1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,049 (8.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,504
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL I know this is "Your PC ATM" but can it be "Your TV ATM" for one post LOL. Well my TV does have a PC in it HAHAHAHA

    Lets start off by explaining this TV. Its a Samsung 400DXN-2 Commercial Grade TV. It came originally with a CUT down version of Windows XP Embedded and it sucked bad. I decided to test out Windows 7 but due to the ram in this thing it was painfully slow and the AM2 (yea not + or am3) didn't do it any justice either. So I found the motherboard model and did some digging and come to find out, its almost the size of a mATX board inside this TV. Also found out that it used a AM2 desktop socket and full size DDR2 ram slots. Well this morning I got the nerve to take apart my 1200$ TV in hopes to maybe get more ram in there. After I got it apart I found that it had two slots so I had an extra stick of 2GB and 1GB laying around. I threw those in there and it posted so I was happy but then I got to thinking that not too long ago I bought a Phenom I 9150E low powered quad here on TPU and it was collecting dust in the closet so I did what any crazy PC guy would do and took the heatsink off and swapped out the POS dual core for that decent quad. With fingers crossed I booted it up and to my joy the windows 7 loading screen popped up!!!!! I then repasted and put it back together to do a final test in the bedroom so thats were I am at now making this post!!! LOL

    http://www.samsung.com/us/pdf/400_460DXN2_DSHT.pdf

    Original CPU was a Athlon X2 4450e 45W brisbane
    New CPU is a Phenom I 9150e 65W Agena

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Doc41, _JP_, TRWOV and 11 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,519 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,712
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you know, the rest of us just use a HDMI cable.
     
    Doc41, _JP_, Capitan Harlock and 3 others say thanks.
  3. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,898 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    I'm not sure what that has to do with computers, seems a little personal, but congratulations:toast:
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,049 (8.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,504
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL but this TV came with the PC inside from the factory HAHAHA

    Make sure it can..... HANDLE the extra RAM in its HARD DRIVE.... If you get what I mean :)

    Also forgot to mention I upgraded the HDD from 40GB to 120GB 7,200RPM :)
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    284 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    That's a winner of a TV that :D

    And how is that cooler lol, first time I saw the pic i thought you mashed an 8800GTS in there!

    Nice TV mod lol :D
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,049 (8.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,504
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL naa they have a custom CPU/NB/IGP block. It has a HD3200 IGP that will probably be good for light gaming such as HL1 or SC1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    284 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Yeah I realised as I scrolled through your post :D

    I had a laptop with a 3200 in once - some Turion II CPU thing - that 3200 ran CS:Source before they did some major updating, so HL2 should even run haha

    That is truly one of the coolest things I have seen in this thread :D
     
  8. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9,662 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,366
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    All the way through 6th form (college), I was running CSS and Diablo 2 on a Turion II and a integrated X1xxx amd graphics chip on a gentle 1gb RAM laptop i was given to do my web media and HCI programming on :D lasted me a good 2 years on CSS!
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
  9. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    284 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Those Turion II processors were ok... I loved mine back then... but they got hot.

    I also remember having to buy a new battery because the power went out during a CSS session, and the power draw was too much for the battery :p
     
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9,662 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,366
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    File Server finally got evicted from the wooden drawer and got itself a new case like its big brother.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I made a mistake with the internal VGA size, so sadly it only has one of two GTX 275's in it, as the Arctic Cooling Extreme III takes up a little too much space for the Fan blower to fit!
    Ignore the AMD FX sticker on the main rig, it lies! the TUF sticker too...
     
    _JP_, TRWOV, PHaS3 and 4 others say thanks.
  11. Kast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    _JP_, Cold Storm, TRWOV and 3 others say thanks.
  12. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    [​IMG]

    Ghetto dust filter
    [​IMG]
     
    TRWOV, PopcornMachine and PHaS3 say thanks.
  13. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    221
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Great pictures man and great hardware. I see that Asus Xonar is isolated with a good layer of dust force protection ;)
     
  14. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Rinsing out the new TEC setup! Got some mayhems XT-1 coming in a couple days.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,421 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    :rockout: x 100
     
  16. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Getting a bit chilly, this is a reading from the cpu block. Currently this is just distilled with sysprep, temps could be colder, as the radiator is currently warming up the water, due to there being no heat/load on the block.
    This is with 4 60W Tecs(Currently running at 30W) in a chiller-
    [​IMG]
     
    SaiZo, TRWOV and PHaS3 say thanks.
  17. ReaperX87

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    109 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Some great cases. Looking good people
     
  18. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Berezino
    Just showing off my latest creation, its a desk fan modded out from a gentle typhoon. according to thermaltake i'm a pro gamer now :)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Capitan Harlock and de.das.dude say thanks.
  19. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,247 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Better post in Ghetto mods
     
    Capitan Harlock says thanks.
  20. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    263 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    New Titan block installed

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Just need the backplate now.
     
    PopcornMachine, cadaveca, _JP_ and 5 others say thanks.
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,831 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,981
    Looks great:toast:
    Let us know how temps are (stock and oc):)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,769 (12.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,675
    I like it Khemist! Looks like you are cooling everything with a shamrock shake! :toast:
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  23. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    263 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Thanks, when i had the XSPC block my temps would hit around 43 with fans low at 1.2v max oc... will report back later although i think it will be around the same.
     
  24. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,504 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    The dust is free...

    [​IMG]
     
    LAN_deRf_HA, Jetster, THE_EGG and 9 others say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page