1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Getting my AMD rig up and running in my spare time. Gotta figure which of my 3 chips to use, FX-4100, 1090T, or 1100T, when what I really want, is FX-8150!

    Also trying to pick out which rma kit I'm gonna use...i think this kit fits with the colour scheme the best...

    [​IMG]
     
    phill and Sir B. Fannybottom say thanks.
  2. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    I say ripjaws, I've just always loved how they look
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Looks are one thing...clocking and best performance are another. Fortunately, the AMD rig has all my own, and has nothing to do with reviews at all, so I can take my time trying parts and get the best possible.

    Personally, I don't have much in the way of favorites in ram..I kinda prefer Corsair, because they identify stick revisions(making purhcasing for lcocking easier), but G.Skill makes some damn good stuff that I really like too.
     
  4. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Hey cadaveca, i noticed in your rig (in this and previous pics) that you're cooling the CPU with a Corsair Kit for watercooling, how are they performing with the single kit you own? Good performance, finishing and no leaks?

    I'm thinking in buying one of those for my cousin's future rig cause he's thinking in buying a good air disipator and i'd prefer that he takes a solution like that one, i also examined in the past the Swiftech kits but these days i'm seeing how other brands are also joining the "All-Done Watercooling", what do you can tell me?

    Thanks! :toast:
     
    jbunch07 says thanks.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That cooler in that pic is actually an Asetek unit made specifically for AMD. I do have the COrsair H50, H70, and H100, and I am pretty happy with all of them.

    For SKT 1155, H70/H80 or the Antec 920 are al lviable options for high overclocks, but on AMD and SKT 2011, the amount of power they consume and then shed in heat is very nearly too much for even the H100. For AMD or SKT 2011, I suggest something like the Swiftech kits. Heck, I'd like one myself to use in my review testing rig.
     
    mjkmike and SirKeldon say thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    How hard is it to install a side panel window kit and which ones are the best kits to buy? Im very good with a jig saw but I do not know which kit to buy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    PM inbound
     
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    If you find a good one, tell me :) I'm tired of all my work in my HAF going to waste
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Im thinking of a NZXT Source 210 Elite with a side panel mod?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,104
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
    mjkmike says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    Location:
    Finland
    It's a shame such nice platform is letdown because the fastest CPU you can use is FX-8150. :(
     
  12. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    decent enough for me, have yet to have a BSOD/problem on it, then again im only on an i3 2100 so i can't OC, will slap an unlocked IB when it gets out or at least a 2500K.

    As expected for an matx board, it gets crowded, but i would have hoped it had a little more space between the PCI-E slot and the CPU socket
     
  13. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    I've always used two on mine when they were single-GPU cards...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Does it make any difference when using two bridges over one?
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not really. AMD used to say "one bridge per card", but there doesn't seem to be a problem with using just one. There have been reports of using two fixing some flickering issues for some users, but that could ahve also been because the other bridge was bad? Not sure.
     
  17. Garrgoyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Station #13 Mortlock Estate
    [​IMG]
     
    MT Alex, Canzara, cadaveca and 3 others say thanks.
  18. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,135 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Garrgoyle@ Hell of a beast system !
     
  19. JobR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  20. Canzara

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    My home office setup:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    (40" Toshiba LED with WiFi)
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
    cadaveca and phill say thanks.
  21. sniviler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Bong island , NY
    nice bong :) Surveillance Camera setup is nice too.
     
    Canzara says thanks.
  22. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    +1 Noticed that first off as well :pimp: The rig aint bad either ;)
     
    Canzara says thanks.
  23. Canzara

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Heh, thanks guys. You noticed the most important part right off!
     
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,932 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,526
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    +2 I noticed it right off. Hmmm this might not fair well for us. :banghead: Nice system, big led display and all, and the first thing we notice is a bong in the corner. :pimp:
     
    Canzara says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm sorry I missed this coment earlier.

    I'll be 100% honest...for me, personally, CPU doesn't matter much. It only matters to me, becuase the memory controller is part of it.


    As I have been repeating over the years, for multi-GPU configs, sometimes memory performance is the key limiting factor. Of course, this is app-dependant, but some of my favorite games are of that ilk, and need high memory bandwidth to get the most out of the VGAs. I play racing games a lot(well, I used to before my shoulder injury), wioth Codemasters titles beign some of my favorites, and of course, they need lots of memory bandwidth.

    X79, overall has much higher bandwidth than P67/Z68. Somewhere between those two paltforms, Codemasters titles finally do not benefit from more memory speed. 2133 Mhz on 1155 isn't quite enough, but 1600 MHz on 2011 very nearly is.

    The FX-8150, at stock, doesn't compare to 1155. but perhaps overclocked, i can get comparable performance. I guess I'm gonna get an 8150 real soon here, so I'll be able to test all that for myself.;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page