1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Slick stuff peet! Too bad that cooler clearance is so tight... Though a Shuriken would fit fine I guess.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,555 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    I used alot of older parts that were sitting around, but this might give you a bit more insight. I hadnt mounted the HDD yet to be sure my old IDE parts would fit ok, and they do.

    [​IMG]
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    How are the temps in that box sneekypeet?
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,555 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Well I ran an E6600 in there and temps were 3*C different at idle compared to that same chip in open air. Also note I had to use the short stack stock cooler for it, so that could explain a bit of the heat. IMHO still acceptable, plus the board will handle 45nm Quads so if it was to get too hot this summer, I could always try something new:)
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    sneeky thats awesome bro, that cooler is a tight fit in there bro :eek:
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,555 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Yeah I do think tho that an Atom or low voltage AMD the coolers may have a bit more room.
     
  7. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Partly, YES, but the other part of my equation is that hot air tend to go upwards and not sideways :D. Anyhow i doubt either would be bad considering the "pull power" of those 3 fans at the top...

    Heres my case fan placement:
    [​IMG]
    I did some testing, a few days ago. Everything was left as i it is, except for the yellowed out fan. At first i tried placing my last 120mm fan at the bottom (placement no.1) did my testing, left my PC too cooldown for 10 minutes, and then moved my fan from no.1 to no.2 position and did my test.
    Test consisted of running Orthos (blend test) and FurMark (stability test, 640x480,fullscreen off) for 6 minutes and then took the screenshot. Heres what i got.

    [​IMG]

    BTW my CPU runs at 3.62Ghz@1.36V, and VGA is slightly OC'd to 675Mhz (still didn't do a voltmod:cry:) and my CPU fan ran at 800rpm...
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thanks for the testing miloshs. Yeah I notice that fans on the bottom really dont do much, but fans up front help in keeping things cool a lot!
     
  9. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    When put up aginst CM690 case bottom fan is rubbish :D,no need in having one at all. It just messes up the airflow coming from lower-front fan...
     
  10. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    With hard drives installed, the front fan of the CM RC-690, does absolutely nothing for case intake and airflow.. It's blocked by the hard drive cage and drives..
     
  11. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    I you have 3-4 hard drives, yes! But otherwise, no!
    The bottom fan absolutely hasn't got enough clearance from the ground to make it effective enough. My opinion, anyhow...

    I have all the cages installed (altho not populated by drives) and its still making a difference. I agree that adding 2 more drives would reduce its effectivness... but it should still do well with two HDD's is there.

    Anyhow... im off to bed.. GN all :D
     
  12. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I don't see how a steel wall is penetrable by air.. I had an RC-690 :\
     
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    [​IMG]

    lol:laugh::roll:
     
  14. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    hahaha
     
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Sure it does, there are small slits in the HDD cage that allow the air flow to cool the HDD's. Now it's not an effective vga cooler to pull air in the case and on the cards, unless you add a second 120mm inside the cage like I did :D

    I really want a good camera to show off some of my stuff! My Ghettoness would kill you all!!
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    super clean room there cddude :laugh:
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  17. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    you could just about grow mushrooms in that room cddude :p
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  18. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    you can gorw just about anything in that room man!
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  19. Slyr7.62

    Slyr7.62

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Good testing miloshs, mobo temp went down 4°C, not bad @ all. I run 1 fan in rear, 1 on bottom, 2 in the 5.25" area(upper case 1/2 is a wind tunnel :D). Also a 120mm fan in the PSU and on CPU.
    I took out the HDD cage and my current single HDD is above the DVD Burner.
    Honestly, w/ how much air our fans push, we could flip our case to another end and I bet get temps within 3°C of normal. My bottom fan is week, maybe because of the bearing, and/or that's the one grill I didn't cut out.
    I might secure the bottom fan standing up vertically, either way it still helps GPU temps.
    Sometime I'm going to buy the 4-in-3 fan module, a different 3.5-5.25" adapter, and/or fab my own HDD-fan module.
     
  20. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Here's mine finished water cooling. Wires could be better but good enough for me :D
     

    Attached Files:

    Bluefox1115 says thanks.
  21. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Im also thinking of removing my HDD bay, but im afraid it will damage the integrity/sturdiness of the case... I will do it eventually since its all chopped out anyway. But i lack the tools at the moment...

    How would one remove the HDD bay from their case?
     
  22. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Just dremel it, or if it's riveted on, just drill out the rivets.
     
  23. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    I think i will... i guess i dont have to take out my mobo for that? :D
     
  24. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Unless you want tiny pieces of metal potentially shortcutting stuff, I'd take the mobo out.
     
  25. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Badass. another antec 1200 watercooled! :rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page