1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    t_ski says thanks.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,518 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I have dual P2310H monitors on the sides, so three monitors total. Only game on one though, at the moment.


    I bought matched triple monitors for Eyefinity before Eyefinity-capable cards were released. I have found that I get flicker and artifacting when on the desktop using AMD cards, when using more than one monitor connected, so I don't use the second and third monitor very often, and usually have two connected to my main rig, and the third connected to whatever rig I'm working on for reviews, at this point.
     
  3. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I have 4 30" Dells but I have two 3008's and 3011's which makes it very annoying when trying to get it to run over 3 screens as it won't do it properly now which is very frustrating since I have different models...

    I'm tempted to get a third 3011 monitor but I'm thinking with a baby on the way and other things in the pipeline, I think a single 30" screen will more than enough :)
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,518 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I got 3008WFP too. Don't use it daily though...2560x1600 is still too high a res for 4x AA on the titles i play, and HD6950.
     
  5. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I have 3 580's but I get a few issues with the bottom card that the motherboard doesn't seem to see its there so sometimes it just has only two showing up and since now the different screens seems to mess up my 7680 x 1600 res, I just am not all that bothered about it :) I'm running a single 580 in one rig and two in the other. That's more than enough for the games I play at the moment.

    Also when playing L4D across all three screens I was hitting 1000w usage from the plug and that wasn't including the screens :lol: I'm looking to change things about but I have no idea what to do....
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,518 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I am in the same boat. Multi-monitor is not good with my VGAs, and I am loath to buy other cards and have the smae problems, so I am waiting for more user feedback before I buy anything. I have 3x HD6950, and with issues and such, I am down to one monitor, and one card. I really jsut wish it would just work as advertized...and that AMD would stop blaming others when i ask them for help. I don't care whose fault it is I ahve these issues..I just want a fix!!!
     
    phill says thanks.
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,406 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,233
    No, they're 120mm fans.

    I have three Asus monitors in my sig. I haven't had a chance to do much with three cards yet, except run a 3DM11 bench on everything at stock (P18006 if you're interested).
     
    phill and cadaveca say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Very nice job, and that case is awesome and for a good price too.

    Nice System....you might want to make it look a bit sexier with some cable management. ;)
     
  9. NeotonicDragon3

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    Lol, this case is not cable management friendly xD
     
  10. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,900 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    There are a lot of things that aren't case related that can help cables look much tidier. The first is to separate each run from the others to avoid the rat's nest look.
     
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
  11. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I know what you mean!! I just wish I knew why my 3 580's wouldnt work properly with my setup as one keeps disappearing or showing up as its not there, yet I leave it in that slot and turn it on, it see's it straight away!!

    I'm glad I'm gonna be giving the 580's away!! :lol:

    Well I am very interested, so please when you have time, send some screen shots and bench's of games as I'd love to know how you get on as I'm wondering what to do with my setup as it is :)

    What board do you have as all the X79 boards I look at, doesn't have full 16x lanes for the PCIE slots!! :(
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Invest in a bi-metal hole saw, will cost about Ā£5 if not less and you'll be able to upgrade the cable management on any case you get : ]
     
    NeotonicDragon3 says thanks.
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,406 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,233
    Asus P9X79 Pro. I don't think it does full 16x for all the slots when populated either.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    656 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I love the U2412m. Nice responsive IPS panel at a decent price. I'll be ordering a couple more to round out eyefinity in the next month or so.

    I kinda wish I'd waited for the P280 instead of the P183, but other times I'm glad I have this one. It was a heck of a lot more work, though. Black interior is custom whereas the P280 finally comes with a black interior.

    Edit: Just realized I should paint the optical drive...

    [​IMG]
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,518 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The case cost $125. Was an impulse buy, needed to get my rig in a case and off the floor in a pile of hardware.:laugh: My FX-8150 rig will probably end up in it long term, as I have to cool my VGAs; they overheat when all three are isntalled, and the P280 would take too much modding for me to watercool it. I kinda wish the side panels had more sound-dampening material, but they have none at all.

    The monitor is fantastic. I'll be editing my pics for reviews on it from now on, hopefully it'll pay off. I paid $275 for it, a reasonable price, IMHO, but until I get triple-monitor issues fixed, I'll nto be buying the other two. I do plan to at some point though.
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    HTPC board came in today. Going to run it with the Celeron g440 temporarily in the wife's rig til I get her board and my cpu.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,053 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hell yea Jr! can't wait to see it up and running.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I am shocked at how smooth this proc is paired with the board.
     
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,053 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Told you it feels like a AMD dual core or a C2D 775 CPU doesn't it. It is a VERY nice cpu!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If I wasnt moving to the 2600k(shes getting the 2120) the g440 would fit for the wife perfectly. Quiet, cool, snappy.
     
  21. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Quick snap:

    [​IMG]
     
    mjkmike, popswala, cadaveca and 4 others say thanks.
  22. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Nice case MP, was considering it for my new build but decided on the HAF 932 advanced. I feel the HAF in more suited for a crossfire cooling setup with the 230mm fan on the side.
     
  23. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Thanks, man. I have a 480mm radiator and a slim 360mm radiator in this, so i'm confident with running 4 cards, lol.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    8,153 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,385
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  25. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I love this, it's friggin awesome work!!! When I get my rig together I appoint you Chief system builder :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page