1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,257 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Or get a flat cable. You could run it under the mobo. Just plug it in the board, loop it under the board so it's running straight up, then do a 90° fold of the cable at the proper height to match the drive. That should have it flat still, running beneath the board to the front of the case where the drive is.
    I ran my 975x system like that before I got my SATA drives and you had to really look to tell there was an IDE drive in it.
    ste2425 says thanks.
  2. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,357 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Wish I'd thought of that before i put it all together :p think I've got a cable without the sleveing somewhere

    Edit: does anyone know what case that is? If it is even a named brand? As my mate who gave it me doesn't know either. Just curious
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,138 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Mexico
    ste2425 and Random Murderer say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,257 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    A lot of people forget about the space between the mobo and case when routing cables, or they never thought to use it. A fellow TPU'er opened my eyes to it back in my 975x days and I've been using that space in every case since, whether it's routing SATA, fans, USB front panel cables... whatever I can fit without putting strain on the board. That's not to discount the space between the mobo tray and side panel where you're supposed to route cables, but the more areas you have to hide cables, the better, right?:toast:
    ste2425 says thanks.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Oregon
    My new Case :)
    I forgot how much work it is to switch a case


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    LAN_deRf_HA, ste2425, MT Alex and 10 others say thanks.
  6. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    274 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Nice and clean Jetster, good job!!
    Jetster says thanks.
  7. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,074 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Do like the USB hub :p I have a white one but for some reason it 'apparently' keeps causing power surges on my USB ports D:
    ste2425 says thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Grnfinger says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,357 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk

    Thats odd, mines fine? cable not damaged?
  10. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,074 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Nah, it works fine for a couple of hours and then warning messages show up about power surging occurring on usb port. Even with it just sitting on my desk unplugged, it still looks rather awesome.

    EDIT: Since writing this I tried it again with it also plugged into a power outlet (it has an auxiliary DC 5V power port), and it seems to transfer files at a faster speed so here's hoping I have fixed the problem and thus no more power surge. :D

    PS; no power surge yet afer 6 hours :D
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  11. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,357 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Ahhh mine doesn't have a separate power socket. Like you said even if it doesn't work it looks cool :)
    THE_EGG says thanks.
  12. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,206 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,735
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Some snapshots of my buddies i7 rig, I remember a time when these cases were very popular.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    LAN_deRf_HA, TRWOV, SirKeldon and 5 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,357 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  14. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    here is my oilrig i do gota replace my waterbottle with a proper resovaire

    [​IMG]
    johnnyfiive, MT Alex, TRWOV and 3 others say thanks.
  15. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,320 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,404
    Yes you need a res:)
    Clean that rig while you are at it!!!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,257 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Yep. There are two retention mechanisms on the back.
    You could have also checked his system specs :p
  18. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    some day i want to get a hd7970x2
    and upgrade my cpu's to 6 core 3ghz xeons :)
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,257 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Won't that mean going lga2011 for the 6-core Xeons? or were there 6-core Xeons in lga1366?
  20. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,320 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,404
    There are six core Xeons for the 1366 platform.
    Random Murderer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Xeon X5690 ;)
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,257 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Ah. Had no idea.
  24. Tennis97 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Lenovo I have been adding on to for awhile :p i think I've done pretty well for the limitations I have :laugh:

    cable management could be better though, but I'm not gonna spend an more time until my new fans come in.....

    one problem.....cant. get. to. back. of. motherboard :banghead: . oh well, when i do replace my cpu cooler ill figure it out i hope.

    Original(before any additions):
    [​IMG]

    Before Cabling:
    [​IMG]

    Now:
    [​IMG]

    original PC:
    i5-2320
    Lite-On 280w PSU
    4GB Lenovo RAM
    1TB HDD
    CD/DVDRW
    Lenovo Motherboard

    Now:
    i5-2320
    Corsair CX 430
    8GB RAM
    2TB Seagate Barracuda
    EVGA GTX 660
    CD/DVDRW

    to be added:
    2x 92MM Silenx Fans
    1x 80 Silenx Fan
    1x Sound card(idk which yet)
    8Gb of GSkill RAM (mine is super slow:shadedshu so will upgrade)
    64GB OCZ SSD(for game and apps)
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  25. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,320 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,404
    Welcome to TPU:)
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page