1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    wonderfull i spotted from where the RAM problem was on the server ... 5 of the 12 ram slot have bent pin and now it even do lot of checksum error and detect 1024mb on 4096 installed and completely refuse to start ...

    with the mono Opteron 246 it worked before but it was showing 3076 on 4096
    but now with the 2 250 it don't work anymore... fail at post ahahah 2014 hates me ... oh well unless i find a way to correct the DIMM slots pin (which is unlikely possible i assume) i guess i will seek a new board :D
    pics incomming a bit later, im finishing the temporary rig ...

    so i received my 2 Optys 250 via Royal airmail in a really special package ... but no pin bent and also the best : no customs taxes...
    IMG_20140124_123138.jpg IMG_20140124_123134.jpg
    installation and ... poof nothing work as it should, the 246 either so the culprit isn't the 250 duo, 1 to 4 ram slots
    IMG_20140124_212812.jpg IMG_20140125_011443.jpg

    temporary rig ... pathetic ...
    IMG_20140125_011313.jpg IMG_20140125_011325.jpg

    i received also a notification of a delivery ... i hope it's my R9 270 ... i can't figure what it could be beside that ...
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
    PHaS3 and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,169 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,409
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Put 7970 up top. ;) 7970 has screwed up CFX finger from factory..look closely at the fingers and notice sides or of different size...small sides are too small, and bridge needs to butt up against the large side of CFX finger.
     
  3. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i think i found my new love ...
    16a_MBLarge.jpg opteron-board-2.jpg
    dirt cheap, stock in germany quick delivery and come with

    [​IMG]

    2 x Opteron 270 Dualcore CPU 2 GHz 2 x 1 MB Cache


    sad for my 2 250 but since i have a collection of CPU they will join the 246 in the hall of fame ... :D

    i could also go for a non bundled Tyan or Fujitsu with PciE but i would lose the purpose of the other parts i ordered for the original project ... gosh i need to sell some stuff i don't need
    48hrs to wait without new hardware to thinker with ... that will be the worst week end i had in many years ... (what i should consult a psy? really? )

    edit: after investigating a bit on the origine of the delivery notice ... it might really be the RMA return o my R9 270 ... 6day RMA??? either they saw the card was FUBAR and exchanged it or they re sent me the defective one with a bill for bothering them with a FUBAR card they don't want to replace ...

    i vote for the 1st option ... hopefully
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    cant put it up top, if I do it'll get no airflow, or my 7950 ends up getting none. After some tweaking and OCing I ended up getting a good 42k on 3dmark, then I had to start building my friends system. Still kinda angry i couldn't keep the UP7 for myself.
     
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,491 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yeah for filters

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    OH YEAH!!!

    my beloved R9 270 is back : shiny new (the one i RMA'ed had some glue trace on the TFIV cooler ... ) they received it monday and i got it in return friday 5days RMA ... i guess i don't hate 2014 that much ... :D

    Lock'n Load baby! at last i will not have to use the FM2A88M Ex4+ and the AII X4 760K with the 460 :clap: :clap: :clap:
    IMG_20140125_105352.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
  7. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,115 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,033
    Still don't have my RMA'd 7970, going on maybe 2 months?
     
  8. ranviper

    ranviper

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    82 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Adirondacks, NY
    Got out the non-phone camera. lol.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    pfff that's ... just... i thought "if they make me wait 1 month i will be pissed" but 2 month ... damn ... what brand?
     
  10. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    623 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Motherboard friend! :D

    Got the GPU driver working, now it's just to get iGPU overclocking to work. :S,
    A pic of the new insides:
    IMG_0404.JPG
    Took a bit of time since it's strapped up, and is a bit of work to get on and off:
    IMG_0411.JPG IMG_0412.JPG
    And here it is:
    IMG_0392.JPG
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    it is the only one µATX Bolton-D4 who has a CFX friendly layout (even if it is X16 3.0/X4 2.0 for me with the 760K it would be x16/x4 2.0)
    soon APU friend ... (or not too soon ... still broke :oops: ) i plan for a A10-7850K too :D

    edit: those temps ... i love the Twin Frozr IV 18% fan all the time 56° max ...
    also look the CPU temps (semi accurate i think) but the Grand Kama Cross seems to be a bit overkill on that Phenom :
    temp.jpg

