1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I play bc2 every day on my 5850. Before I got 3 monitors, I was always around 87-122 fps. Now on 3 monitors (everything HIGH AAx8, ASx16 HBAO:Off) I'm like locked at 60 fps.

    Definitely an amazing card. I never get any jitters in BC2.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,973 (8.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,453
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea i will post a screen shot tonight with FPS. It does jump up to 100+ but mainly hovers around 80s then on large smoke or something it will go down to 55-60 FPS.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Shoot if you ever have time to play bc2 anymore with your new job :p Grats though on that job its more important that playing bc2 with a 16yr old homeschooled kid everyday :roll:
     
  4. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Jeesh your getting that high of FPS with that crazy res and everything maxed out? Man my gts's are falling behind!
     
  6. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    541 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Finland
    After some troubles 580 is doing great. Minor complaint that the clocks don't come down after full 3D clocks so it idles hot, at too high clocks. The problems were related to same thing actually, card doesn't go to full 3D clocks unless you force it through afternburner (after which they never go down before reboot).

    Apart from that, everything else is good. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    panzer, my 580's idle a bit hot too and i believe it is related to the clocks. i did not see them to stay at 3d clocks though in AB. does using the power management to max perf do the same thing in nvcp?
     
  8. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    541 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Finland
    I tried switching from the adaptive to max performance. It seems to work identically.

    Will not go to full power 3D mode before I force it through AB. And didn't clock down when I hit reset in AB.

    Real shame, this is pretty much only problem I have atm.
     
  9. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    hmm you're using whql's from nvidias website as well?
     
  10. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    541 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Finland
    I did, but I find the new 265.90 better. It is not whql and requires modifying the inf file.

    I'll contact NVIDIA support soon about the 2D/3D clock issues.
     
  11. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    here is my rig yet again
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    and here is my whole setup
    [​IMG]
     
    Soylent Joe, HammerON and Josh154 say thanks.
  12. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Niiiice.

    I'd love a little corner like that :)
     
  13. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    its my power hungry corner ... i would rather a whole room with some major ac or freezer coil and a nice work space
     
  14. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  16. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    yep the old computer cases that i panted it works rather well also
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Brilliant idea.
     
  18. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    541 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Finland
    [​IMG]

    Considering adding Accelero Xtreme Plus on the 580, haven't yet decided. Also the stock cooler is pretty :>
     
    Lionheart, [H]@RD5TUFF, travva and 2 others say thanks.
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,184 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,740
    watch your Vregs under heavy loads with that AC plus. For gaming and folding it was ok, but it allows for over 90* temps under the cheap plate in things like furmark;)
     
  20. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    541 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Finland
    Doesn't sound too great. But I really could use some better cooling :ohwell:
     
  21. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    water :D

    you got the case for it :p
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,624 (12.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,447
  23. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    541 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Finland
    I have decided to get the Accelero, I am not going to "play" the furmark without the limiter all day long so it should do just fine :toast:

    Besides, EVGA warranty covers cooler changes unless I start hitting it with screw driver where you aren't supposed to :)
     
  24. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
  25. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Yeah I really like the glow of the GTX580 letters! Hopefully the cooler performs well too.;) The rig looks amazing GC!

    EDIT: on wait, it's not glowing!:eek: lol!
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 member and 5 guests)

JATownes

Share This Page