1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,405 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,622
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    G92.

    G80 ran hotter, and had broken H264 hardware decoding. oh and G80 didnt have HDMI audio either.
     
    (FIH) The Don and computertechy say thanks.
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I will try to do some benching this weekend with them, see how they do.
     
    [Ion] and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,002 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,468
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you ever decide to get rid of one of them, let me know! i can do some trading with a 8600GTS if you would like
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll keep you posted if I Do :toast:
     
  5. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Can an Athlon II x2 be unlocked to a x3 or x4? Or is that just for the Phenom series?
     
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    No. I think the X3 can be unlocked to an X4 of even a PhII, but the X2s are native dual cores and can't be unlocked
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,301 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    There are some but they were the very early ones.

    The give away that any Athlon II might be hiding a Deneb die under the lid is to look at the core code printed on the chip. You can figure that out here at cpu-world. If the core code includes the Athlon and Phenom then there is a Deneb core underneath. Whether any of it can be unlocked or not is any guess until tested.
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  8. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    It shows that my core code is only good for the Athlon II X2, Turion II Dual-Core Mobile, and Turion II Ultra Dual-Core Mobile. Thanks for the info anyways.
     
  9. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,301 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    At least you know what to look for now. I cruse ebay when I'm looking for either an Athlon or Phenom. Usually people will have already tested them and sell them as being able to unlock and its just a matter of the board your using whether you will have the same results.

    I got my X3 435, 550BE, and 555BE all off ebay without paying anything over retail price and actually a couple of them a little below (not to brag just so you know). All were confirmed working before hand, have never given me any problems, and clock pretty well.

    I think the 435 is the jewel of them all since when I just leave it as is, under my D14, 40C is hard to reach even when using 1.4v core and cpu-nb and pushing 3600 core and 2500 cpu-nb. Runs nice and cool all the day long. Fully unlocked and running stock speeds and volts (1.325 core, 1.175 cpu-nb) under the D14 will never see 40C regardless.

    I'd really like to get my hands on a C3 with a Deneb core. I think that would be a real gem if this 435 is any hint.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,696 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,550
    Threw everything into my Lian Li Rocketfish.. I'll get things organized better once my mobo waterblock gets in.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty and [Ion] say thanks.
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    You're making far better use of that RF than I ever did of mine....I remember having an ITX rig in mine :laugh: :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,696 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,550
    Ha! That would look funny, you could paint a mural around it! :laugh:
     
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Looking good erocker. Glad to see the RF is finally back. Now gotta mod the baby! :rockout:
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,696 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,550
    Lol, the furnace vent hides some modding shame. :shadedshu:laugh: My plans are to move the HDD rack right up behind the PSU. That should leave me room for the two xspc 120 radiators. The Koolance triple will go up top, and the pump/res. combo will sit at the bottom of the 5.25" bays. Hopefully my CHIV block gets here soon and I'll take the day off and do it. :toast:
     
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Lucky man being able to take a day off.. lol. I hope it comes soon also man. The idea's that your thinking up sounds good. can't wait for it to happen.

    :toast:
     
  16. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton

    let me know how the block works out for you buddy, really tempted to get one. I havent watercooled a nb and sb in 5 maybe 6 years..... lol :toast:
     
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    [​IMG]

    Here it was :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    There's more cables than there is computer in that thing! :roll:
     
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,104 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    LOL ION such a large case and so small a mobo
     
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Every piece of that rig except the HDD and optical have been sold....but that was a nice rig, low power, not too loud, and reasonably fast. Although a bit overkill in terms of case :rolleyes:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    here are my rigs ATM from the outside. Not very often you get to see them closed and how everyone else sees them.you can see the old CRT in the background on my 2nd rig :laugh:
    [​IMG]
     
    [Ion] and Soylent Joe say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    My setup ATM:
    [​IMG]
    Currently with a 9600GT that has as much vRAM as I have sysRAM :laugh:

    Cable management has deteriorated, but the PSU seems to be doing better now that it can intake air easier :)
     
    p_o_s_pc and Soylent Joe say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,214 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    S.Cali
    that being said, I am curious...would the airflow of the rear exhaust fan interfere with the intake of the psu? what airflow direction are the H50 fans facing?

    [​IMG]
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,944
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    H50 is intake.....not that it really matters, this computer hasn't seen it's side panel in months :laugh:

    The front fan doesn't move much air :)shadedshu), so it's impact on the PSU air supply is minimal
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,214 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    S.Cali
    oh there is no side panel???:laugh: Well nevermind then;)
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page