1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ugh. I haven't got the time or inclination to provide support for systems I build for the tech-illiterate.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,135 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,667
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Only people I did that for was the best man at my wedding and my parents. It ends there. :)
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,533 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,258
    Of course something's wrong, it's a Dell. Overpriced proprietary garbage.
    That looks like a s775 chip, why not pick up a cheap s775 board and swap over everything else?
     
  4. teapa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    my pc ATM

    my pc ATM
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,651 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,425
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thats what is going on here. Plus moving to DDR3 in stead of 2. I had some laying around might as well use it:rockout:
     
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    sorry for the mess :facepalm:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and main

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yes, i'm such a healthy person aint i
     
  9. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    :laugh:
     
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You still have to buy the parts! :laugh:

    I'm a bit of a suka when it comes to things like this, I can't help but help people. I've even done screen replacements and such for free. Really need to start charging people :laugh: (only charged for doing two of the pcs I've built and that was Ā£50 including 3 year support :laugh: )

    Those speakers made me hate you, please send them to me to avoid things becoming awkward between you and I :laugh:
     
  11. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I don't know. The systems I use at work are all Dell's and they're pretty great.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    phill and cadaveca say thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,174 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,432
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    holy harddrives, batman.
     
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    imagine the sound of the spin up?
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,344
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Random Murderer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,533 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,258
    My thoughts exactly. And while that shot of all those drives is impressive, I can almost guarantee that the first time you have to pop the actual server unit open for a cleaning or RAM upgrade, etc., you'll notice that the motherboard is a Dell proprietary motherboard.
     
  16. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :confused:

    ALL server OEMs use proprietary motherboards. That's actually part of what you get with the price premium...

    If I wanted a standard form factor I'd go assemble my own.

    Why is "proprietary" a bad word? Processors use "proprietary" sockets. If you get an Asus Maximus Extreme-z motherboard I have to buy a processor from Intel that is part of a specific lineup if I want to use it.


    And I guarantee that the first time I had to pop open the server for maintenance/upgrades, I noticed that the proprietary Dell motherboard was setup to be entirely tool-less. (Even the CPU Heatsink latches are toolless).

    Maybe you can tell me how you'd work hot-swappable power supplies with a non-proprietary motherboard?

    Blades are nice if everything uses the same few fabrics. But I need 8Gb FC, 16Gb FC, 2 generations of SAS, 1 GbE, & 10 GbE. For that, 2U works pretty darn well! :)
     
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I would suggest to other OEMs that we create a standardised format....
     
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,533 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,258
    Not ALL. There are servers that use non-proprietary motherboards from companies such as SuperMicro and even DFI(they are still around but commercial only now).
    Yes, a standardized format would be ideal. Although the form factor itself is pretty standard, it would be nice to be able to do repairs/upgrades with off-the-shelf parts, rather than having to order that part from the server manufacturer.
     
  19. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    402 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    Just some random pictures of my Lian Li & Mach 2 GT rebuild progress...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  20. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    Location:
    canada
    Old pump gave out so i got this:rockout:
    Still need to do something with the top tube.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    271 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    My newly built gaming rig :)

    [​IMG]
     
    phill, MT Alex, [Ion] and 7 others say thanks.
  22. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    mypg0306 says thanks.
  23. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    271 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Thanks dude. Ya, the bridge spoils the whole scene :D
     
  24. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,294 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Paint the bridge - and nice rig btw
     
    mypg0306 says thanks.
  25. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    some carefully applied duct- or electrical tape should work too :)
     
    mypg0306 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page