1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,429 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    Location:
    Mexico
    wow! I must say, yours are some nice PCs :respect:

    I've spend several hours looking at your pictures and can't help to feel sorry for my own :cry:

    Mi PC:
    [​IMG]

    The case is an Octanux GX9001 from a national brand (Acteck). I think that Apex or Apevia had the same case, or a similar one. It was one of the first "tooless" cases that I'd seen.

    [​IMG]

    The case has some cincelled plexiglass on the door and can be lit up. I mostly keep it off. There is a frontal panel that shows some information: time, temps, fan speeds, HDD and optical drive activity.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Inside the nest:

    [​IMG]


    The only modding I've done to the case: add a 120mm fan at the top.
    [​IMG]
    (I really need to get a nibbling tool)


    After looking at some of your projects I've got a couple of ideas. I'll try to tidy up the insides a little better, at least put some zip tie base mounts in there. :cool:
    specks, phill, Ross211 and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The wiring can be excused considering that case has only one wire routing hole and that motherboards 20/24 pin plug is in a horrible position..;)

    I like the front panel LEDs.:)
  3. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    Is that the TX3? It's pree good for $12. I have it with no fans in my HTPC and it is about 46C lol.
  4. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,429 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    Location:
    Mexico
    yup!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    463 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    Quick update -

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately, I'm going to be selling off my H²O cooling gear. :(

    On the bright side I don't think my second H²O cooled PC will be the last H²O loop I put together tho :p

    /edit

    Forgot to say I replaced 2 stock Lian Li 120MM fans and another 120MM with some 120MM Yate Loon mediums.

    Hopefully I can end up running this 2500K at the same speed I had it on under H²O.
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011
    specks, [H]@RD5TUFF, cadaveca and 3 others say thanks.
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    purrrrtay
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    It makes me sad that you have a better HTPC than I do main rig....
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    How are the temps on that 570 ?
  10. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    463 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    That is some clean cable management there. Nice log on that system there, thanks for sharing. I was very close to buying the PC-Q08 over this PC-354, it looks great to work with from the shots in your log.

    It would be a good idea to get a modular PSU if I want to have better cable management and get rid of my nasty cluster of zip tied cables. I really like that Silverstone you have, I've never seen a modular PSU that had modular plugs for the 24 pin ATX and 8 pin 12v power connectors, that is very convenient.

    The hardware in my PC-354 is now my main gaming rig / desktop :D

    Doing awesome, I was very surprised to see that my temps on the card in this case are the same as in my HAF 932. I played BC2 for about 2 hours last night and it got up to 58 C at the highest. I do have the 570 fan unlock BIOS so it will ramp up to 100%. I think I have Afterburner set to ramp it up to 100% after 55 C.
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    That is pretty good, about what my 470's see in my HAF-X.
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That's the way to make it look. I love Silverstone for the thought of "shorter cables".. But, I wish my strider Plus, would have a switch.. My only problem with their line of psu's.. But, I do have 2 1000w Strider Plus's.
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    ST75F-P here and yeah totally a good buy
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,429 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    Location:
    Mexico
    The net was down yesterday so I decided to start with the cable management:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I'll let you know how it goes.
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If you really want to get into it could cut a few whole in the motherboard back plate.

    Few loose cables ( cathodes and side panel fans)

    But here;s what a few holes can do for a case with no cable-management ( sunbeam transformer)


    [​IMG]

    NOT my pc ATM.
  16. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    O_O that thing is amazing

    heres mine, just got me sleeved cables from {uZa}DOA these things are purrrrty.
    [​IMG]


    This is the zalman I got a bit ago, glows green, but not too bright. It's hella loud if it's a full 12volts. I have it undervolted to 5V and it's pree good. Keeps my CPU pree cold. Max i've gotten with this is 48C Sorry about the dirt, I got it like this, and spent 2 hours cleaning it fin by fin and that's the best I got it.
    [​IMG]


    I fixed my cable management :3 I like it a bit better like this
    [​IMG]

    A full shot, that 6 pin is for my 5770 I get tomorrow C: I don't want to have to open the case again so I just took it out now

    [​IMG]
    Ross211, Jegergrim and pantherx12 say thanks.
  17. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wow, I can imagine how bad it must have been prior to the cleaning :eek:
  18. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    30mins of that was me cleaning caked up thermal paste off the base!
  19. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I feel for ya. I once recieved a radeon 4850, which was clugged up with dust to the point where it was running 95C at 30% load, man I was amazed :laugh:
  20. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    O_O I don't understand how people can get stuff that dirty. I once cleaned a computer from a 15 year-old and it was filled with dust, and weed. I have no idea what he was doing with that computer.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Mine is a total mess compared to yours currently.

    :toast: Viva la 5770! You will enjoy it!
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    Ohh, you should see the back! It's a huge mess :laugh: This case makes it kinda easy, there are just somethings I want to fix, that 6 pin is a bit too long, and I want to fix the 8pin/ 24pin so they are straight. If you have a decent case, it's really easy. And I can't wait till I get it! After that, the only thing I will need to update is my hard drive, it has a 5.2 in the windows rating thing.
  23. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    If you don't mind noise much or have a good soundproof case the WD Black series are pretty fast with a 64 mb buffer :) Although SSD is the only way to go if you want scores above 5.9 in windows rating :(
  24. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    I usually leave my case open lol, but It would prob be quieter than the drive I have now, when i boot up i can feel it reading on the bottom of my desk
  25. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Just a little update of my Core i3 upgrade after my E4300 setup died.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page