1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,886 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Bah. Go for originality and find a little plastic trapeze artist to hang from them.:toast:

    Looks very clean, and the fan sleeving is a nice touch.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    i dont even hit 350W, so yeah, same boat here.


    PSU reccomendations always aim high, because of two things.

    1. cheap shitey PSU's that over-rate their capacity

    2. multi rail PSU's having high wattage, but spread thin over heaps of rails.

    a 600W PSU spread over four 12V rails, a 3.3v rail and a 5v rail aint gunna work so well when one particular component is really power hungry (OC'd i7, 5970, fermi, whatever)

    with corsair we're talking under-rated PSU's with single 12V rails, so the odds of them working and laster longer lifespans is quite a lot higher than a cheap multirail PSU.
     
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,396 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,232
    Nothing wrong or unreliable with a quality multirail PSU either. I'd have no problem putting my TP750 with its 4 25A 12v rails heads up against any 750w single rail Corsair :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    and it works fine so long as no one component exceeds that 25A


    for example, what if you went 4x midrange cards (like 9800GT eco) for folding or SLI - woops, primary rail gets overloaded, the extra rails for just PCI-E connectors go unused.


    yes, its unlikely - and its not happening in your system, but its a good example of how more rails is not a good thing.
     
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,396 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,232
    Yeah, I would say that example is pretty unlikely. But while we are discussing unlikely scenarios...

    Yes, its unlikely, but its a good example of how a single rail could not be a good thing.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    yes it is simthing like a metal wire coated with plastic.
    the Cables of My OCZ PSU are realy short and all my Plastic zip's uden in the Case :D
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    i'd be fine with a PSU like that having say, 4x 250W rails. the point is, some PSU's cap them too low - and 'too low' gets higher and higher each generation (cough fermi)
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Not true, stop buying crappy mutli rails when you do get them :laugh:

    O had 65 amps to share over 6 rails once, plenty enough considering my psu was designed with balance already in mind, I.E graphics had two rails for it's self ( 4 pci-e) and so on.

    Impossible for me to trip it up unless I kept adding molex splitters and tried to overload that rail :laugh:
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  9. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,247 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    :laugh: Looks about as tight as a D14 in a CM 590.

    I got me a 4 pin y cable extension so I could hook it up to the 4 pin on the board and run it to the back side for easy connecting and disconnecting fans.
     
  10. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA

    Why not take that middle HDD rack out for improved airflow if you're not using it?
     
  11. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,259 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    OMG i want that case :( it looks really nice.

    Also i appreciate all the comments about my 400w psu haha =p i am having hard time to believe its still running all the hardwares and my gtx460 is factory overclocked and my cpu is overclocked too,i am loving how good this psu is right now and the minimum amps they reconmend is 24amps on the gtx460 while i have 30amps lol.
    But yeah i am planning on upgrading psu in near future.
     
  12. pjladyfox

    pjladyfox New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Looks pretty nice 'tho you could probably do some more tiding up with some of those cables on the fan if you got a couple of sleeved extensions. Still, I'm really excited about the HAF 912 and hope I can get my hands on one to build a system in here soon. :rockout:
     
  13. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    fixed :) Fermi is fine but GF100 loves the juice alright.

    and Zen_ I really like what you've done with the new case and fans strapped to the CPU cooler :toast:
     
  14. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    I had bought a PWM y-cable for the fans and did just that today.

    [​IMG]

    Overall I really like the silver arrow, but the installation was a full tour of the nine circles of hell. I would also advise anyone using Thermalright's new variable tension mount for AM2/3 sockets to be careful . If you screw down full tension it will cause severe mobo warp, so much it could damage it. 2 or 3 threads exposed seems to be about right.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    good info, i suggest you send Thermalright a mail regarding that :toast:
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    Got my HTPC put together. Specs on the left.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Gets just over 14,000 points in Vantage, all stock settings. :)
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,021 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,566
    What is the verdict on that "intake" fan?

    Nice rig, let me know when you get bored of that 460;)
     
  18. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    My 'new' case (that im using till i start on my desk) got lost in the post... HOW DO YOU LOSE A CASE!!!!

    So... im still on the side.

    Nice rig Erocker. That your main rig now?
     
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That's a sweet HTPC Erocker.:rockout:
     
    erocker says thanks.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    The intake fan is great! Figure it moves about as much air as a 120mm 75cfm fan. Great for tight places. I thought the GTX 460 expelled air out the back, but apparently it doesn't. I'm letting it run for a while to see how hot this box gets. I'm just happy the PSU did it's job in Vantage without getting too hot or squealing or something like that. I'm downloading Mafia II right now to give it a good workout.


    Naw, I still have my fully W/C'd AMD rig with a 5850 and a GT 240 for PhysX. I'm currently considering selling it all and just using the HTPC for now. Sandy Bridge is a bit far off yet though...
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2010
  21. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    185 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    Say what?:wtf:
    What were you really contaminating and with what?
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,418 (7.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,900
    Wait hold the presses. You are going green and Intel for the next build?!
     
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    :eek: :twitch: :wtf: o'rly?
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    So? I've had Intel and Nvidia rigs before. This AMD rig has lasted me a year. I've owned intel stuff longer.


    *Oh, spell check fail above. lol.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    I suppose I should put some pics up of my "main" rig.. though it's powered off for a while while I break this new one in.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Soylent Joe and Radical_Edward say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)

Share This Page