computer stuff

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Fitseries3, Aug 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i need a few things to build a computer for my kid. i also need a few things to upgrade some of the older machines in my house.


    here's what im interested in....

    478pin P4's (NO celerons)
    512mb/1gig DDR1 or SDRAM stick(any speed)
    479pin P4 mobile, centrino, etc. chip(no celerons)
    1gig/2gig (single stick only) DDR2
    DVD rom/cd-rw combo drive
    40gig - 120gig sata drive
    PCI wifi cards(2) G or better.

    i need this stuff AS CHEAP AS POSSIBLE if not on trade.

    i have a few older parts to trade if you need older parts too.

    PLEASE do NOT PM me. make your offers here. thnx.
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2008
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Got any 939 chips lying about? I've got a crap load of DDR...
  3. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    any decent agp cards ? i could trade a 512 ddr 400 stick for hehe, also i have a p4 northwood at 2.4 ghz with an 800mghz fsb no heatsink though, and a 2 ghz p4 400 mghz fsb no heatsink as well also northwood. will trade if you want :toast:
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i have a X850xt 256mb i think. the 2gig p4 would be fine.

    i may have a 939 but i'll have to look. give me a bit. 2 LARGE ddr sticks would be great.
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Large? Biggest I've got is 512mb i think, but it's DDR400 and is pretty decent stuff tbh.
  6. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    i can only do one stick of ram :( taking it out of my sisters computer lol, she only needs 512 anyways. but both p4's can be yours, just tested the 2 ghz, testing the 2.4 now.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im just looking for size not speed. this is for my GF and it's never gonna be OCed or anything. but ya... sounds good. i just need at least a gig for the computer. right now it's got 512mb of SDram. SOOOOO ancient. ROFL!
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I've got 2 Gbs worth of matched DDR, as well as 1.5Gb of a different brand of matched DDR.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    i used my buddys old p4 sdram 9600 pro rig, it sucked lol, took the 9600 pro out while hes mourning with his parents about his grandfathers death, runs so much beter with my amd rig then his was ever able to run. i could see if my sister would part with both her sticks if you want her 1 gig matched pair its rated for ddr 222 or some weird number , the chips run at like 111 mghz, i could just let her have one of mine and settle for 512 for the time being.
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    Ygpm
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  11. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    i got a a data ddr2 1gig memory stick for 10$? D:
    \

    i also have a few hd laying around i dont know how to distinguish one from sata or another, i will test if it even works out
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    SATA uses the smaller connectors that can only be used for one drive. IDE uses big ribbon cables and can support two drives per connector.

    edit: that's a really basic explanation, but it should help you visually distinguish them
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Fit just build a cheap dual core (Pentium or X2) rig :p..
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,859 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,961
    I have a matched pair of Corsair ValueSelect PC-3200 512MB sticks(1GB Total). $20 Shipped
    I also have an 80GB Western Digital SATA Drive. $25 Shipped
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dont think it will work in my board. it's a 400mhz FSB board and there is no bios updates. it's in one of those HP slimline desktop computer thingys.
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ah I had one of them. You sure its 479? The one I had was a deskbook or something, normal 3.5" IDE drive, normal DDR 184-pin RAM and a normal 478 processor. (It had a northwood 2.6)

    Then again I think mine was 533FSB.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    damn it fit. I had 2 socket 478CPUs and 3gb (1gb sticks) of DDR ram also 512mb of SD but i sold them to some guy @ a computer shop. good luck.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas

    it's 479... or maybe just a different pinout on the 478 socket. i'll get a pic here soon.

    it's a mobile chip and has no ihs
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ah right, must be diff models :)

    Im getting a 478 proc btw, although it may not be what your after. Its one of those 3Ghz 30-capacitor northwood chips (that are meant to OC well).
  21. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Fits would u be interested in this 150. 00 and shipping or offer :)
    Trying to get rid of this one and another basicaly the same thing. This one has XP on it the other has vista.


    [FS][US] old but still working tower
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    my problem is not having A computer... it's having a WHOLE computer. i have about 5 partial computers and i need 2 to work good/better than they are now. im really only needing what i have listed in the first post but you guys have generously offered me some decent stuff. my budget doesnt allow for a whole lot here though. im not building these for myself... you know how i am if it's for me. ;)
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,859 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,961
    The Pentium M socket was called socket 479, but it really had 478 pins. It kind of led to a lot of confusion. If it is a different pin out from Socket 478 CPUs, then it is socket 479 and you needs a socket 479 CPU. Some laptops used Socket 478 with Pentium 4 processors. If a desktop processor won't fit in the socket, then it is socket 479.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    this may help...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    board is asus PTGV-LM

    it takes ddr2-400

    i'd like a faster chip with more L2 and possible dual core but IDK if the board supports it. i'll check now.

    EDIT: no duals... dammit

    * Northbridge: i915GV

    * Southbridge: ICH6

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page