1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I assume, given the massive amounts of HDD space and RAM, that you're going to use it as a server? Mine just has a 150GB disk--it's just another low-cost cruncher for me :toast:

    There are always coolers like this, but it is expensive :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664

    Actually its more of me just messing with DP setups. Im also working on another project with this board:

    [​IMG]
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's the Arima Quad Socket F, right? It's been popular at XS for crunchers too :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    Yes. I found this board for 60 bucks and bought 4 quad opterons for 10 a piece. not sure what im doing about ram ,psu and cpu coolers yet. Again this is just to play with you will see it for sale on tpu within the next 3 months lol
     
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    10$ a piece :eek: ??
     
  6. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Build a mega server rig. Install recent games in it and start a LAN party then $$$ :D If I had one I would start a BF3 lan party here. Pretty popular and you can get sponsors so it take most of the expenses from your charge.
     
  7. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Great beast and deal :toast:

    PS: When going to sale, will you keep those prices or you'll low them down? :laugh:
     
  8. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,485 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    I would imagine he would sell them for what he bought them for or only slightly higher due to the fact that its a non standard layout and would have to be benched or buy an expensive proprietary rack for it :)
     
  9. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    I was just joking because the price is ridiculous, lowing them down will be almost impossible, specially the CPUs, that's why i told him "great deal", the PS was just kinda ironic :)

    Anyway, thanks for the extra info :toast:
     
  10. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I just rebuilded this PC for myself during the time I wait to get more money.

    Compaq Evo D51S SFF

    UPGRADES

    CPU: 2.4 to 2.8
    Memory: 512megs ddr-266 to 2 gigs ddr-400
    HDD: 40 gigs to 80 gigs
    CD reader to DVD-RW burner

    I also modded the psu fan. Just took an Antec fan from a dead smartpower and put it in place. Almost dead silent the whole computer now.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I also built this small setup only for someone who would like to surf the net, e-mails, YouTube, Facebook.

    Antec case with 430w @-power psu (Made by Dynapower USA)
    Asus P4B533
    P4 FSB-533 2.4 gigs OC@2.8
    GeForce Mx400 64megs AGP
    40 gigs HDD
    CD-RW
    DVD reader
    Floppy
    1 gig ddr-400

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
    TRWOV and t77snapshot say thanks.
  11. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Uuunnng.... Maxtor drives *shudders*
     
  12. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    What's the problem about that? Feel free to share your opinion. :)
     
    Capitan Harlock says thanks.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    i have never used a floppy in my life. i mean, i have seen it work and touched it but never used it for myself :D lol, im a noob
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  14. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    You will get a "floppy" and touch it when you get older...if you know what I mean. ;)
     
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    i am 20. am i old yet :laugh:
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    noisy, hot, excess vibration, unreliable?


    some of the older maxtors i've used were ok, (some 250GB sata's i had were actually quite reliable, other than their slow ass speeds) but overall they werent very good.
    case in point: they no longer exist
     
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,859 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah there Seagate now. LOL I actually have some like 10 or 12 year old maxtors still chugging along in a couple of my crunchers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    they were probably bought by segate. WD bought hitachi tight?
     
  19. odameyer

    odameyer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    I've got that same Compaq workstation

    Couldn't even get $40 out of it on Craigslist

    I also tried giving it away to my local linux users group but nobody wanted it :laugh:
     
  20. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    Reconfigured the main rig,

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    This one still work fine not noisy and for the heat we don't really care here it's winter so it warms up the place :)

    Hehehe. I will keep this one as backup and because it's freaking silent.
     
  22. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,211 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,749
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Your cable management is better then some of the nicer comps on here. ;)
     
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
  24. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    Not sure I leave the door off as well so Im pretty sure I have no pressure
     
  25. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    354 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    I see it as more ways dust can get into my computer
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page