1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yep, the gigabyte ud7 board, its crazy with NF200 chip and what not
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  2. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    behold franken pc

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    :laugh::D
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    The first room that was "decorated" in my new house:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Still a goddamn mess, but hey, I can use my PC :D
     

    Attached Files:

    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    how cold was the room cuz your idle temps are low compared to wut im getting :twitch:

    will this is wut i got i guess my d0 is hotter or something :ohwell: going to try running the block backwards see if temps change

    [​IMG]
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    It was 73f at the time of testing :) normal room temps for me range from 68f-80f depending greatly on how much :eek: I am on..

    btw i think on of the sensors are whacked because the room would have to be 68f to be 20c unless the temp on the floor was 5f lower... That could be possible
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,317 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    Nope it is no D14, its half the size and just edges it out with the stock fan.

    Not too sure on the water front, looks like I need to invest in a new GPU for work;)
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,511 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,117
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    :D

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,317 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    yup half that size...lol

    Its a big monster isnt it fits?

    EDIT: is that board 8 x 8 x 4 on the lanes?
     
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,511 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,117
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i love it....

    4.7ghz on air with my x5677

    thats a gb x58a-ud3r which i think runs 16x8x8

    [​IMG]
     
    sneekypeet and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  11. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,332 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Very nice Fits...
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,052 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    WOW nice fits!!! when are you picking up your dual 1366 EVGA?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. red268

    red268

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    452 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    UK
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,820 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,075
    Location:
    Florida
    ??? wtf? maybe an lol? how would they perform any diffirent than any other fan with something infront of it? cooling? how is it any worse than another fan with its CFM? CFM is CFM and if their in the same legue they perform similar...thats why they call CFM a Standard unit of measurement.

    avatar related
     
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Outstanding really! bit cramped in some ways but hey, £25 quid, I've had £90 cases that are worse :laugh:

    Won't be using it long though, just whilst I paint/mod my Kandalf : ]
     
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Miami
    LOL... wow didn't expect that from you, but let the lesson begin:

    static pressure.

    some fans blow less CFM but have a higher static pressure...

    In this case its blade design and fan thickness that affects static pressure. A 50 CFM 25mm fan will get killed by a 50 CFM 38mm fan if you put it on a heatsink, because the 38MM is less susceptible to the backfeed and the restriction of the cooler, and actually blows MORE air THROUGH the heatsink.

    This same concept applies to fan design and blade orientation/spacing of fans using the same thickness.

    so:
    Noctua NF-P12

    [​IMG]

    and
    Noctua NF-S12

    [​IMG]


    The top has more pressure, and is better on heatsinks even at lower RPM, even noctua will tell you this:

    http://noctua.at/main.php?show=nf_s12_p12_comparison&lng=en

    Same with water pumps, some pumps dont have the GPH of others, but have a higher head pressure due to to motor and impeller design.


    here is some bathroom reading:

    http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/cases_cooling/noctua_nf-p12_static_pressure_performance/1

    "The new Noctua NF-P12 now provides the static pressure needed for both heat exchanger and heat sink applications. All credit goes to Noctua for stepping up to the plate and making an even better product than the NF-S12's. Equally impressive is that you can now 'have your pie and eat it too' - cooling performance without the additional noise.

    Subsequently, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Noctua NF-P12 120mm cooling fans as a worthy addition to your cooling system."


    so... this is why its always a good idea to know the tech specs of a product before relying on one Standard to measure performance. I know that you know better, or should know better, you wouldn't judge a PSU based on WATT rating alone.
     
    angelkiller and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,511 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,117
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    noctua NH-D14...

    :D

    works guuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreaaaat!

    [​IMG]
     
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Miami
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    To add to what Phanbuey said.

    Static pressure is essentially power where as CFM is just speed.


    For example guy x punches at 25mph

    So does guy y

    But guy y knows how to throw a punch so knocks you the hell out, where as guy x simply cuts your lip or what ever.



    Good example in my head but does it make sense to others?
     
  20. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Miami
    Yeah totally, but just in case:

    X is a 140 lb 8th grader.

    and guy Y is Fedor Emilianenko.

    :laugh:
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    +1 to that my WC can't even do that
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,511 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,117
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    its a $1660 32nm cpu. thats just how they clock.

    room temp was 72f
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    By the way fit, think you've gone past the voltage safe zone if thats a 32nm cpu.


    *edit*

    I see you've confirmed it is above XD
     
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,511 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,117
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yup.. its ok.
     
  25. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Miami
    damn... i gotta get me a 32nm.

    5Ghz on a i5 quad 32nm would be perfect :D. Somehow I get the feeling that something like that won't be out for a while.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page