1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,282 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yep. There is more than just that, too...;)

    High-end ram has always come at a premium, and personally, I've bought similar stuff in the past from Corsair, and have rarely been disappointed.
     
  2. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    What would be a benefit to running the Premium spec ram then in an everyday sort of gaming system? What differences would there be?
     
  3. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I still have my 3 Dell 30" screens but since two of them didn't work properly and they had to go back, I've two 3011's and one 3008's and that doesn't work right for the 3 screens, so I'm just back to single screens at the moment!!

    Driving games at 7680 x 1600 is damn hard but my 580 3Gb cards manage it well even with a 3 or 4 gen old i7 920 @ 4.6Ghz..

    I know what you mean about spending money.. My fiancee and I are having our first baby this month and I can't see I'm gonna have any money at all when the baby is born!! :lol: But at least its for a good cause I guess :D :toast:

    I'll just have to grab another system soon as our two boys are both having an i7 rig of mine each!! :lol: :roll:
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,282 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Better overclocking support, slightly better load times for games and apps, better esthetics, and usually, better customer support.

    I'm a big proponent of people buying the ram speed they want, and not relying on overclocking to get maximum performance, and the same applies when going all out on the high-end. My CPU is really good, better than most, so I want ram that matches the CPU's functionality. There are actually quite a few games that benefit from faster ram too, like Shogun 2 and most CodeMasters titles, and when you add multiple videocards and monitors to that mix, ram is even more important, since videocards get their data from ram.

    And anything other than that, I'll save for reviews. :laugh:

    I guess, to me, it's like choosing a GTX680 over a GTX670...both are very good, and offer more performance than most need...
     
  5. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    So what might you suggest I use for a 52x multi 2600k and for the moment, 2 580 3Gb GTX's??
     
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,599 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,336
    Corsair Link, sweet lighting effects that can be changed, efficient heatsinks, and well-designed PCBs. I'm sure I'm missing something else, though.

    I've never owned any Corsair, but always heard good things about them. All of my high-end RAM over the years has been G.Skill, OCZ(back in the DDR2 days, man I loved my Reapers), and Team Group. But to be completely honest, I was never really interested in high-end RAM for my own 24/7 rig, I've always done what I'm doing now: find a diamond in the rough and make it run like high-end:laugh:. My x48 rig ran 4x2GB Crucial value RAM rated for 1066. What most people didn't know about that RAM was it had Micron D9 chips. They ran 1420 without a hitch up until the day I retired that system. At least if your RAM goes *POP* and it's value RAM, it's not a huge loss.:roll:
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,282 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    2600K, 2133 MHz with 4x 2 GB sticks(some boards on P67/Z68 have issues with 4 GB DIMMS).

    Clocking ram with SB can affect CPU clocks as well, and generally 1600 MHz is more than enough, but ther eare some small gains to be had with faster ram.

    I've also been one of few people that like filling all DIMM slots, but I like to classify myself as a high-end user, and part os being high-end, to me, is building rigs that give the most possible, including using multiple VGAS, many ram sticks, and as many CPU cores as possibly, with PSU's way over-spec'd. It's like buying a BMW M5, for getting back and forth to work. I just recently sold my 10-year-old M5...and got killer resale value too.

    When my Dominator GT sticks died, and they had no replacements, Corsair refunded every single penny I spent on the sticks(over $500!!), when most other companies would have just given current market value. That's a big thing, to me, especially considering the lifetime warranty. Warranty support, and how companies deal with RMAs, are very very important to me.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  8. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I do have some 1600Mhz ram here which I think would do just fine but as for getting the very last Mhz of performance out of the 2600k I'm not sooooo worried because its an in between build as I'd like to replace it with a nice Octo core setup with 3 graphics cards and a boat load of SSD's just cos I can but with baby and a wedding to pay for, things like that will have to wait!! :lol:

    Well I would say about buying a rig for me, if there's something I'd want it to do, then I'm make sure it did it regardless of the cost as if there's one thing I've learnt, if you don't pay out a little bit more than you needed, then you'll only end up wasting it later on down the line and think, damn, I wish I'd.....
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,282 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Precisely...;)
     
  10. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I did buy fast ram for my i7's but I just couldn't get it to run properly so I just left it around the 2:8 divider rather than the 2:10 I was hoping to use...

    I might consider going stupid again when I have some money, but I just don't see that happening with 1 baby of my own and two adopted children that think I'm their 2nd Dad :lol:
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,282 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ha! :laugh:

    I've got 4 kids, ages 5-7-9-11. If it wasn't for doing reviews, I'd not have as much high-end stuff either! I got lucky, but likewise, I take it seriously too, as it's definitely a good source of entertainment for me. :p
     
  12. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Well the two I seemed to have gain (with no practice at all!! Most disappointing I think!!) are great and as you say, are definitely a good source of entertainment :D

    They are getting very much into the PC's and gaming in general but I'm happy to help them gain and learn with doing things with them..

    I've had to buy the hardware, I've sadly never been lucky enough to do the reviews!! I'd love to do it tho, one of my dreams jobs :D
     
  13. Milton180

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Process: Intel ® Core ™ i5-3570K procesador (cache 6M, hasta 3,80 GHz)
    Ramms: Patriot Division 2 Viper Xtreme 16GB 1600MHZ
    Mobo: MSI Z77A-GD55
    Cooler: Hydro Series ™ H100 Corsair Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    Case: Graphite Series™ 600T White Edition
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 3 SATA III de 2,5 " SSD 120GB
    HHD: 1TB Segate Barracuda 7200RPM, 500GB Segate Barracuda 7200RPM
    Backup: 3TB Segate GoFlex Home USB 3.0
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 680 Twin Frozr III OC edition
    Teclado: Thermaltake Challenger Pro Red Ilimination
    Mouse: Genius Mouse Maurus Gx Gaming
    PSU: OCZ ZX SERIES 1000W Power Supply
    LED: Asus LED 24"
    Sound: Logitech X530 5.1

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    phill, theonedub, popswala and 4 others say thanks.
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Nice build Milton. I love receiving parts and having them all stacked up like that. :D
     
    Milton180 says thanks.
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,104 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,836
    Location:
    Mexico

    [​IMG] :respect::respect::respect:






    [​IMG]

    I'm painting my OCTANUX case so I took the board out, plus I'm getting some temps for the IC Diamond Test Thread:

    [​IMG]
     
    phill, cadaveca and ChaoticAtmosphere say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Milton180

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,320 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,128
    No, but TRWOV is from Mexico...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Nice build milton
     
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,150 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,810
    Location:
    Oregon
    Working on a Dell. All those caps Not Sexy
    [​IMG]
     
    phill, ChaoticAtmosphere and cadaveca say thanks.
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,663 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,602
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
  21. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,150 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,810
    Location:
    Oregon
    I know but funny how they still use the same PCB
     
  22. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,320 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,128
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,150 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,810
    Location:
    Oregon
    Something is wrong that board is dead
     
  25. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I want to buy a Dell... :D

    No, my PC atm:

    [​IMG]

    Bought it last Friday and I'm lovin it so far :) Popped in my SSD ofc.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page