1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lol, not my Samsung F1, nor my WD Green are better... even my SSD gets only 6.6 in this test:laugh:
    must be made for raid configurations;)
     
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah man, try something intensive and you'll see how great it is :)
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  3. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I tried playing AC2. Something was wrong. I was lagging way harder than when I was using my 9500GT. I'm going to check my drivers again...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    did you use driversweeper to get rid of the nvidia drivers before you installed ATI drivers+
     
  5. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Seems I missed some of them, thanks for reminding me. :laugh:

    I'm going to launch AC2 again and see how it works this time around.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    I swear each time Someone has a NV card Previously Installed they have a ass pain trying to install a Non Nvidia video card, I suspect NV drivers are like rootkits now. Ensure if you have WCG or Folding at Home they are turned off as they are CPU driven programs mainly. Reinstall AC2. Check out the AC2 forums aswell, Free Games like that are a Hit and miss sometimes.


    Ok

    Grab Driver Sweeper and Driver Cleaner Pro
    Grab Latest Motherboard driver
    Grab Latest Direct X Redist
    Unplug Internet cord
    Use The Default Driver Removal Technique from NV drivers do not restart
    delete the NV directory/folders
    delete any NV related registry entries
    restart machine
    Follow Directions of DCP and DS
    run Driver Cleaner Pro and then Driver Sweeper
    after DCP and DS are ran and directions followed
    Install Motherboard driver (if PCI Express has anything like a GART)
    Install Graphics Drivers
    Install Latest Direct X Redist
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  7. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got it working fine now, thanks! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    What ya do to fix?
     
  9. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I had uninstalled Nvidia control panel and such using windows install/uninstall manager, but it left some stuff behind. Driver Sweeper and Driver Cleaner Pro took care of the rest. Oh and I zapped all Nvidia folders just in case.

    MW2 and other games work great.

    For some reason AC2 is still laggy. One second my frame rate is 40+, the next it's 5, then back to 40+. No idea why. MW2 wasn't doing that, and I had it at higher settings.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    id say go to their forums for an answer to that. Tell them that all your other games run fine but this one is a PITA
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    another thing to try is perhaps overclock the CPU to 2.8GHz if possible.
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  12. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    First of all. Going to their forums has solved nothing in the past for me.

    Second of all, it ran perfectly fine before. (28-35 FPS with my 9500GT) Why should I overclock my CPU when I don't need to? (I can't afford to replace a CPU at the moment...)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    Sorry for your loss perhaps you should try to reinstall the game, sometimes games get configured for a certain card and need a reinit. Also that CPU is possible to OC to 2.8, its not much of a bump compared to 3.2GHz.
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  14. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Well crap. This will be the second time I've had to reinstall AC2. :shadedshu

    I'm honestly rather uncomfortable with overclocking.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Why? these Days, they even integrate it in processors,to be used by ordinary consumers, and name it "Turbo Mode":D

    i honestly think, you should try it at least. you can even increase the lifetime of your proc also, with undervolting at the same time;)
     
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Ohio
    In my experience, it's pretty damn hard to fry a modern CPU with a small overclock, unless you're retarded and bump the voltage to something way beyond what an average cooler can handle.

    In the event that you do fry it, then that just means you get to upgrade :D
     
  17. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    You see, after just shelling out $150 for a 5770, I don't have money for an upgrade. So I'd just be out a computer.

    Once I land a job thou... Then I'll start tweaking with overclocking my CPU and GPU.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, honestly, you've got to have some horrible luck to fry it from a 200mhz bump. You should be able to achieve it with very minimal voltage increase, if any at all.
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,832
    No worries man. CPUs are a lot tougher than most think. I dropped my brand new 1090T today out of the retail box! It hit the tile floor and slid. It was still in the plastic case but my heart dropped. I popped it in and shes runnin' good. Lesson? CPUs can take more than idiots can give in most cases.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    its not like dropping a cellphone where it has more weight.
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,832
    Yeah? Then you drop a 300 dollar CPU and see if you dont fucking cry. :laugh:
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    I did few years ago, bent a few pins while i was at it- fixed them, bent the pins again due to a freaking Paraffin based TIM on a cooler wouldn't budge even after heat was applied.
     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,832
    Mine was still in the plastic case. You know with the foam? Still I wanted to impale myself.
     
  24. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Ohio
    Shit, I've had one crushed underneath a bunch of stuff in a drawer for over a year and it still works like new :laugh:
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,828 (9.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,277
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hey mail man! test some OCs on that DDR2 board and let us know how it runs
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page