1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. fitipaldi

    fitipaldi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You culd tidy cables more.:)
    Btw, haw are you happy with CPU and Integrated Graphics?

    @DrOctopus, tnx. =)
     
  2. Mr. Strawberry New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    isle of wight
  3. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Could someone please tell me if there's a way to remove or ghost out the sleep button in Windows 7? I tried searching for an answer but I was only getting people's problems related to sleep. I want to completely remove the option. I've already disabled system sleep after X amount of minutes.
     
  4. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    disable hybrid sleep
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  5. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Yeah i could but the case is rubbish for cable management and no i wasn't happy with the IGPU,i was using a 5750 but that died on me so now i am using a GTX 460.
     
  6. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    Here Is Mine CM690 II PLUS :p


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Now I need to Change that crapy 9500GT to GTX460 :D
     
  7. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    I'm surprised that the 400W psu you have in there isn't cooking itself at full noise your system is dragging around 445W out of it


    @ IamEzio Is that a plastic coated wire tie i see holding that 4/8 pins cable (naughty naughty ) use a plastic zip tie
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    how do you come up with 445w, thats insane lol

    the cpu uses 100w at the most

    the gpu isnt a day over 200w, and thats overclocked

    then there is 100w for all the other stuff

    and that 400w corsair is pretty good and can take more than 400w
     
  9. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    haha i always find those calculators way overrated

    both you and i know that that rig does NOT consume 450w, i will bet on it


    10$ lol
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    why not roll some dice, they're just as accurate as those calculators.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    @kurosagi01 try firing up furmark and after that some occt or intelburn, and if the psu gets VERY hot its not good
     
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    even so it's not going to be very long before it dies they test them at what 100% load in a room that's chilled to keep the psu at 25 degC unless you can do the same I figure 90% load 40+ degC = less than expected Lifespan

    my 580W ran everything in my specs but it didn't take long for it to shit itself massive Vdroop on all rails
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    thats because hiper is a crap PSU brand.

    you get a corsair PSU for example, and they'll go well above their rated specs.
     
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you obviously have never tried the CX400W :p

    its one of the best 400w psu's out there, its extremely nice

    and NO im not a corsair FANBOY....but the cx400.......its just amazing
     
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    actually the Hiper typeR-580 got great reviews it's only later on they started cheaping out and turned to shit

    but when all is said and done regardless of brand and or quality you run it at it's limits or more than and it's going to die sooner rather than later hence why i replaced the typeR with an SS strider 750W Plus yes I can pull 848W from it if need be before it shuts off is it good to do this on a regular basis NO it isn't

    anywho I didn't want to start an argument over this we all have our own opinions on PSU's
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Great reviews =/= quality psu. The only reviewer I know that actually properly stresses PSUs during reviews is JonnyGuru.

    Hiper is, and always has been, average or below. I would happily run that system on a 500w Corsair, for example.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    agreed on johhnyguru, he truly does abuse them to the point of failure, for accurate testing.

    btw, just because a PSU uses more at the wall than the PSU is rated for, doesnt mean its a good thing.

    a 500W unit with 50% efficiency will use 750W at the wall to output that 500W - that doesnt mean its putting 750W into your PC, it means 250W is lost as heat.

    now if it reaches 750W while maintaning 85% efficiency or something, thats a pro.
     
  20. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Indeed it is. I love mine :D
     
  21. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I saw that as well. Not arguing with you either because you do show valid points but cmon man you gotta agree , core i3 530 is like half the consumption of an i7 965 if not more.

    Also the load wattage is measured pulling from the wall. thats not even accounting efficiency from the power supply.
     
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats only if you have a medium /low end psu they recommend that

    that 400w corsair WILL beat the shit outta a 5-550w low end psu i can assure you that much

    and this is not a argument, its more a good discussion, and i like them if they're sober and "well" (meaning no bad words about each other) spoken , like this one is :)
     
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    hey I'm not saying it wont work here it's just I don't think it's going to last a long time that's all
     
  25. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    500W psu with 50% effic, full loaded, will pull out of the wall socket 1000W=(500W/0.50) ; not 750w.-

    500W psu with 85% effic, full loaded, will pull out of the wall socket 588W=(500W/0.85)
    Those 88W=(588w-500w) are not totally losted by heat (joule effect), i mean mostly it is; but also there are magnetic losses in transformer's core, energy storage in the form of magnetic field in the inductors and energy storage in the form of electric field in the capacitors.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 member and 2 guests)

khemist

Share This Page