1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I've done some very limited pre-assembly on the CM692 for the 3930k:
    [​IMG]
    I installed the PSU and radiator, wired up the fans, installed the DVD-RW drive, replaced the back fan with a 38mm thick DELTA from a DP workstation (moves a ton of air) and did a little bit of cable routing. I'm surprised how little space there is between the rad and PSU--I'm glad the PSU isn't modular :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,820 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I have to agree with you, actually, that was my original intention, but when I tried to align it to the exit holes on my case and screw the radiator using the mounting bracket, there was like a two inch difference in height between the barbs and the holes in the case that would have made the tubes kink, and to compound the problem, the elbows I had originally ordered to use with the radiator didn't fit the ID of my tubing...

    Eventually I plan to re-order all the compression fits and elbows I got wrong the first time and reinstall the radiator, thank you very much for your suggestion:rockout:
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
    n0tiert says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Sliver Victor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    BA
    Upgraded to 16Gig ram today. 1600MHZ HyperX with the extra long heatsinks.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Also here are my new SSD's:
    The WD drive is strickly a Windows Backup drive now. Everything is running on SSD hardware.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    488 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Build in progress ;)

    [​IMG]

    Now which case is this?
     
  5. Sliver Victor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    BA
    It's my first Fractal case. The Define XL version which comes with the Titanium finish front panel. It is very heavily sound proofed and opperates like it's not even there. It is even well ventilated for such a tight running chassis.
    It is a very nice case to look at. I wrote a review here: http://www.technewshw.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13949 I have wanted a case like this from my teenage years.
     
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    Capitan Harlock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,837 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
  8. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    So he can take the rad out and clean it i presume?, i have the same on mine only connected directly to the fitting.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
    theonedub, cadaveca and PHaS3 say thanks.
  9. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,837 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    Ah, to easily blow them out makes sense, I suppose. I mostly see and think of quick disconnects being used so that the MB or components can be taken out easily, not the rads.
     
  10. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    488 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Lian Li is correct but not old even tho it looks like an oldie.

    It's a new version of the PC343 Cube case, this one can take HPTX mobo's and got the room for three 280 radiators without any modding, two in the top and one in the bottom on the mobo side.

    Old Cube case and the new side by side :)
    [​IMG]



    Easy way to swap GPU's and all I need to fill up is the the new GPU-block before I connect the whole loop. Radds in the 5,25 bays have duck tape between the fan module and radds.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
    MT Alex says thanks.
  11. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    That's the last few months and now i'm it
    itching for a new colour!.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  12. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,820 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I finally got the Crimson Titan up and running:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As for the results, 21 degrees on idle, 36 degrees max temp with zero OC on my cards after running 3DMark, Crysis 3, New Dawn and Valley Benchmark :eek:

    I can honestly say that WC has exceeded all my expectations:

    [​IMG]

    My next update is to replace all the barbs for compression fittings, the Koolance fittings I ordered were the wrong size unfortunately :p
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,973 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
    Adopt me please. I can clean, and I made a really good piece of toast once.
     
    Capitan Harlock and 15th Warlock say thanks.
  14. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,820 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    :cry:
    Yes, we have an extra room, but I will demand that you make good toast everyday, I've been known to have very strict rules when it comes to toast in our house!:rockout::toast:

    You may submit your adoption application and all related inquiries to my email address :)
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,795
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I can make French toast. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    wow im going to build a killer rig, show it off on forums and adopt (slaves) hahaaaaa :toast:
     
  17. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    I'm so torn over a titan or 690 and i've been putting them in my basket all weekend.

    Best thing is get the cheapest 680 i think.
     
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Buy the Titan. You know you wanna.

    :roll:


    personally, I'd buy dual 680 lightning if I had money to burn.
     
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    Finished my other mITX build. One thing I hate about mITX- never room for killer cable routing. I actually ran the 2 8pin PCIe behind the front panel to clean it up some :laugh:

    Have to get my H60 RMA'd, so I had to use the stock cooler for the time being.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    They are not really on sale in the uk anymore and the price is silly if they are.

    Most dont even overclock more than the card i've got just now so 100% not worth it for me and that kind of cooler in sli is not great in my case, i've done it before.
     
  21. tytus

    tytus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Poland
    My build - Foggydew v2

    Hi, well its ain't very new or very fancy but its doing its job and has been build from actual leftovers and some second hand stuff. The only thing new in here are fans :laugh: The PSU is going to CoolerMaster for RMA so atm I am running it with my spare Tagan 480W.
    It does run DIRT3 on full settings so for me is enough. :rockout:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/rmmiq8l9s3a1icb/P1210215.JPG

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/1thw18ylhfuagtg/P1210168.JPG

    Sorry for messing up with the dropbox pics but imageuploader gives me somne errors while uploading pics.
     
  22. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Why are you using a 850W CoolerMaster PSU if your PC can run on a 480W Tagan?
     
  23. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    701 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    IDE 5-lane broadband road cable, we meet again ;)
     
  24. tytus

    tytus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Poland
    It is simple. Because I got it! :) Tagan got of a friend, and CM bought as a bargain.
    I would not use tagan as it runs almost on the edge but CM has to go for RMA so got to stick with it for a while. When CM gets back to me tagan will sit comfortably in a cupboard waiting for its time. CM with this amount of power will be used when I will got my hands on HD4890 some time after easter so hopefully will test CrossFire on it. The other reason is that CM is bronze certified while tagan no, so CM actually take less power of the socket.
     
  25. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    A Core2Duo system with a 4870 should use about 250-350 watts under full load, I think you could even add the 4890 to it without overloading a good quality 480W PSU (and Tagans are good quality) since you will most likely not double the power draw using CF.

    Also, big chance the Tagan was made before those 80+ certifications were made :)

    I'm a bit of an efficiency freak, but at idle, you will most likely draw more power from the wall using a 850W PSU than you do using a 480W PSU.
    Bronze certification requires 80+% efficiency under 20/50/80% load, but under 20% the efficiency usually plummets.
    On a 850W PSU that <20% is below 170W draw, so basically anything you do besides intense gaming is powered by low efficiency.
    On a 480W PSU that <20% is below 96W...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)

Share This Page