1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152

    I like that case. It uses the same chassis a lot of older Xaser v7000x/v8000x series from Thermaltake were based on. Nearly all-steel construction is pretty rare nowadays. Heck, cases with ANY steel in them seem to be a rarity. Overall, nice machine you got there. Although, upgrading to a HD4890 would not be my first choice.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Maxtor brand wasn't bad until seagate bought them out. I had a original maxtor manufactured 250GB IDE Drive and it lasted over 7 years and it still going (but with the smart status at caution).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    mine is also somewhere about this age...one of the first Sata on the market.. that was its only advantage, it wont die :laugh: it just never ran very good;)
     
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I say " shit happens"

    When I first built my rig, my ram was DOA, I didn't refuse to buy corsair ever again, technically DOA is worse then a drive picking up wear and tear over the years :laugh:



    Also check if the vent hole has someone got blocked up, its very small so can get blocked VERY easily.
     
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,499 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    I agree, I have a 10GB Maxtor that has been through 10 years of hell and still works. Installed so many OS's its not funny.

    Kinda weird how one piece of hardware can last years but then some just up and die in 6 months.

    Guess things aren't designed for longevity anymore.
     
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i got an IBM HDD, that lasted over 10 years, till now... it was quiet and cool. and relatively fast,regarding its age. i also have made only bad experiences with corsair stuff... both dominator kits i own, time like shit, and only one of them OCs. the ballistix i have are FAR better, and they were a lot cheaper:eek:
    DOA can happen all time, but i hate, if something craps only halfway out, and then refuses to die in a short time, so i can RMA it:laugh:
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok update! the guy is offering me a full refund on the drive and alls well. now i have to find another drive or drives to replace it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    It's not that.

    Drives are more complex now.


    As component density increases rate of failure goes up ( as there's more things that have a 1 in a million chance of failing)

    Same as population increase, rate of sickness/disease /genetic disorder goes up, its not because we're living in different ways its just there's more people with x chance of getting ill .
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    OK i have 80$ for a new drive. i want a 1.5tb or 3x500GB drives MUST BE WESTERN DIGITAL.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Is it me or is newegg expensive on harddrives?
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea thats what i seen. i was looking around the FS thread on anandtech, hard, and here to see if anybody was selling some good drives
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    is 70$ a good deal for a Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ALI3NTIG3R

    ALI3NTIG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    Thanks Mate.

    So, what GPU would you choose ?

    ( Sorry for my bad english O_O )
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    whats the budget?
     
  15. ALI3NTIG3R

    ALI3NTIG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    174,90 EUR Euro = 238,015 USD US Dollars

    ( Price of the HD4890 Vapor-X on a French Website )
     
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well thats not too expensive, kinda like danish prices which is HIGH :D

    but i would go for a 5770, maybe the vapor-x version and then oc it to like 970/1375, that should be good imo
     
  17. ALI3NTIG3R

    ALI3NTIG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    HD5770 < HD4890 :D .

    DX11 is not my priority ( Windows XP ... )

    Thanks for your proposition also ^^
     
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    oh my bad then, go for the 4890 then:D

    maybe yu can find one used? that would bring the price down to a little over 100€
     
  19. ALI3NTIG3R

    ALI3NTIG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    Yeah, but i prefer buy new components :D , not already used
     
  20. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Surely if they are working and have warranty its irrelevant if they are new or not?


    The logic, it makes no sense to my brain D:


    Edit, the5770s can over-clock to over-cloked 4890 levels if you have skills ;)

    ( or after market cooling lol)
     
  21. ALI3NTIG3R

    ALI3NTIG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    I don't know, i like that i prefer new XD.

    Overclock a GPU, you can get 4-5FPS more, this is not enough to take the risk ( for me :D . )
     
  22. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I take it you've never over-clocked ever :p


    I've once pulled an extra 50 fps from over-clocking a 3870 and 3850 in crossfire ( FEAR 2 school stage, fighting the music teacher remnant)

    The cards come with programs in order to over clock them, hell you can even click " auto clock" and it will do the job for you!

    By the way, you speak of only a 5fps difference from overclocking.

    But have you read reviews recently?

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/EAH_5830_DirectCu/20.html

    only 10 frames difference between 5770 and 4890

    and the 4890 uses more power, produces more heat and will be noisier ( unless you get an expensive one like Asus EAH top with super ml cap)

    Even in older games the difference between the cards is negligible

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/EAH_5830_DirectCu/16.html

    ( sorry for using links from the 5850 review, but the info on 5770 is still there)


    I would really recommend the 5770.
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Any body know if this is a good deal?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeah thats a nice deal bro, they are like 120$ in denmark:D
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,861 (9.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,340
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    OK just wondering. i sent the guy a PM and if he resonds i will buy it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

khemist

Share This Page