1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    814 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Canada
    Bump
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  2. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Thanks guys! In, what seems like, another life I was a honor roll photography student. Although I would not liken this to any of my assignments, the eye for artistic lingers. Despite a life full of chaos and stress that clouds my concentration on such endeavors.

    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    What they mean is your screen is awfully glossy. At least, that's my interpretation.
     
  4. babouk100

    babouk100

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    138 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    Reunion Island
    [​IMG]

    Coming next: watercooling
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    I've been wanting to watercool my 7970s with those blocks, but didn't know how they would look together, how they link together when that close, and how they perform compared to, say, an EK FC block or a Heatkiller FC block.
    Waiting on results.:toast:
     
  6. babouk100

    babouk100

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    138 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    Reunion Island
    To link together the blocks I'll use 2 crossfire bridges

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For performance http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=165761
     
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
  8. babouk100

    babouk100

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    138 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    Reunion Island
    I have all necessary for 2, 3 or 4 graphic cards

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    211 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    My 7970 should be delivered today. but for some odd reason the seller didnt deliver it at work, but at home. where there was nobody. so Its gonna be tomorrow. ill post some pics :)

    EDIT: as im typing it, IT JUST GOT DELIVERED. XD. normally it would be tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,745 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    1st Matrix recieved, huuuuge box lovin! waiting on the second and the ram

    "post holder"
     
  11. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I shot this with a delayed flash, to get the reflection, then to light the computer with a soft flash.

    The screen is not glossy. It is a bit dirty though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    814 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Canada
    Inside the Compaq Evo. Added a fan that blow air outside through a pci slot, a pci USB 2.0 card and for the inside port I added a Kingston 8gigs for backing up the drivers, softwares and others for when I format the whole computer. Also the psu fan was noisy so I did put an Antec 80mm fan.

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    tigger says thanks.
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,189 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,913
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,807 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Oregon
    With the FM2 the stock cooler is a little loud. I looked and looked for an aftermarket cooler and the two that I liked were $50 so I looked threw my junk and found the Zalman Heatsink I use to test boards. The fan and mounting hardware is gone but I think it will fit. So after measuring I e mailed Zalman and ordered a new fan and hardware $9 shipped.

    First a vinegar and salt bath

    [​IMG]

    Then new hardware

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Ok its not fitting over the memory soooo

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now the memory gets cooled from both directions

    [​IMG]

    GPU /CPU temp was 70c / 56c with the fan at 8. Now 53c / 38c With the fan at 1..... Furmark under load

    The PSU is now the loudest thing
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,745 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    last build still in a HAF XB moving to a more "modern" setup as i've said some post above.
    [​IMG]
    ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 i5-2400 8gb Gskill ARES 2133 Asus Matrix GTX580 Platinum (a 2nd will come later this week)
    [​IMG]
    a little(huge) bit of dust as usual when i mount a rig but hey the i5-2400 i found in a dump run as fine as if it was new. also i hate ASRock for doing narrower ATX board :rolleyes:
    [​IMG]
    i tested my InWin 700w 80+gold PSU in SLI mode (Matrix+Zotac 580) it handle it pretty well at 881/1002(4008) i guess dual Matrix will not be a problem.

    now, works to come: i have a spare H80 i think to use it instead of the HR02 (while waiting till i have all the pieces for a custom loop, planning on a CPU loop but not GPU), on the CPU upgrade side i have in mind a i7-3770K (or a non K) still a non K i doubt the price lowering would be worth it, also i came across a Xeon E3-1275V2 at a price of 199chf atm, the Z77E4 is compatible with (does Xeon can run without ECC memory?) iirc a E3-1230 is a i7-3770(minus the useless IGP) equivalent, tho Xeon are barely overclockable.

    the question is should i try to find a i7-3770K or should i go for that E3-1275V2, if i can get it at a lower price than a i7-3770(non K) overclockability is not essential (hence the initial dilemma over a i7-3770K or 3770)
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    I would say either the 3770K or the Xeon. The price difference between the 3770 and 3770K is so small that you may as well go with the K version to allow a bit of tweaking. On the other hand, the Xeon is pretty nice, can be run with non-ECC memory, is essentially a 3770 without the IGP you wouldn't use, is pretty cheap, and, being a Xeon, will run 100% load 24/7 without a hiccup. Its base clock is also 100MHz higher than a 3770, just like the 3770K.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,745 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well the price difference where i live is 30chf between a K and non K and the Xeon i saw is 30-40chf ~ more than a 3770K i would be lucky if no one spot this auction and get it at 199chf

    Edit: E3-1275V2 has a IGP
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/422/Intel_Core_i7_i7-3770_vs_Intel_Xeon_E3-1275_v2.html still its a i7-3770 with i7-3770K base frequencies
     
  20. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Wait, the 3770K is cheaper than the Xeon? Just get the 3770K and call it a day.
     
  21. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,745 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    but what if i could get that Xeon for 199chf (+9chf shipping) instead of 339-349chf the 3770K

    edit: i said the Xeon is 379-389chf where i live new and from a etailer, the one i say i spoted is 199chf in a auction :eek:
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    That clarifies it.
    If you can score the Xeon for that price, get that. Otherwise... I dunno. That's a huge price gap.
     
  23. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    to clarify the IGP thing 123X -
    x = 0- no IGP;
    5 - has an IGP.
    my 1230v2 works like a champ! if you dont overclock I'd say go for it :)
     
    GreiverBlade and Random Murderer say thanks.
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,745 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    do i have the right to say WTF???
    [​IMG]

    look at the multiplier... i thought non K cpu are locked ... so the max multi on a i5-2400 should be 31x no?
     
  25. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Turbo mode?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (2 members and 5 guests)

khemist, MxPhenom 216

Share This Page