1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeah they use IPS panels in almost every product if not all, and that is pretty expensive afaik

    half the price on the big 27"'er is almost the screen
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  2. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork

    i use to have a couple macs, osx was pretty sweet, used linux a bit too redhat/mandrake. great stable systems, also impervious to m$oft viruses. nothing against mac's, but ive been intel for so long, it's a reflex reaction.
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    before i posted it on here i had already put it up for sale lol

    i got it VERY cheap, and i only bought it because i KNOW i can make atleast 450USD on it ;)

    so dont worry, im not a mac person, i just like to see peoples reaction some times :D
     
    d3fct says thanks.
  4. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    lol, it's almost like kryptonite to some users, good luck on the sale. :toast:
     
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    The screens are actually pretty good, wouldnt wonder me if your statement would be correct :)
     
  6. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I've sorted that problem now, I've just used different tubing!! The right tubing in fact!! :lol: I dont like using the clamps or ties on them, makes it look messy, so I just go for tight fitting tubing :) Much neater I think :)

    I have just managed to install the triple rad in the 759 setup and I've managed to tube both loops up.. I'm just going to take some lovely pics of it all because I'm just waiting on my graphics cards to turn up and then I can finally turn them on!!
    These two builds have taken 2 years so far and I cant wait to see them finished!!

    I hope you like them :) I'll try and get a picture of all the rigs I have here and post them in one pic :)

    Any tips on overclocking an i7 mind, please say!! I've hardly had time to use them to overclock them!! :( :cry:
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  7. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well you sure got a rise out of people, like I said I dont hate Unix:p, just hate their over priced and undervalued hardware, but there are brain trusts who love it :rolleyes:.

    Hope your new rig supports UEFI;).
     
  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,087 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    849
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I don't get "it" . . ..
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You can't build twice the power with half the price directly into your high quality IPS monitor and maintain a full factory warranty in the process. A 27" 2560x1440 IPS monitor is around $1000 alone.

    There are a couple points people don't seem to understand about these things:
    A.) People that buy an oem computers do so because they DON'T WANT TO BUILD one.
    B.) People that buy an all-in-one like the iMac, specifically want an all-in-one. They don't want a tower.
    C.) The added bonus to buying the new iMacs is that they can also be used as a monitor if you do decide to build a gaming computer in addition to it.

    A 27" i7 iMac is in my future.
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,785 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,313
    21 replies to one image????? the preferred ratio is slipping;)
     
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Way to ignore context.

    Show me a G5 that comes close to the power to price ratio of a home built option.
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's not a G5. No G5 iMacs were silver. And show me where G5 was ever mentioned. And you still aren't taking into account formfactor. Way to ignore context.
     
  14. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    517 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Finland
    Took some pics when applied new TIM on the CPU. Seems to have went badly, idle temps sky high so need to do it again. :(
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Igorius, Reventon, Soylent Joe and 4 others say thanks.
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    what tim did you use? some of them needs some hours to "cure" or to be fully working afaik
     
  16. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    517 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Finland
    mx-2, practically no cure time (done this many times). My megahalems doesn't have completely flat base so its a bit tricky to get right.
     
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    maybe you should lap it then? would surely benefit temps greatly, if its not entirely straight :)
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    My Phenom 9850 dropped like 6-7 degrees from lapping. If done right. It's awesome. :)
     
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,499 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    What are you doing with your fans?! 2 Noctura's, 2 GT's, and that 140 Thermalright on the back. What??!

    Lucy, you've got some explaining to do!


    Kidding, the fans are great just dont really match at all. :laugh:
     
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    fixed :p
     
  21. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,499 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Yeah it's a hodge-podge mix of case fans.
     
  22. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    517 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Finland
    The back has mounting holes for 12cm and 14cm, Corsair's are on 14cm mountings only, top has only 12cm holes and cooler can only fit 12cm fans.

    Means I only could replace one fan with TY-140 (the Corsair broke, replaced with TY-140), bought GT's to replace Noctuas on the Megahalems and moved them to the top. Everything has its reason ;)
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No one but myself mentioned a G5, I acknowledged there was no home brew option in this form factor for half the price. If you really dont have the room for a tower perhaps you should consider a larger living space. GG

    What kind of temps are you getting on that video card ?
     
  24. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Had to downgrade recently from my Sandybridge rig due to financial constraints. So here I present my Phenom II - Very Low Budget Gaming rig - "Jobless Hobby-Horse"

    [​IMG]

    Transferred all the parts into my case today as it has been setup on the motherboard box for the past few days. Considering the CX500 is non-modular I'm quite happy with the cable management I have going on :)

    And don't worry, it doesn't normally sit perilously close to the edge of the desk....I just turned it for the purposes of a decent picture :)
     
  25. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I too recently downgraded as well, but tbh can't tell very much in terms of performance loss.:ohwell:
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)

Share This Page