1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    274 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    popswala, That's Nvidia's New Dawn tech demo - very demanding piece of art :)
  2. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Impressive machine Warlock.:rockout:
    Quick question, did you consider two 690's at all? If so, why choose the 4 680's?
    Just wondering.
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,778
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I need me one of those boards!
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Heavy stuff. I say to myself: Holy crap, daddy!
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,381 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    I couldn't have picked a better board myself ;)
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Jesus!

    That is just too much GPU! haha. looks awesome though. Im going to have to try that new nvidia Demo with my 680. I overclocked my 680 just so it would do 1200 in games and that was only a 17mhz jump on the boost. It boosted to 1188 before. these 680s fly!
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Thank you guys for all of your comments! They really mean a lot to me, I'm so glad to be part of the TPU gang! You guys rock! :rockout:

    I got my first couple 680s when they were released back in march, the 690 was released a couple of months after that. When the 690 was released I wanted to try the step up program, but due to extremely limited availability, EVGA didn't make those boards available for upgrade, so I had to settle for a couple more 680s :p

    Thanks guys, you can't go wrong with 40 native lanes of PCIe Gen 3 goodness, I love this board and would recommend it to anybody who's into multi GPU rigs :rockout:
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,381 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    Exactly the reason I bought mine, lol. Right now there are only two 7970s in my system but as soon as i get one of those Korean IPS monitors it'll have at least one 7970 more in there.:p
  9. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,381 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    Your LGA2011 rig doesn't blow it out of the water?
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I just finished setting this up [​IMG]

    I'm missing a molex bundle so can't connect a whole bunch of stuff but this is pretty much done : ]

    The PC inside will be sold but I'm keeping this case/watercooling and such.

    I took pictures as I was building so might put the build log up .


    Thanks to scaminatrix for the great case and coming round and helping me build it!
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    MT Alex, TRWOV, Cold Storm and 3 others say thanks.
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    LOL both of those systems are so sick... that's a bit like asking if your "700HP ferrari doesn't murder your 500HP lambo?"

    "I mean yeah... but... that one is yellow"
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Tooo... sexy.... must resist fappage..... :laugh: build log would be great; I think lots of people would be interested in that crazy rad you got and how well it goes in. Gotta see it to really get the scale of the size though.
  14. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    You've moved your room around! That case needs spraying ;)
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Well, it depends on how you compare it. Maybe both have the same amount of power, but one is better at some tasks for the other. For example, I was driving my mother's BMW since my car needed work and it's quick and peppy and all, but it's a small 6 (2.5L) with only about 200HP and All wheel drive. I get my Saab 9-5 Aero (2.3L 4 with high output turbo,) back and it's not as peppy, but on the highway you give it some gas, that Turbo throws you back into the seat. So I think it's more like the difference between having a lot of torque and a lot of HP.

    My 3820 loves multithreaded tasks, but give it a single-threaded task and a 2600k (overclocked to same clocks,) very well could do better. Not that the results very too much, but there are benefits and drawbacks to having quad-channel memory and more cache, which is usually a latency issue, but that quad-channel memory shines as soon as you hit memory hard with one, thread, two, three, and four. Any more than 2 memory heavy threads on a 2600k and it will start to slow down the other cores. (SB and IVB have better per-thread memory speeds, but SB-E has a lot of raw throughput for multithreaded tasks.)

    Just my take. :)
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'll put up a build log in a bit. :toast:

    Yeah, I move it around a lot :laugh: ( depending on where my pc get best thermal/acoustic performance :laugh:) I've found the missing molex bundle so have repositioned the panels on the case, added more fans ( any ole ones for now) and added the casters, picks soon : ]

    Also, I'm not sure about painting this you know, I kinda like that it looks industrial :laugh:
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,381 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    Gotta agree with you there, the raw aluminium looks pretty nice.
  18. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I just want to do this to my PC atm...
    [​IMG]
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  20. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    To be honest I'm pretty lost to what is causing the problem I originally thought it was the graphics card/graphics driver but now I'm not so sure, I'm only able to boot into Windows using Safe-Mode. When I try boot normally into Windows I get either stop code 50 or 51 and this is with everything such as USB devices, testing each RAM module on it's own (also tested the RAM with Windows Memeory Test which was fine). I do have a thread about it...Here I was just going to do what Jr has suggested, not that I want to but nevermind, reinstall Windows it is. :(
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Ahh that sucks man, I've no idea either : [



    Updated picture anywho, eventually all fans will be black non led kinds.
    [​IMG]

    ( Under the case is a great place for my rolling tray XD)
  22. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    try unplugging some accessories one at a time. I had the same thing...I unplugged one fan and it stopped.
    Techtu says thanks.
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Panther I am liking the box case :)
    pantherx12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,381 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    Yea, it's a sexy case. Especially with the raw metal look like that. Panther, my opinion probably doesn't mater to you, but don't you dare paint that case. It will lose a lot of character if you do.
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  25. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    That rAw case is it an ol' MM UFO by chance? One of the first p1mp boxxes IMO and still class :)
    pantherx12 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)

Share This Page