1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    you do know that the hexacores don't have emt64 (i haven't researched what effect that will have when running 32 bit apps on a 64bit machine yet :twitch:)
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    its just a name change. they still support 64 bit fully.
    KieX says thanks.
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yes they do. EM64T just means x64. Intel just changed the name.
  4. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    i know that, it's the backwards compatibility thingummejig that was on the quads that's not on the new ones
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Wrong. Nothing has changed at all. Just the name. Compatibility is identical. Trust me, I know this first hand. ;)

    The only thing you could possibly be thinking about is 16bit compatibility. These cpus have it, but x64 WINDOWS doesn't. Unrelated to the hardware.
    KieX says thanks.
  6. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    that H70 looks like it was made for that case.:cool: Sick little rig you have there KieX!
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    What length cathodes work best in a Coolermaster CM Storm Case?

    I was thinking of getting that case, so I was thinking maybe I should put some nice white lighting in it? :D
  8. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Storm what? Scout or Sniper?
  9. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    How bloody foolish of me... :banghead:

    Scout.
  10. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I have the Scout. You could fit a 12" or 15" in it, in multiple places as well. There's a nice little spot at the top for one. You can also do a vertical one next to the mobo, nice open space there. Also below the window, or behind the PSU. The spot behind the PSU might only fit a 12" though.
    Nokiacrazi says thanks.
  11. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    thanks. In your opinion would green look better than white?
  12. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Personally, white would look much better. I would never put a cathode in my rig unless it was white. Try a white cathode with white-bladed fans (non-LED).
  13. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    KieX, could you share some of that gold mine you recently found? :toast:
  14. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I have a few questions.

    How do the cathode kits connect to the PSU?

    Can you recommend some white cathode kit brands/names/suggestions?

    Can you recommend some white-bladed fans (non-LED) that would fit in the Storm Scout case?

    Can you change the LED colour or fan of the fans that come installed on the case?

    Thanks.
  15. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    1. Usually connect using the 4-pin molex connector
    2. Logysis has a white cathode kit on NewEgg, but I don't really venture many other places for computer hardware so I don't where else to get cathodes. Search Google?
    3. 4 of these - GELID Solutions FN-SX12-10 120mm Silent Case Fan - will fit in the case
    4. Yes, but it will require a bit of work. You'd be better off getting new fans instead.
  16. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Sorry for the blurriness =.-
  17. Nokiacrazi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Thanks for your help and nice looking system. May I ask whats that thing below your GPU? Is it an additional cooler or something?

    Whats the difference between having white bladed and white LED fans? (besides the fact that one has LEDs and that the other doesn't?)
  18. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Below the GPU is an exhaust fan. Goes into a rear PCI port (obviously).

    White bladed fans look better IMO, I dislike LED fans. I liked them when I bought this case, but they look tacky to me now and I have never replaced my fans (I have two in the side panel that are also red LED fans).
  19. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Had some fun today :) Finally have a rig up and running again :rockout: Its been a while but I really tried to at least give it a bit of cable management so go easy on me guys:)

    My New Goodies
    [​IMG]

    The Fun Begins

    http://img.techpowerup.org/101129/100_5175695.jpg

    MB, 1090T and Ram and WD 640gb all in place ( The mb does not look that shitty when you are looking at it)

    http://img.techpowerup.org/101129/100_5177828.jpg

    Corsair A70 Fitted!!

    [​IMG]

    Lovely graphics card awaits abuse :laugh:

    [​IMG]

    There she is :toast:

    [​IMG]

    SixyBeast is built, unlike Rome....in a day:)

    [​IMG]

    Night Time Shenanigans

    [​IMG]
    KieX, Reventon, HammerON and 2 others say thanks.
  20. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Nice system :D

    I really want to build a computer right now -__-
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    NICE RIG! how are the temps and what is your OC?
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    No OC yet just want to play around with it at stock and get to know it. Temps are 38c@ load at the minute. The graphics card is freaking awesome i must say....literally no noise and it hasnt gone over 42c yet!!!!
  23. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    HEY I'M FAMOUS:laugh:


    By the way sick rig bro!!! do you get better temps flipping the cooler horizontal?
    Reventon says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Daym right there is something missing there, my EVGA GTX 580 :toast:
    travva, Soylent Joe, Reventon and 4 others say thanks.
  25. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,208 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 member and 3 guests)

Volkswagen

Share This Page