1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,514 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    I was sooo close to buying this the other day... instead I went with the Ultra Defender II

    it was 20 USD cheaper and fit the side stand built into my desk for the computer. I was really thinking about getting the CM though.

    I also finally got a SATA DVD drive and a controller card to go with it.

    working on transferring pics, will upload in a bit

    The new Opti
    [​IMG]

    the controller card
    [​IMG]

    a box
    [​IMG]

    time to put stuff in it
    [​IMG]

    Sorry its not a step by step... but here's an overview shot
    [​IMG]

    CPU area, I've had that cooler for a couple years now and no issues, had to run the SATA cable around it.
    [​IMG]

    Yep... still have some PATA devices. Due to cable lengths i've had to arrange them this way. I'll get a bay converter for the hard drive later.
    [​IMG]

    Most of my storage capacity, some cable routing on the left.
    [​IMG]

    Cable routing and connections for the hard drive cage
    [​IMG]

    there's a 2.5in hard drive in there somewhere. 250gb.
    [​IMG]

    Last min. 80mm fan add-on.
    [​IMG]

    Front done.
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ^my quality assurance team

    and how it looks in its now home...

    [​IMG]

    Grand total was about $100

    Oh almost forgot... total drive count now...

    [​IMG]

    Ok... NOW i'm done lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2013
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,105 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,837
    Location:
    Mexico
    :rockout:

    [​IMG]

    Extremely overkill for my setup (1680x1050 60Hz) but at the current prices, who could resist?


    EDIT: wow, this card is great. 15w less at idle than my old 6950.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,562 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  4. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    You got the point for those hdd names. :laugh:
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  5. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,455 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    You can always rationalize overkill, for example: on that screen, with v-sync turned on, that card will never get noisy :toast:
     
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Lol i went a similar 7970 overkill, onlu regret is voltage locked on mine :(
     
  7. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Jetster, PopcornMachine and stinger608 say thanks.
  8. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    d1nky says thanks.
  9. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    my plans were to block a 7970/7950, small res next to gpus, refit it all with white hose, black monsoons, angled fittings etc

    but I haven't got time anymore and plan to sell this and build a small 3770/R9 xfire rig (maybe modded)
     
  10. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Modded and small = fun
    Support your UK brethren, get some Mayhems coolant.
     
  11. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    still tinkering....

    A computer is never finished...
     

    Attached Files:

    Cold Storm says thanks.
  12. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,973 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Future SteamBox / 290X rig

    I've had this HAF XB case in a closet for over 6 months now, and I decided to use it for a rig that will have a dual boot SteamOS/Win8 and hopefully an AMD R9 290X once it's released, I gutted my Titan rig and decided to move the 4770K to this future rig along with the MSI GD65 board:

    [​IMG]

    I have my little helper taking care of removing screws from my old rigs:

    [​IMG]

    SLI GTX 680s will act as place holder until AMD releases the 290X:

    [​IMG]

    The rig is running and waiting for the beta release of SteamOS once it becomes available:

    [​IMG]

    The HAF XB is an awesome case, lots of room, amazing airflow and the fact that pretty much every panel can be removed, makes it lots of fun to build a very powerful rig:

    [​IMG]

    My main rig will keep the WC Titans along with the 3930K and my old game room PC with the 2600K and SLI 680s will go to my bedroom, once I get my hands on the R9 290X I'll replace the two other 680s.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Sliver Krunk

