1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,997 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    I got it for $669 on a great deal! They had 2 left in stock and arrived out the shop before they openened to get it! Normal price is around $850-900

    It's got an i5 2450m, 8GB of DDR3 and a GT 640m. It's actually peforms really well. I can play Bf3 at low 50-60fps and medium 30-40fps at the native res and this is in 64 man servers on caspian. :)

    Here it is: Aspire V3
    Aspire V3-571G-52454G75Makk ( NX.RZJSA.004 )
    849 AUD (This is not my lappies exact model)

    Mine has the upgraded 2GB GT 640M instead of the 1GB GT 630M and 8GB of DDR3.

    That's the 640m.
    [​IMG]
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  2. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Finally got around to doing some CM....

    Before:

    [​IMG]

    After:

    [​IMG]
    _JP_, Tardan, cadaveca and 4 others say thanks.
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    In the second picture it looks like he's done that.

    The first picture was probably taken after he first installed the card or something . :)
  5. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Not to sound cocky or anything but... No it isn't, it's still to the side. :)

    In the first pic he has it going through the HDD cage, the second image show's it being down the outside of the HDD cage.
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Alas sir your are mistaken.

    I've highlighted only cables that could be GPU power cables, they go into the first cable management slot. ( fairly certain it's the pink highlighted cables)

    The cable going around the HDD cages is a power cable bundle or IDE or something.

    Attached Files:

  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Oppsie, we're on about differen't cables, here's what I ment in green.
    [​IMG]
    _JP_ and cadaveca say thanks.
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That's the cables I highlighted in pink , it goes in the bottom management hole, then it comes out of the next management hole.

    I'm fairly certain anyway :laugh:


    Not that it matters anyway, just a friendly who has the best eyes contest :laugh:


    If you compare his first picture to his last you can see the pink and red highlighted cables have been routed as well as taped/joined together.

    And the pink highlighted cables are the GPU power cables so they must be routed in the way I described unless there's some magic going on! lol
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'd say it's the same cable too, was just saying I think it would be better going in the bottom but also coming back out the bottom the GPU.

    Complete mix up here I agree :laugh: An honestly my eye's are horrid, I shouldn't try point out anything to anyone :slap::roll:
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'm sorry, but not even I can read that :laugh:

    :D
    Techtu says thanks.
  11. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    :laugh: Hahaha yes you are both right.

    @Pantherx12: The red cables you highlightes are the PCIe power cables, the pink ones are the SATA power connectors.

    @Techtu: I route all cables back out through a routing hole as close to the level to where they will be plugged into on the board.

    It only makes the most logical sense. It also helps prevent wires getting mixed up and tangled with other wires while doing maintenece/cleaning/upgrading. Your way would have those GPU cables passing through the 2 front USB3 port wires, 3 SATA cables and the PWR/RST/LED/HDD wire. I also have it set up to acommodate the 2nd HD 7970 I will be installing next month. :)
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Damn! I was matching up the colour of the plugs, wasn't until you said this I realised they they often have different colours each end :laugh:
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,397 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Changes!

    A bit of benching, for fun. QUADFIRE!!!:

    [​IMG]


    Then, 24/7 config. Not yet done, need to get fans yet, among few other things. ;)

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • 031.jpg
      031.jpg
      File size:
      124.6 KB
      Views:
      1,142
    • 038.jpg
      038.jpg
      File size:
      200.3 KB
      Views:
      5,771
    _JP_, Tardan, random and 5 others say thanks.
  14. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
    _JP_ and cadaveca say thanks.
  15. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,397 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nice fans! And yeah, you can see the 5850's in the background on the left, in the FX-8150 rig.


    :laugh: That it does. That's the card I use for reviews, so it really doesn't belong, and is trying to hide! :roll:

    It did help me get over 50k in Vantage though!

    http://3dmark.com/3dmv/4186171
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,991 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Ohh my. take that XFX one out. doesnt match I like what it looks like with just the 3 reference!

    You still need to ditch all 3 and get a GTX690 though.
  18. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,672 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    I had to take a third look just to notice the fourth card in that pic, and I doubt that's its permanent home.

    @Kevin - Nice Nerf headset:toast::laugh:
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    It's Nerf or nothing.
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    [​IMG]
    Moved the rad to the front of the case so I could run push/pull...it's actually held in place with cable ties for now, but seems to work fine
    cadaveca, _JP_ and MT Alex say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have that same GTS 450 but the fan died and i have a low profile 80MM on there almost dead silent and cools nicely!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    A Palit? It's done well for games for me thus far...I actually have a 92mm on the side panel right above it as exhaust...I'm trying to deal with the probably ~150w that's getting thrown off by the radiator.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473

    never underestimate the power of cable ties

    to help with the excess heat in the case you could still do push/pull from that 120mm fan on the back it just takes putting the second fan (pull) on the outside of the case (you may need to cut out the fan grill though)
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I tried that, but then the rad would have to go directly against the back of the case...and I'm not sure how to squish it there. Maybe if I de-rivet the tiny piece right above the back fan, then it could be made to work
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,414 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    cleaned the case.

    sleeved some stuff.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    (yes i know gpu isnt installed, GPU was block the view so i left it out while taking the pics)
    Soylent Joe, m1dg3t, phill and 11 others say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page