1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  3. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    It seems that although it's a good bit better than my old 4870, a 5850 would give you a lot more bang for the buck. I guess I'll keep looking for a 5850 then.
  4. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,967 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Been there, done that :rolleyes: I meant that I was the first poster on page 200 for this thread.

    EDIT: Oh, forgot I have it set to 50 posts per page :laugh: OK, so first on page 399 at default setting :ohwell:
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    So I'm not going to be able to get performance info or even a SS of the quad-quad core Xeon system, apparently Intel wanted it back last November, so he hasn't had it since December :(
    theJesus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Cr@zed^ New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    [​IMG]

    Mine atm. need to do a new paint and cablejob
    KieX, Radical_Edward and Soylent Joe say thanks.
  7. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  9. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Just got the a another board from sNiPeRbOb today and went to install it to get the Quad-Cruncher back online only to discover that the H50 doesn't fit in Thermaltake's V3 case.:cry::shadedshu I guess I will just use my lame V8 cooler.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Why not?
  11. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Because the the case provides no space between the top of the 120mm fan mounts. When I tried to mount it on the back the rad hits the top and wont line up with the fan holes.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    time to get out the duct tape! I hear MacGyver comming...
  13. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    haha yeah really!


    ....AND I tried to mount it on the top vents but the ram clamops wont allow me to mount a fan.:( Will the H50 work as a passive?

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    i ran mine passive, but depends on the clocks and voltage. maybe undervolt/underclock.
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Time to get out the tin snips. Cooling performance > looks. :D
  16. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Well I was thinking of mounting it on the top (2nd pic) and then just mount a fan/shroud on the top outside of the case.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,123 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    :laugh: Don't worry. The 10,000 post mark is coming up. You can still make it. :p

    He just needs a bigger hammer. Remember if it doesn't fit, you just havn't hit it hard enough. :D

    Though, some reassembly may be required afterwords. :laugh:
    theJesus says thanks.
  18. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Mount it on the back of the case on the outside sideways with the tubes towards the side panel. Or mount on the top of the case like second pic with fan on the outside.
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    what you could do T77 is put a fun on both sides of the rad as a push/pull then mount it to the case by a fan instead of straight to the case
    t77snapshot says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Not the prettiest, but that'll work.
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  21. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    stop being a fairy.....LOL :laugh:

    bodge job ftw.......
  22. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,967 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    post 10,000 will edit with real post

    EDIT:
    That's OK, thanks for trying :)
    Thanks to you, I just sat here pressing F5 for 10 minutes lol
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  23. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    LMFAO.... have u been on here the whole day waiting to post in 10000??
  24. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,967 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    says 10,000 for me, and I just checked like ten minutes ago and read what mastrdrver said, then noticed that it was 3 posts away lol

    EDIT: See, #10000
    [​IMG]
    computertechy says thanks.
  25. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    yea now it says 10000.....

    can you walk on water or part sea's yet?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page