1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    the NZXT cable is covered with a single braid sleeve. In my opinion the BitFenix offerings are much better if you do go to buy any.
  2. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Yeah they do look a whole lot nicer than the NZXT ones I've seen round here I'll have to email a couple of suppliers here see if they'd be willing to bring them in I'd see them selling better than the NZXT ones if they can bring in the range of colors available instead of just the black of NZXT
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    you dont get the white and red NZXT cables either?
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Just updated my system again, sacrificed looks a little on my new variation. New PSU and GPU's, I was really disappointed at first that my cards weren't reference and would perform like my old xfx ones did but when I ran them they were nothing like the xfx ones, much quieter and to top things off I was able to complete Unigine on stock voltages at 880/1400, very happy at the moment.

    The PSU cables are way way too long for my liking, even though its modular I think they overshot the length of the cables. EDIT: Found a solution :) http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15_228&products_id=15758

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  8. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Ha, I just got one of those sapphires but its a 6950 2g with dual fan, i wanted the single fan cooler too as one fan is covered by sound card a bit, but oh well,
    there not as easy to find, mine goes very well too, better than i expected, i was going to return but, such a hassle, it works fine and has bios switch, ill wait till 7/s b4 next one and maybe sell it, must fix those cables lol.!

    [​IMG]

    First thing i did was to redoo the tp, it made it drop 3-4 c @ idle , down to 36c from 40c, they always put a lot on i find.
    I ran bf3 on it to burn it in,. seems to handle the game at ultra everything quite well, didnt go over 60-65c.

    To Random=Good one!!! i bet you will unlock them too, please let me know how you go if you dont mind, thanx.!
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    wow I didn't notice I had a BIOS switch on both my cards, hurray for dual BIOS! You sir just made my day :toast: time for some unlocking action!
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
  10. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Hey, how well do they run in cf? If you can update me on how you go flashing and how temps go or anything else if thats your intention, thanks ,ps if i could be bothered id cast the plastic sapphire shroud in aluminium and put it back on, would look funky polished, and act as a shroud/heatsink too.:)

    How well does the corsair cooler work? I like the two large fans you got too in your case, looks like a powerful rigg. After doing the t-paste, mines idling at 34c 24 % fan.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  11. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I used the RBE 1.28 method basically saving the BIOS with GPU-Z then editing it with RBE which conveniently comes with a one tick option to enable 6970 shaders then used WinFlash to flash both cards and worked wonderfully I'll post up a screeny in a few minutes on this same post from after unigine.

    EDIT: Running into some issue, Afterburner won't let me turn up the voltage and my 6950's become unstable at the same clocks with higher shaders .. I can use trixx but it has no OSD. :(

    Here are the results:

    Highest GPU temp was 76

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
  12. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    nope just the shitty plain black ones
  13. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    So far everything is good gpu wise, since our version of the 6950 can't unlock voltage control via MSI Afterburner you can buy AIDA64 to make your own OSD or G15 display it is quite awesome and a well worth it software, it is so far the best app to display sensors on my keyboard, very happy with the purchase.

    The H50 is okay, its a bit pricey for okay temps though, I'd recommend these types of coolers for specific setups only that require alot of space around the ram area and for 1155 mobo's that can potentially block air coolers by the awkwardly placed capacitors around the CPU area, oh and for looks ;)
  14. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I happen to like the plain black ones .. . :cry:
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I had flat PSU cables from my Corsair HX-620w it drove me nuts, it twists on one end or the other and made the wiring look alot messier and more annoying to hide.
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yes, this is the ASUS Zenbook. I've been playing around a lot with the power profiles, and you will definitely get the advertised 7hrs if you use the ASUS Power Saving mode, but that throttles the Core i5's CPU and GPU at idle speeds and disables Turbo. Perfect if you're just word processing and doing light browsing, but I like a little more punch. I've only had it for a couple of days, so I'll update you guys a bit later. PM me if anybody thinks this thing deserves its own thread/clubhouse/minireview. Probably won't have time for a minireview, but we could at least have a thread where I answer questions if a good number of you are interested in the ultrabook :toast:
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
  17. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Im stoked with asus for bringing the zenbook to the table!!, damn fine effort i believe, i would love to hear more about it if its convenient for you at some stage Danish D, user views/ops are the best sometimes, thankyou for posting.
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    mediasorcerer and MT Alex say thanks.
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Anyone care to guess how much this setup alone costs:
    [​IMG]
    cadaveca says thanks.
  20. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    $1 bob, $1.
  21. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I'm not sure I want to know but I'll guess 15-20 thousand USD at least
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Awesome picture. I care not to guess.:roll:
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Depends a lot on the actual hardware inside those racks, but I's say the VNX are $300-600K each. We just got one where I work, and already have three EMC chassi (SP?) that were close to that new. How many terabytes? For those that don't know, these aren't servers but SAN storage.

    I'm guessing the first and third racks from the right are UPS? I can't see enough of the one on the left to tell what it is, but I'm guessing more storage.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    My new main rig and cruncher.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Very close, it's a 100TB monster.

    http://imgur.com/Ft2F8

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page