1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    This is the window after one coat of black. It's too cold to do the second atm :(

    [​IMG]

    Whats my cable management like?
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Another picture of the 'thing' sat on the desk.

    [​IMG]

    I need a better camera...working on it... :)
  3. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Flip that PSU over, shove another white fan in the back and call it a job done inside, Pig. :toast:
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If you don't have a hole saw piggy I'll send you mine if you wanna do the PSU flip mod :D
  5. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Solid offer right there.



    If you flip the PSU it also stops you dropping things in to it when you fiddle with your rig. :)
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    And you don't want to know how annoying it is voiding a PSU warranty to retrieve screw is!
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Nice acid! well my new MSI G33M motherboard came in yesterday and it looks good! was reading the manual and i must say with PCIex 2.0, 1333FSB, 45nm support, OC software/bios options, its not bad for a 40$ board.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    *EDIT*

    Found someones overclocking results for this board and a Q6600. From what ive read its a decent clocker for G33 series boards.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    wait, the pics at newegg or where it was i saw it had 5 sata ports , that one you got only has 3 sata ports?
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    But still has the solder points : /
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeah, but i wouldnt try to solder 2 sata ports on it :roll:
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you could get a pro to do it, but that will cost you i think?

    i have no idea about what it costs, but i think you could do it? but i dont know
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I've soldered on AGP slots onto dell mobos and reflashed the bios and got it working, its possible but not often worth it.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I dont think ill use all 3 sata ports anyways due to the current hard drive i have for the machine is IDE and also the DVD drive is IDE.

    Once my CPU comes in (penium D 830), i will be ready to install the motherboard and fire it up in the nostalgic DELL case :) *Operation retro*
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    If i flip my PSU, i can't have an intake at the bottom. The Modular cables get in the way.

    Otherwise, i'd have it the other way round from the start...
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Pics to explain what you mean ploz :D
  17. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    My 140mm fan nearly touches my PSU and the modular cables are all on one side. If i was to flip my PSU, i wouldn't be able to plug any cables in because the fan would be in the way. Id rather have my computer working and a fan than just my computer working.
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Intake on the floor can cause a fair bit of turbulence actually, have you tried to see what temps are like without?
  19. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I'm alright. The fan acts as a good cover for odd cables. Think i'll leave it. It hasn't caused me the slightest bit of trouble so far.. so no change.
  20. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    My PSU was fine that way to until I dropped a screw inside it by mistake....I soon learned my lesson and flipped it over. :)

    Also, going on what most 140's perform like...I'm not sure the one at the bottom makes much difference either way.
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    eww that sounds horrible! im glad my case has a air port at the bottom so my PSU can breath
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
  23. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Fishing around inside your PSU to find a screw you dropped isnt the best thing to be doing with your stuff. :rolleyes: :slap:


    The Lian Li's I have both have "rails" the PSU sits on so you can flip the power supply over and it still sucks in air like normal.




    Edit: A tip to avoid dropping stuff down in to your PSU is to place a used Christmas card/similar object over your PSU's fan while you work on your rig. :toast:
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    bad pic and the rig looks like shit but here it is ATM. Took it out of the case so i can paint the case and for testing(was having problems with the rig)
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,851 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    I just got a new stable OC. What do you guys think? Safe for 24/7 use?

    I finnaly got a nice stable OC. What do you think?

    Phenom II 955@3.58Ghz 1.45v
    210fsb

    34c-36c idle
    50c-52c load (100% for an hour)

    Ill post pics of my new cooler as soon as I find my camera lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)

Share This Page