1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Nice build milton
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    Working on a Dell. All those caps Not Sexy
    [​IMG]
     
    phill, ChaoticAtmosphere and cadaveca say thanks.
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,782 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    I know but funny how they still use the same PCB
     
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,810 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,263
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    Something is wrong that board is dead
     
  8. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I want to buy a Dell... :D

    No, my PC atm:

    [​IMG]

    Bought it last Friday and I'm lovin it so far :) Popped in my SSD ofc.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  9. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ugh. I haven't got the time or inclination to provide support for systems I build for the tech-illiterate.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Only people I did that for was the best man at my wedding and my parents. It ends there. :)
     
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,441 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Of course something's wrong, it's a Dell. Overpriced proprietary garbage.
    That looks like a s775 chip, why not pick up a cheap s775 board and swap over everything else?
     
  12. teapa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    my pc ATM

    my pc ATM
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thats what is going on here. Plus moving to DDR3 in stead of 2. I had some laying around might as well use it:rockout:
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    sorry for the mess :facepalm:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and main

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  15. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yes, i'm such a healthy person aint i
     
  17. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    :laugh:
     
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You still have to buy the parts! :laugh:

    I'm a bit of a suka when it comes to things like this, I can't help but help people. I've even done screen replacements and such for free. Really need to start charging people :laugh: (only charged for doing two of the pcs I've built and that was Ā£50 including 3 year support :laugh: )

    Those speakers made me hate you, please send them to me to avoid things becoming awkward between you and I :laugh:
     
  19. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I don't know. The systems I use at work are all Dell's and they're pretty great.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    phill and cadaveca say thanks.
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,935 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,059
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    holy harddrives, batman.
     
  21. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    imagine the sound of the spin up?
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Random Murderer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,441 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    My thoughts exactly. And while that shot of all those drives is impressive, I can almost guarantee that the first time you have to pop the actual server unit open for a cleaning or RAM upgrade, etc., you'll notice that the motherboard is a Dell proprietary motherboard.
     
  24. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :confused:

    ALL server OEMs use proprietary motherboards. That's actually part of what you get with the price premium...

    If I wanted a standard form factor I'd go assemble my own.

    Why is "proprietary" a bad word? Processors use "proprietary" sockets. If you get an Asus Maximus Extreme-z motherboard I have to buy a processor from Intel that is part of a specific lineup if I want to use it.


    And I guarantee that the first time I had to pop open the server for maintenance/upgrades, I noticed that the proprietary Dell motherboard was setup to be entirely tool-less. (Even the CPU Heatsink latches are toolless).

    Maybe you can tell me how you'd work hot-swappable power supplies with a non-proprietary motherboard?

    Blades are nice if everything uses the same few fabrics. But I need 8Gb FC, 16Gb FC, 2 generations of SAS, 1 GbE, & 10 GbE. For that, 2U works pretty darn well! :)
     
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I would suggest to other OEMs that we create a standardised format....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page