1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    sdfl;jkhfl;gkhl I hate you :laugh: Awesome card man, enjoy! My dads got two Visiontek 4870X2's.
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Johny5, love the setup man. What kind of temps are you getting?
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    best ever
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Much MUCH better. 1066mhz is now stable, used to be a little flaky.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  5. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    cdawall... downsize that picture. Your picture is literally lagging my browser, lol.

    Thanks mlee. My temps with the new board sit around 30-32C idle and about 45C 100% full load. This is at 3.5GHz, 1.45v.
    mlee49 says thanks.
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    johnny, thats a beautiful setup man

    CDAWALL, nice little setup :D

    JR, good to know it is now stable at 1066 :toast:
    JrRacinFan and johnnyfiive say thanks.
  7. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Thanks ckn. I gotta wait for my 6 pin to 8 pin PCIE adapter to come in before I can power up the 4870x2. :cry:
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats a bummer, but hey thats the least of worries bro. you got the card already :D
  9. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    It will be interesting to see what kind of volts u ll get with the 4870x2 installed.
    I have the same PSU too so i d really like a screenie with volts from everest and OCCT if possible!!:toast:
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    thanks for the response guys,but i'm scared it won't work haha i'm scared my comp would explode or something and i had to 0.1V on my cpu to get it stable.
    thats what my BIOS settings look like to keep my 2.8ghz stable.
    ******** System Voltage NOT Optimized ******** <<---IGNORE This.
    System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
    DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+0.300V] <-- default is 1.8V, 1.8 + 0.3V = 2.1V set this to add up to your ram's voltage requirement.
    PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [+0.1V] <--- a little extra for stability
    FSB OverVoltage Control___ [+0.1V] <--- a little extra for stability
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control [+0.1V] <--- a little extra for stability
    CPU Voltage Control_______ [1.35V]
  11. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    [​IMG]
    she was beautiful once over
  12. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Will do. :rockout:
    theorw says thanks.
  13. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    are the mossfets the black cube things on the board? i want to cool them with the zalman heatsinks on my board. anyone tell me where they would be?

    [​IMG]
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Your mofset's are the black chips laying flat on the board. Check the pic of the Asus P5Q, it has a heatsink with a heatpipe over the chips laying next to the i/o shield. The pics small but I've squared off the area you need to place the heatsinks. :toast:
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
  15. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    ahh thanks, ill throw something on those soon :D
  16. kyle2020 Guest

    I always thought it was the big black cubes that were the mosfets - learn something new evey day :D
  17. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    they must be the phases of power then. i got a shitty 4-phase power
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Those black cubes, usually labeled with a few letters and numbers in white, are chokes, and each one represents a phase of power.

    e.g. P5Q3 Deluxe with 16 phase CPU, 3 phase memory, and 3 phase northbridge:

    [​IMG]

    (if you can't find them, they are labeled 1R0)

    Image courtesy of Bit-Tech.net
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Ok, so I reinstalled PS...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Yes, the lighting is "weak" but I like it subtle. Gotta be able to sleep in the same room :D

    Attached Files:

  20. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
  21. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    Thrackan that is one hell of a rig man!

    but i dont think the lighting is weak at all!
    Thrackan says thanks.
  22. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Well the picture colors make it stand out a bit more than real life. Still trying to find the right settings for photographing it.
    Lighting is basically 1 UV CCFL and the blue LED fan you see.
    But yeah... I like mine too :D
    computertechy says thanks.
  23. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    Also note that in that P5Q,only the mosfets in left of the cpu are colled!Directly north of the cpu there are mosfets too but are not cooled.But if u look closer u will see that there was cooling planned because there are 2 small holes that were intended for the heatsink missing,probably for lowering the cost...So these little flat black square pieces are the MOSFETS!:toast:
  24. kyle2020 Guest

    meh, my silverstones 18cm top fan blows directly over them and into my cpu, so im covered :D
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thrackan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 member and 3 guests)

Arrakis+9

Share This Page