    Sliver Krunk

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    63 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Flag
    nice rigs bro. I am loving those 680's.
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    now now thats a joke ... i found a Asus GTX580 Matrix Platinum 1.5 for 130$, i guess i will SLI it with my other 580 or try to resell the 580+MK-26 and get a 2nd Matrix i really think a dual Matrix setup would look plain awesome in my HAF XB tho i would need to change my PSU :shadedshu i dont think a 700w 80+Gold can handle a dual Matrix + the 1366 setup

    i went to drop some old junk i dont use (SSF DC7700 and DC7100 cases)and another joke took place: i found a nice i5-2400 in a wrecked pc in the local dump, seems to be ok
    [​IMG]
    and i have a ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 on the way (70$ near new state) to test it.
    either i am lucky as hell today, if it works, or just half doomed if it doesnt

    humpf ... now i can, if the windows instalation get well and the cpu i found works, use it as it is in place of my AM3 setup or find a "cheap" i7-3770(K) and replace my 1366 setup (even if i would have some bitter feelings of using a ROG card on a ASRock mobo and not on my Rampage III)

    oh and for overkill i have a little surprise, i went a bit overboard and wanted to try something with the AM2+ setup
    [​IMG]
    yesh thats right IFX-14 double TY-147 in a mATX setup the door close without problem :D
    [​IMG]
    1260rpm for the TY-147 and 800rpm for the coolink SWIF on the back and its pretty much silent :ohwell:
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2013
    marsey99 and Sliver Krunk say thanks.
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    i5 2400 can clock up to 3.5 4 cores 3.8 turbo with a z motherboard, did it to my friend's the other day with a nice offset undervolt.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well i will see that soon(tm), i recieved the ASRock Z77 Ex 4 gosh i remove my previous comment ... its not near new... its new original boxe all accessory inclued (inclusive the SLI bridge wich i think will be a bit short :D ) no dust no trace of anything on it, the previous owner say he need to sell it to get a more adapted mobo: the coloring wasnt fitting the look of his pc and he wanted a "red-black" mobo ahaha so that simple thing is the cause of a near 50% reduction, even the IO shield is still sealed.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    hum ... i guess this will be the base for my next build either in the HAF XB in place of the 1366 setup who will be thrown into the WCG bloody pit of computational computerized computing or in a new case ... tomorrow i recieve my Matrix ... still, my Etailer cant deliver the ram i ordered before next week (no ETA i hate that!) fundays of work to come :laugh:
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9,428 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,982
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    After the long winded RMA of nightmares, I got a nice surprise. Gigabyte replaced my Reference 780 with a Windforce X3 OC model!
    Also, my PC(shoebox) atm.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    HammerON, lZKoce, PHaS3 and 3 others say thanks.
  18. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,845 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,553
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    [​IMG]
    My i5 Lappy @ da Blackdog Cafe
     
    cadaveca, torgoth and GreiverBlade say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,599 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,336
    Arjai says thanks.
  20. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    285 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    These pics arrive today to my inbox, that pc was built for my brother at the company where he works.
    It'll be used for 3D rendering (sketchup + vray)

    2x Opteron 6272 (2.1GHz 16cores)
    Asus KGPE-D16
    4x8GB ram (unknown specs)
    Quadro K4000
    Corsair AX-850
    NZXT Phantom
    hard drive (unknown specs)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    C/m leaves much to be desired but I didn't build it.
    Can't deny c/m seems to be tricky/annoying due to mobo size (form factor EEB 12"x13").
    When given the opportunity, I will go over there to take some pictures that do justice to that little moster.-

    I`d like to see 32 cores running cinebench.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    thats a totaly right fact!!!

    also happy time: i got a 2nd GTX580 Matrix and found a buyer for my Zotac, oh boy i cant wait till i get my hand on all the hardware, and start to do what i love the most: assembling rigs ... :laugh:


    Matrix SLI, Neo here i come! (whaaattt a gpu dont dodge bullets in slowmotion? all those years of hope and now a sade truth ruin it all... :cry: )
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  22. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    918 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Canada
    Bump
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
    cadaveca and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9,428 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,982
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
  24. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    918 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Canada
    Bump
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
    RCoon says thanks.
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9,428 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,982
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Friend of mine in Hungary still uses a P4 478 to play TF2 xD
     
    JunkBear says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

Animalpak

Share This Page