1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That sidepanel fan is useless man, would of been better upgrading front intakes with the money : ]

    If sidepanel fans are used the smaller ones are better as it causes less turbulence etc in system.


    I would suggest at least changing the big fan to a couple of 120s instead : ] they'll push more air anyways at higher pressure too.

    ( two average cfm 120s tend to out do most big fans surprisingly, with the best 200mm+ fan I've seen only pushing 130 cfm)
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    well with the side panel off, the temp was around 40 deg. with the new side panel on with fan its 36deg.

    I like the temp drop + the red LED fan
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Mine is done, but can't get windows to install :(

    Im working on it, Need to install windows, can't get it going :(
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA

    install windows........NOW!!!!! then bench
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Can't get W7 to go, says something about a missing CD/DVD Drive driver or some s**t!
     
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    You know you wanna do this to it

    [​IMG]
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL? ive herd this problem was going around. what board do you have?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I know your pain i had to wait about a week for my i7 after i had everything else for it :banghead: I could have drove 30miles to MC and grabbed me one but didn't

    Install if from a flash drive here is a great progy that will make the flashdrive bootable and put all the files on it that you need.(still have to have the DVD so it can copy from it)
    http://download.cnet.com/Windows-7-USB-DVD-Download-Tool/3000-18513_4-10972600.html
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I actually had a similar problem during my build.

    I couldn't get Windows 7 to install because it wasn't recognizing my DVD ROM drive. So i went into BIOS and had to Enable everything for the Jmicron and ide controller stuff and it saw it and worked.
     
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I didn't have that problem with mine and mine uses the Jmicron but i think it worked fine for me because i used the Flash drive. But XP 64bit installed fine from the CD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida

    Yeah, I think I found the fix though, we'll see shortly.
    It's on the EVGA 3X SLI X58 board.
    That's why. Although I didn't have this issue when installing RC1 :confused:
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    so you got it to install now CP?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    naw, going to try from a USB DVD Drive.
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    oh ok. hope you get it installed. did you see my side panel?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah man looks great bro. Sorry I didn't comment, getting really frustrated with this install problem :banghead:
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea i would be too! i also got frustrated when i was installing XP onto my HTPC. It would install the base files after formatting the hard drive partition but when it went to restart, it would say "NTLDR is missing or corrupt" I finally figured out that my IDE cable was on backwards :) i should have checked the small things
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    This seems to be a SATA ACHI issue. I however tried setting it to IDE which fixed it for most people but it didn't for me. Trying from a USB Drive now.

    Hit me up on AIM, we are seriously derailing this thread.
     
  18. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just OC'd my i7 920:

    Keep in mind im using the stock fan, but with MX-3 paste.

    [​IMG]

    Only problem is i can't activate Windows, it's because my copy of Windows 7 is meant as an ''upgrade'' from Vista or XP, but instead i'm installing it on a fresh HDD, so the product key doesn't work.:((maybe someone can drop me a PM on how they got passed this)
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Dude, you can drop the voltage on that thing massively. That'll help a lot with temps.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    HMM thats doesnt seem right CD cause i bought the Windows Home premium upgrade from MMSDA for the school discount and i install it on a formatted hard drive and it has activated a couple of times with not previous OS so there must be something wrong

    Oh yes as Chicken Patty said, lower the voltage on that. Mine will do 4ghz @ 1.25V and 4.1 @ 1.275V
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    CDdude55, I found the last few BIOS updates from EVGA to be messing with my overclocks. BIOS-wise I've pretty much tested them all with few exceptions and I found the old SZ2C from April of 2009 to be the most stable while offering great overclocks. The last few BIOS releases have been found to cause all sorts of issues, especially if you are running a RAID setup via ICH10R (from my experience at least).

    Latest BIOS releases have some supposedly neat features but for overall balance between stability and max overclock, SZ2C is a good choice. You can keep it mind once you are done with the extreme-overclocking side of things and want to settle on a 24/7 overclock.
     
    CDdude55 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Agreed drop the voltage my C1 doesn't even need that much voltage

    also what are your temps?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lol? those cables have a little notch, so that this cant happen normally :D
    did you applied it by force?:eek:
     
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    oh boy oh boy oh oby

    i have those goodies here on its way

    EVGA SLI LE 180$

    3x1 Corsair XMS3 1333 mhz 50$

    and tadaaaa, a Xeon W3540 DO for 280$
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Awesome Don, you better post them pics :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page