    and it's while playing Crysis 3 hum 100% on all core and 99% GPU, botlenecking? i don't remember the definition of it :oops:
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
  12. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Cpu is at around 70% usage across all cores and gpu is at 100%. Bottleneck is on gpu as it should be in crysis 3, you have little less than 30% cpu headroom for more action heavy game sections :toast:
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well not totally : actual values are under windows desk, i was talking about max value recorded but i get that max is not accurate since it records the max status of each core separately so at one time or another they reached 100% during game, gpu was mostly 99% max on average i get 45-56% according to MSI's OSD

    but since i am on a simple Phenom i lower the graphic settings to get 55-60fps stable well the game isn't ugly on lowest settings :D

    let's go ... all in place started fine just need to re activate win7 (Intel driver wipe and re install of the AMD one)
    IMG_20140128_130259.jpg IMG_20140128_112131.jpg IMG_20140128_112121.jpg IMG_20140128_130226.jpg
    well i don't feel too much downgraded :D
    μATX.jpg valley2_2014_01_28_17_59_48_324.jpg

    and it does 12pts more than the Xeon setup in Valley ... yep ... not downgraded

    Crysis 3 in high 60fps max 52avg hum ... satisfied i don't have to lower too much

    i noticed a funny thing ... since i have a full AMD setup now i thought why not install Raptr Gaming Evolved App ... and i noticed the reward store ...
    bbq.jpg
    ooohhh i just have to do 119'090pts for a free R9 270X ??? weee..wait ... im pretty sure when it will be launched those reward (hardware) will not be available for Swiss people ... damned racism... :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  14. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    OK, H60 added and moved SSD to top of HDD cage. New motherboard within the next couple of days :)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    those corsair led fan look nice
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  16. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    I didn't get a choice. Missus saw them in Memory Express and that was that lol

    Looking forward to getting the MSI Z87M gaming board in there. Gonna add some Dominator RAM, swap out the remaining fractal fans, add another SP to the H60 for a push-pull, add a window to the case and have some subtle LED lighting going on around the inside of the case.

    I had to remove my optical drive to get the H60 rad mounted up there but I never used it anyway :)
     
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,580 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    who use ODD nowaday ... since i cant find a slim slot in for my SG09B where i am ... i use a external odd when i can't DL driver/games/software.

    for my brand new FM2+ setup i used my SGSIII to DL the all in one AMD drivers and the lan driver, then USB connect to the rig :D i totaly forgot about my external LG DVD writer and the ASRock driver disc ... :roll:
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  18. s1DDy

    s1DDy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    CaseClosed.jpg caseopen.jpg insides.jpg OpenDark.jpg

    Just finished a rebuild of my rig, Case is a CoolerMaster Cosmos II.

    Pretty happy with it so far, gonna tweak the cables here and there some more in the next few days (want other GPU cables :)

    Building it was damn easy with this case i must say, even the cable management at the back was surprisingly easy :3

    Still thinking about with what to upgrade my 2 690's atm, them 790's (if the rumors are true) sound intressting although going maxwell does sounds nice aswell :3
     
  19. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    355 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    Decided on Z87M Gaming motherboard and fitted last night complete with tacky sticker:) I love it, great little board. I may do it justice with a 4770K......

    [​IMG]


    EDIT - Just sold CPU, RAM and GPU. Should be getting a 4770K, 16GB Corsair Platinums, H110, new GPU and an accommodating case....this is getting expensive but interesting :)

    Going to keep the H60 in this case and build a WoW rig for my GF.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014
  20. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,827 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,288
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I had not had a chance to upload pics from my latest acquisition:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Can't wait to install drivers ver. 14.1 tomorrow :) let me know what you guys think :)
     
  21. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    After a loooong time of using my p4 775, shifted to a trinity notebook and finally saved up some cash and was able to build.
    < --- Specs

    Hopefully this will serve as long as my p4 served me hahah...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Cable management to the best I can do.. :| 1st time owning a good branded case! :D
    [​IMG]
     
    Lionheart, cadaveca, Norton and 3 others say thanks.
  22. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    323 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Nebulas
  23. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,613 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,717
    Are you going to water cool the ASUS card as well?

    Nice set-up:toast:
    Thanks for sharing:)
     
    broken pixel and 15th Warlock say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    809 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    333
    Psyko12
    That's a nice rig. Really like the Xigmatek cooler. How are your CPU temps?
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
  25. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Thanks, it's ok idle around 19-21c and on load does not exceed 53c (gaming load), no ac atm and room temp is around 28-30c
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 member and 6 guests)

Devil-Walker

Share This Page