1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,054 (8.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,507
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I don't use them in WCG just for games
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    FYI- Brandon, be careful with the cooler on the ASUS card, that fan cut me pretty decently once. :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,054 (8.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,507
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL I had it running kombuster and its not that loud but did get up to almost 90 degrees.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah, and that's with MX-2. As well RAM sinks on the back mem chips. I used the other ram sinks on the VRMs to keep them cool. As they won't work with the stock cooler on the other mem chips.

    That cooler works okay. Enough to get the job done anyways.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,410 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    It really depends on the scratches you're trying to remove. if you have a huge, deep scratch you'll lose an arm trying to sand it out. I've started with 80 grit on heatsinks before because they were so bad to start with.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,119 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    579
    ah OK I just assumed :slap: that you were showing em off crunching with WCG in the screenie
     
  7. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Well, here's my man cave as of about 5 minutes ago, playing metro 2033. Terrible game. I am uninstalling it promptly. :)

    [​IMG]

    I am buying more lava lamps, another plasma ball and some neon signs, as well as disco/christmas lights. :toast: :rockout: :cool: gotta have the right atmosphere for your mancave... :laugh:
     
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,030 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    D: Metro 2033 is an amazing game!
     
  9. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    don't forget the gold chains and the hairy chest showing through the half buttoned up shirt :laugh:
     
    Yo_Wattup and MT Alex say thanks.
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
  11. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    :laugh:
     
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,635 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,601
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You can use them with Wcg now. I have one xfx 5770 in one of my crunchers and it got 12 betas yesterday and tore through them like nothing, 0.03 per result. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    490 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    just so you know an anti static bag protects its innards from harm by allowing the electricity to ride along the outside of the bag......puting your mobo on it is no different than putting it on tin-foil
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,054 (8.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,507
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I3-530 @ 4Ghz with XFX 8800 Ultra!

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca, [Ion], _JP_ and 5 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    New lappy after 6 months of owning my other one. I gave it to my mother since I'm amazingly nice.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  16. silapakorn

    silapakorn

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    My rig is still incomplete. Waiting for Corsair H100 and another GTX670 for SLI.

    [​IMG]

    Very simple yet effective VGA cooler.

    [​IMG]

    DIY dust filter from mosquito net.

    [​IMG]

    Mesh side panel is good for ventilation, plus you don't have to worry about anyone seeing how messy it is inside;)

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
  18. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    I got it for $669 on a great deal! They had 2 left in stock and arrived out the shop before they openened to get it! Normal price is around $850-900

    It's got an i5 2450m, 8GB of DDR3 and a GT 640m. It's actually peforms really well. I can play Bf3 at low 50-60fps and medium 30-40fps at the native res and this is in 64 man servers on caspian. :)

    Here it is: Aspire V3
    Aspire V3-571G-52454G75Makk ( NX.RZJSA.004 )
    849 AUD (This is not my lappies exact model)

    Mine has the upgraded 2GB GT 640M instead of the 1GB GT 630M and 8GB of DDR3.

    That's the 640m.
    [​IMG]
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  19. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Finally got around to doing some CM....

    Before:

    [​IMG]

    After:

    [​IMG]
     
    _JP_, Tardan, cadaveca and 4 others say thanks.
  20. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    In the second picture it looks like he's done that.

    The first picture was probably taken after he first installed the card or something . :)
     
  22. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Not to sound cocky or anything but... No it isn't, it's still to the side. :)

    In the first pic he has it going through the HDD cage, the second image show's it being down the outside of the HDD cage.
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Alas sir your are mistaken.

    I've highlighted only cables that could be GPU power cables, they go into the first cable management slot. ( fairly certain it's the pink highlighted cables)

    The cable going around the HDD cages is a power cable bundle or IDE or something.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Oppsie, we're on about differen't cables, here's what I ment in green.
    [​IMG]
     
    _JP_ and cadaveca say thanks.
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That's the cables I highlighted in pink , it goes in the bottom management hole, then it comes out of the next management hole.

    I'm fairly certain anyway :laugh:


    Not that it matters anyway, just a friendly who has the best eyes contest :laugh:


    If you compare his first picture to his last you can see the pink and red highlighted cables have been routed as well as taped/joined together.

    And the pink highlighted cables are the GPU power cables so they must be routed in the way I described unless there's some magic going on! lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 member and 2 guests)

lZKoce

Share This Page