1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,968 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    Location:
    Mysore
    i have no idea what that is :p
     
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,250 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,002
    A really, really, old computer. From where we are now backwards:

    Core i -> Core Duo -> Pentium 4 -> Pentium 3 -> Pentium 2 -> Pentium -> 486 -> 386 -> 286
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    893 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Wow, old...no. Ancient? - more like it. ;) that's like an artefact from another space-time continium :D. I have no sympathy for those though, recycle and go for the new. :)
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,411 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    oh boy :p a PC thats been around longer then me in terms of age.

    When I was about 5 my dad bought a IBM PS/2 setup home with a Pentium SX-II and about 4 or 8Megs of ram and a 100Mb hard drive running windows 3.1.

    And thats the machine which i slowly built up my craft as a tech as It was the family PC all the way until 98' where dad payed about $4557 for a Pentium 3 setup which was all the rage back then.

    I kept the old IBM and a few years back i actually got it running again, but It couldnt do much with it anyway so i guess i threw it in the dumpster.

    Kinda regret it a little but It wasnt any good to anyone. It had no math co-processor so installing WIndows 98 was impossible.

    It just wasnt worth keeping around except for nostagia
     
  5. Compgeke

    Compgeke

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    146 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Location:
    Fairfield, California, USA
    You would be surprised at the value of the old PCs and XTs, anywhere from $50-$300 depending on what you have for it in terms of manuals, boxes and disks, accessories, etc. Basically, anything before a Pentium that works can catch a few bucks (as odd as it sounds).
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,942 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,667
    Location:
    Oregon
    I wish I kept my 286
     
    TommyT says thanks.
  7. Kast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Had to gut the 800D to fit these RX360's. The RX120 just barely fit, in fact there are no screws holding it in place. It's sandwiched in between the RX360 and the top of the PCI bay.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,227 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Switzerland
    radiator fest, is a bit overkill but i like it anyway...
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,411 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    A little OTT for a 3770k and tri-fired 7950s. what are you cooling? Japan's nuclear power station?
     
  10. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    525 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Always nice to have a "little" headroom when it comes to cooling guys :toast:
     
  11. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,227 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Switzerland
    If you follow the youtube channel : Singularity Comptuers

    http://www.youtube.com/feed/UCqChlb8y4cQ0jAFaNFPQLqA

    When he mention what temps he get with all that cooling power is ridicolous...

    He get the same temps as you can have with single 3x120mm radiators CPU/GPU loop, especially on graphics card 40 to 45 degress on gaming.

    You can achieve those temps with a 120mm radiator without problem on GPU's. ( see ASUS ARES)

    Same story with CPU's he get usually just 57 degrees on load stock with 4x120mm/2x120mm/1x120mm plus 2 meters long reservoirs and crazy powerfull high pressure pumps often two of them.

    Overkill overkill :rockout::rockout:
     
  12. TommyT

    TommyT

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    68 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Beer-Sheva@Israel
    Yea i wish i kept myne too... :cry:
     
  13. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
  14. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    d1nky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    I know I lost a motherboard standoff screw so im one down on my board ahaha!
     
  16. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    Bought a Titan for some reason i'm not sure, i just couldn't resist anymore.

    This is a mess just now, i had to use some spare random white tubing to make a big ugly line past the gpu and get straight to the rad until i get a block for the gpu.

    Once i get a nice block then it will be back to normal -

    [​IMG]

    I'm also going to put some white acrylic over the side of the drive bays to make it look cleaner.
     
    cadaveca and Jetster say thanks.
  17. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,686 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Look at what arrived from Taiwan from the Gigabyte-TPU contest! Only took 4 days to get here too.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
    _JP_, KieX, cadaveca and 8 others say thanks.
  18. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Were you running like a white solution before? Because that light blue looks sooooo much better! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]


    Ha!, yeah, it's actually pastel White with Emerald Green dye... i'm not the best with the camera so it's my fault - i really need to take five minutes and figure out the settings.

    I've got my 680 with block up for sale on another forum atm, i just hope there is a buyer so i can numb the pain of this titan!... and i'm not a rich guy.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  20. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    khemist says thanks.
  21. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    893 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  22. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Thanks ste2425 but i cba with that either lol!, i'm getting by ok atm but thanks for the help. :)
     
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ha that's alright its only lil' old us that have to look at your photos.

    j/k :p
     
  24. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    LOL, i mean i am having to take at least ten shots to one that i think is ok with changing settings etc ... it's a numbers game! - i get a decent shot eventually.
     
  25. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,686 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    The new mobo has moved into its new house. Ye' olde' 570 is back in the black box because I'm using the orange box (<- you see what I did there) the most so I moved the 580 into it. The good news was that I hardly had to change any of the cable routing because most of the ports were in the similar locations to the older UD5. Bad news was that my blue ram that matched the UD5, now looks out of place on the G1.Sniper but I don't mind much now because my case doesn't have a window.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][/IMG]


    Here is the 580 in the orange box
    [​IMG][/IMG]


    Huge thanks again to TPU and Gigabyte for an awesome giveaway! :lovetpu:
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
    _JP_, grunt_408, PHaS3 and 6 others say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page