1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    For real?

    I was amazed at how small they are :D
     
  2. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    The EVGA version is kinda big lol
     
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I've not seen that in person or had anything to compare it to in the photo's I've seen, so I'll take your word for it :toast:
     
  4. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    Well it used to seem bigger anyway...My definition of large has been changed yet again.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I swear that's the same size as my GTX460 too... reference design maybe? aha :p.
     
  6. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    It seemed bigger before T_T lol
     
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Maybe the hot air dried it all up :roll: :slap:
     
  8. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    Speaking of hot air, I just got that particular card this morning, because the one it replaced(same model and company) got up to 85c, so i said, okay it's time for a replacement. What's funny is, the day before it spiked i was getting load temps of 55c
     
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    :wtf: Load temps @55 is fine though... I can't see how that affected it?

    Brave guy for going with same company and exact model..... fan boi :p
     
  10. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    No, it's called I ordered through Amazon, and they sent my broke ass a replacement through 1-day shipping xD.
     
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,003 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    First thing I always do when getting an new video card is rip off the HSF and replace the thermal paste, because ya just know that whatever was on there is the cheapest crap they could find well OK maybe not the cheapest as it probably wont be Sil-More silicon grease but you know what I mean.... nothing like a little drop of AS5 or MX3 or the like to bring temps down...

    Speaking of HSF's I just got a new Zalman VF900cu LED to replace the Ghetto moded original HIS one so here's some pics

    P14-04-11_16-44.jpg

    P14-04-11_16-47.jpg

    P14-04-11_16-49[1].jpg

    now I just gotta figure out whether or not I want to keep using that silly fan-mate thingy
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2011
  12. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    Actually, on the old card, I did replace the thermal paste. For about 5 days it was okay, getting 55c max load temps. Then one day it just decided to heat up. I babysat it for 3 straight days, turning the computer off when not home, then it started to cool down some after i ordered the replacement. The new one works perfectly well, with the stock thermal paste(the stuff by EVGA isn't bad at all) i'm getting max load temps of 50c. In-game temps of 45-48c
     
  13. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Heres my rig built her bout a month ago.
    haf x
    i7 960
    cooler master v8 cpu cooler
    asus rampage III formula
    corsair 120gig ssd
    12gigs gskill ripjaw ram
    2 cf hd 6950s
    1000w ps
    2tb seagate hdd
    1tb wd hdd
    windows 7 64bit ultimate
    is hooked up to a 1920x1200 24in hp monitor and a 52in 1080p sony lcd.
    Was my first time building a computer, goal was to build a rig that could run scII on extreme and play a 1080p video on my tv. Most stressful part was attaching the cpu cooler(didn't want it to be loose but didn't want to over tighten) and the seconds waiting for it to post.
    Motherboard maybe a bit of overkill since I don't really oc, but I like the space it gives between the videocards so heat isn't a big issue.

    pic of her half finished and then completed all closed up.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. uzuhl

    uzuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    78 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancaster, SC USA
    Looks amazing man, I wish mine looked as half as good as that one. :cool: :toast:
     
  15. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    thanks mang
     
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,003 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    I wouldn't say completed just yet even though it's an nice build you really ought to do some cable management as it looks a bit bird nesty in there
     
  17. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    hehe yeah down by the powersource its a bit messy, gotta at least rerout the sata ps cable to the dvd drive, maybe twisty tie up the 4 power cords to the gpus, thats what really makes it look cluttered.
     
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,003 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    I thought the HAFx came with built in cable management holes in the mobo tray I'd be using them as much as possible
     
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Just found the last Dutch webshop that had one of these babies left under €100 (where €100 is already a ridiculous price):
    Silverstone SG05 incoming ETA tomorrow. Fast shipping lads too :)

    Seems the Japanese Earthquake/Tsunami/Nuclear problems have had quite an effect on Silverstone stocks over here...

    Now I can finally make a true tiny little LAN machine :rockout: I've already traded my m-ATX motherboard for a mini-ITX board with the same chipset. This will rock! :rockout:

    Pics will follow when the case arrives.
     
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,003 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Don't know why that is seeing as they're made in China not Japan
     
  21. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Most likely shipping usually goes through a Japanese port or whatever. Maybe some parts are being made in Japan, I dunno. They're made in Taiwan btw, which is not far from Japan.

    I've been told the same story by several stores though :)
     
  22. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,003 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    the only thing I can think off that may (very low Possibility) be made in japan on silverstone cases is either the LED's or the on/off and reset switches other than that my SS rv02 say made in China not Taiwan
     
  23. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    figured I'd throw up one more since I'd gotten my panel window and PCI-E sleeved

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    KieX, t77snapshot and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ^^That looks amazing, love the lighting inside the case. Great job! :)
     
  25. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thanks, gotta figure out what I'm going to do to cover some of the cables right at the psu. Might try and cut some black metal mesh to make half of a cube that slides over everything there. Who knows. Not a real big priority and can probably use a zip tie in the meantime to cinch them together.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)

Jetster, nexus_a

Share This Page