1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    idk, they go for 475 in denmark, but thats due to our crazy taxes

    id say around 350 maybe even 400
     
  2. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    On newegg, you can buy a brand new Sapphire 5970 for 500 USD with a $30 mail in rebate so really 469.99 which is a GREAT deal. SAPPHIRE 100280SR Radeon HD 5970 (Hemlock) 2GB 512...

    Also if you were to sell your 5850, how much would you sell it for?
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    i dunno but it will be CONUS only, i dont want to ship international ive had too many problems
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Finland
    350 sounds about right, but really would get a single GPU, be it GTX 570 or HD 6950. HD5 multi-GPU scaling isn't too great (coming from ex-owner of 4x HD 5870s).
     
  5. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I currently live in NJ, US.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Oh ok, it didnt say below your avatar. ok well once i finally figure out if i want to bite the bullet then i will post it up on a AS thread but im thinking 210$. Its a reference card that will do 1000 core/1200 mem @ 1.2v. its still 268$ shipped on new egg.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129141
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Well if you decide to sell and by the time I have a mobo that supports CFX, I would definitley buy since I already own a XFX 5850.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Its a super sweet card, i went from a GTX 285 to this card and it gained 20-25% performance increase in games i noticed. BC2 in high was like 45-60 FPS with GTX 285 and with single 5850 stock it jumped to 55-90 FPS. (Ill post screen shot tonight of nice FPS)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I play bc2 every day on my 5850. Before I got 3 monitors, I was always around 87-122 fps. Now on 3 monitors (everything HIGH AAx8, ASx16 HBAO:Off) I'm like locked at 60 fps.

    Definitely an amazing card. I never get any jitters in BC2.
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea i will post a screen shot tonight with FPS. It does jump up to 100+ but mainly hovers around 80s then on large smoke or something it will go down to 55-60 FPS.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Shoot if you ever have time to play bc2 anymore with your new job :p Grats though on that job its more important that playing bc2 with a 16yr old homeschooled kid everyday :roll:
     
  12. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  13. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Jeesh your getting that high of FPS with that crazy res and everything maxed out? Man my gts's are falling behind!
     
  14. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Finland
    After some troubles 580 is doing great. Minor complaint that the clocks don't come down after full 3D clocks so it idles hot, at too high clocks. The problems were related to same thing actually, card doesn't go to full 3D clocks unless you force it through afternburner (after which they never go down before reboot).

    Apart from that, everything else is good. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  15. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    panzer, my 580's idle a bit hot too and i believe it is related to the clocks. i did not see them to stay at 3d clocks though in AB. does using the power management to max perf do the same thing in nvcp?
     
  16. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Finland
    I tried switching from the adaptive to max performance. It seems to work identically.

    Will not go to full power 3D mode before I force it through AB. And didn't clock down when I hit reset in AB.

    Real shame, this is pretty much only problem I have atm.
     
  17. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    hmm you're using whql's from nvidias website as well?
     
  18. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Finland
    I did, but I find the new 265.90 better. It is not whql and requires modifying the inf file.

    I'll contact NVIDIA support soon about the 2D/3D clock issues.
     
  19. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    here is my rig yet again
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    and here is my whole setup
    [​IMG]
     
    Soylent Joe, HammerON and Josh154 say thanks.
  20. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Niiiice.

    I'd love a little corner like that :)
     
  21. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    its my power hungry corner ... i would rather a whole room with some major ac or freezer coil and a nice work space
     
  22. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  24. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    yep the old computer cases that i panted it works rather well also
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Brilliant idea.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 member and 6 guests)

15th Warlock

Share This Page