1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    How are the temps on that 570 ?
     
  2. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    474 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    That is some clean cable management there. Nice log on that system there, thanks for sharing. I was very close to buying the PC-Q08 over this PC-354, it looks great to work with from the shots in your log.

    It would be a good idea to get a modular PSU if I want to have better cable management and get rid of my nasty cluster of zip tied cables. I really like that Silverstone you have, I've never seen a modular PSU that had modular plugs for the 24 pin ATX and 8 pin 12v power connectors, that is very convenient.

    The hardware in my PC-354 is now my main gaming rig / desktop :D

    Doing awesome, I was very surprised to see that my temps on the card in this case are the same as in my HAF 932. I played BC2 for about 2 hours last night and it got up to 58 C at the highest. I do have the 570 fan unlock BIOS so it will ramp up to 100%. I think I have Afterburner set to ramp it up to 100% after 55 C.
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    That is pretty good, about what my 470's see in my HAF-X.
     
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That's the way to make it look. I love Silverstone for the thought of "shorter cables".. But, I wish my strider Plus, would have a switch.. My only problem with their line of psu's.. But, I do have 2 1000w Strider Plus's.
     
  5. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,066 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    557
    ST75F-P here and yeah totally a good buy
     
  6. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,066 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,763
    Location:
    Mexico
    The net was down yesterday so I decided to start with the cable management:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I'll let you know how it goes.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If you really want to get into it could cut a few whole in the motherboard back plate.

    Few loose cables ( cathodes and side panel fans)

    But here;s what a few holes can do for a case with no cable-management ( sunbeam transformer)


    [​IMG]

    NOT my pc ATM.
     
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    O_O that thing is amazing

    heres mine, just got me sleeved cables from {uZa}DOA these things are purrrrty.
    [​IMG]


    This is the zalman I got a bit ago, glows green, but not too bright. It's hella loud if it's a full 12volts. I have it undervolted to 5V and it's pree good. Keeps my CPU pree cold. Max i've gotten with this is 48C Sorry about the dirt, I got it like this, and spent 2 hours cleaning it fin by fin and that's the best I got it.
    [​IMG]


    I fixed my cable management :3 I like it a bit better like this
    [​IMG]

    A full shot, that 6 pin is for my 5770 I get tomorrow C: I don't want to have to open the case again so I just took it out now

    [​IMG]
     
    Ross211, Jegergrim and pantherx12 say thanks.
  9. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wow, I can imagine how bad it must have been prior to the cleaning :eek:
     
  10. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    30mins of that was me cleaning caked up thermal paste off the base!
     
  11. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I feel for ya. I once recieved a radeon 4850, which was clugged up with dust to the point where it was running 95C at 30% load, man I was amazed :laugh:
     
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    O_O I don't understand how people can get stuff that dirty. I once cleaned a computer from a 15 year-old and it was filled with dust, and weed. I have no idea what he was doing with that computer.
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Mine is a total mess compared to yours currently.

    :toast: Viva la 5770! You will enjoy it!
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  14. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    Ohh, you should see the back! It's a huge mess :laugh: This case makes it kinda easy, there are just somethings I want to fix, that 6 pin is a bit too long, and I want to fix the 8pin/ 24pin so they are straight. If you have a decent case, it's really easy. And I can't wait till I get it! After that, the only thing I will need to update is my hard drive, it has a 5.2 in the windows rating thing.
     
  15. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    If you don't mind noise much or have a good soundproof case the WD Black series are pretty fast with a 64 mb buffer :) Although SSD is the only way to go if you want scores above 5.9 in windows rating :(
     
  16. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    I usually leave my case open lol, but It would prob be quieter than the drive I have now, when i boot up i can feel it reading on the bottom of my desk
     
  17. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Just a little update of my Core i3 upgrade after my E4300 setup died.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,562 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    After everything is done here with case mods and a small upgrade I'll be for sure posting a few pics.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,955 (9.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I need to get more pics of my mATX I7 and my X4 Cruncher
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Here is My PC at the moment haven't posted it for awhile.... Working on some other tid bits will post again soon.....

    Future Beauty and Functional mods....
    G.Skill 8 gigs 1866 Mhz Sniper Ram (Ordered on the way)
    Carbon fiber and white sleeving For power supply
    Gigabyte G1 Sniper 2 Motherboard (For future PCIe 3.0 and ivy bridge compatibility)

    Specs....
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV
    i7 2600k 4.5 Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Corsair XMS 3 1600 Mhz 4gb
    Intel X25 80gb SSD
    Western Digital 500Gb Black Caviar
    EVGA GTX 580 SLI
    Cooler Master Silent Pro 1000watt
    Corsair Graphite Special Edition 600T
    Water Cooling XSPC Rasa Kit (with custom tubing and other custom odds and ends)
    1 x Xigmatech 200mm fan and 3 x Xigmatech 120mm fans


    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    keruvino, specks, cadaveca and 8 others say thanks.
  22. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,562 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Beautiful Pic!

    I have an XSPC Rasa kit too. Need to post pics.
     
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I was debating on getting one of those rasa kits, how happy are you with it ?
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,955 (9.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    rasa kits are very good. a friend has one and it does very well
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,066 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,763
    Location:
    Mexico
    Just finished with the wires:

    Before:
    [​IMG]

    After:
    [​IMG]


    I hided several of them under the motherboard. I rotated the back exhaust fan in order to get 8 additional centimeters that allowed me to put the plug on the back of the tray.

    Closer look:
    [​IMG]

    Back of the board tray:
    [​IMG]


    I could do better but I'd need longer SATA and IDE cables plus a 4 pin molex extention. I also need a 5" SATA cable for the drive in the 5.25" bay. The SATA power cable is 25cms less than what I'd need to be able to route it on the back. This will have to do.


    EDIT: I'm reading the Cable management help desk. I hadn't thought about putting the HDDs backwards!!! :twitch: That'll allow me to route the cables behind the tray. :roll:
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page