1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,688 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Ah, the good ol' Antec Sonata. I'm still using one for a media center at the moment. Very strong case and well built, especially for its time.
     
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,065 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,762
    Location:
    Mexico
    :confused:
     
    _JP_ and Capitan Harlock say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,566 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,508
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    The cable is plugged into the serial port of that KT7A no raid board. Must be using it to either power something on the front or for a data port. Hell if I know, I never had to use a serial port on my KT7A rigs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    The serial cable was used to program the lcd display in the front to say and do certain things, back when usb was still not used a lot and serial still had its uses
     
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,271 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,035
    Hell, if we're going back an posting old projects, here's my first modded rig:

    [​IMG]
     
    phill and _JP_ say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Lol, fair enough. Here is my very first modded case with my very first computer built. Hell, I even still have my signature from my days at Mad Onion forums to go with it lol! It was an Enlight 7237 case which im sure A LOT of you have seen and maybe even had way back in the day. I felt like a god with my new, first of it kind Geforce 3 from VisionTek and could run the Nature demo in 3dmark 2001 and everyone drooled at my screenshots running it lol! Sigh...the good old days


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    phill and _JP_ say thanks.
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,065 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,762
    Location:
    Mexico
    I thought it was the VGA cable :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    thought I was at a very early page for a min
     
  9. Sliver Victor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    BA
    My first oCed rig, I had a fan blowing in cool air from an opened case and called it mod cooling. I have seen somewhere also someone has an aircon blowing in cool air.

    Here is my new rig with the new GPU:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The USb 3.0 plug came undone and only noticed it in this photo. It fixed now. ;)
     
    PopcornMachine, phill, _JP_ and 4 others say thanks.
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,678 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,718
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    In the process of turning an old Dell P4 rig into a brand new storage and VM server. None of the original parts of the dell are being used. Was completely gutted.

    [​IMG]
     
    phill, _JP_, BrooksyX and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Sliver Victor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    BA
    nice job on the server bro ;)
     
  12. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Nice server! I need to post some pics/do a write up on my ubuntu media server. It started out with a few pair parts and an extra 1tb green drive to store media files. It has grown into having 4x 1tb WD green drives, 2x 2tb green drives and a few others. It hosts a website, smb network, torrent server, OTA live tv server, remote desktop, and will probably keep adding lol.
     
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    Waiting on a few more parts and this beast will be done.

    [​IMG]
     
    PHaS3, MT Alex and ensabrenoir say thanks.
  14. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Generally, when I've seen 2 Processor boards in the past (EVGA's SR-2 and SR-X come to mind), I'm used to seeing each processor have its own bank of memory. On the board above, there's one bank of 6 DIMMs. Does each processor get 3 or is there some different architecture going on?
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,242 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,540
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    SKT771...IMC is in chipset. Desktop equivalent is Core2 Duo. That means dual channel, with 3 DIMMs per channel.
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,941
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    SuperMicro X7DVL-i
    2 x Xeon E5345
    6 x 4GB SK Hynix 667 FBDIMM
    6 x 1TB WD RED
    Lepa G500
    Cooler Master HAF XB

    I still need to find coolers for this monster!!
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,941
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I assume, given the massive amounts of HDD space and RAM, that you're going to use it as a server? Mine just has a 150GB disk--it's just another low-cost cruncher for me :toast:

    There are always coolers like this, but it is expensive :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743

    Actually its more of me just messing with DP setups. Im also working on another project with this board:

    [​IMG]
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,941
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's the Arima Quad Socket F, right? It's been popular at XS for crunchers too :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    Yes. I found this board for 60 bucks and bought 4 quad opterons for 10 a piece. not sure what im doing about ram ,psu and cpu coolers yet. Again this is just to play with you will see it for sale on tpu within the next 3 months lol
     
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,968 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,144
    Location:
    Mysore
    10$ a piece :eek: ??
     
  23. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Build a mega server rig. Install recent games in it and start a LAN party then $$$ :D If I had one I would start a BF3 lan party here. Pretty popular and you can get sponsors so it take most of the expenses from your charge.
     
  24. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    653 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
    Great beast and deal :toast:

    PS: When going to sale, will you keep those prices or you'll low them down? :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,541 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    617
    Location:
    PL_badwater
    I would imagine he would sell them for what he bought them for or only slightly higher due to the fact that its a non standard layout and would have to be benched or buy an expensive proprietary rack for it :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page