1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your resolution?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Champ, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Less jaggies too.

    I still game at 1440X900 which my card is overkill for but that's all good, better than a chance of struggling with a higher res.
    I am looking to go up in resolution though.
    Still looking for an IPS monitor which I will be happy with for a while.
     
  2. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,039 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
  3. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    1360*768 and quite happy. Gaming feels weird on large displays and especially on multiple displays.
     
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,906 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,540 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    1440p. Had to go sli to manage decent frames in my modded skyrim/crysis. 680 just couldn't cut it.
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,175 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    1920x1080
     
  7. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    288
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    1920x1080 on a 40" LED LCD.
     
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    1680x1050... I've got 2x monitors and I want one more for a 3x monitor setup and that was the plan with my past HD5850 Toxic's until one of them screwed up.... I've been working on a tri monitor stand and once it's complete i'll post pictures. :toast:

    EDIT: The Tri monitor stand is still in fab... but I should have pictures next week.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    1920x1080. I also will not go higher until I get a 120hz IPS panel less than 24 inches...unless a 1920x1200 display with 120hz comes out. I do love 16:10.
     
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    1680 x 1050 at 20" and it satisfies perfectly well, never played at a higher resolution so it could be a case of i don't know what im missing out on though.
     
  11. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    Main rig - 5760x1200 (with bezel compensation)
    2nd rig - 1080P in S3D using Zalman ZM-M240W
    3rd rig - 1200P
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    1920 x 3 = 5760, not 6036. Just wanted to throw that out there. The bezel doesn't eat pixels it just adds space between the displays.
     
  13. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    This confuses me somewhat, I have always thought that the bezel space is being rendered as well, so you are saying it is not? Any article to back this? Not questioning you, or doubting you, I want more info on this for my own edification. Thanks in advance!:)
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,585 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    I'm not sure what you mean. How could the bezel be "rendered"? It's just a bezel. When you measure the physical size of the monitor the bezel is counted (because it's part of the monitor), but it has nothing to do with what is being shown on the screen.
     
  15. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    210 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Belgium
    Mostly dual 1920*1080 for me, gaming 1 panel.

    Have played dungeon defenders once on 3840*1080 with splitscreen (with SoftTH). Went nice and smooth :)
     
  16. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    So, you mean the scene is rendered separately on three screens, with bezel compensation as empty space between the screens? Yeah, I'm beginning to grasp what you guys mean.....:respect:

    BTW, I'd corrected my earlier post....
     
  17. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    571 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    1920x1200.24"Dell Ultrasharp.
     
  18. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    1920X1080 on my 32 inches TV.
     
  19. radusorin

    radusorin

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    67 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Romania
    1680 x 1050 at 22" maybe this year i can get a new build so i can move to 1920*1080 or maybe cross/sli for more. Not so sure right now it all depends on the video card/monitors makers.
     
  20. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    1680x1050 22'' Asus and 1920x1080 21.5' Samsung. I think i still have one Nokia CRT screen really big and 15' Samsung lcd.
     
  21. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,419 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    I just bought an older HDTV, a Sony Trinitron KV-34HS510. I did have to compensate for overscan so its not quite at 720p but close. So far games look fine.

    This tv was only $32 at a local Goodwill. It has 2x 7.5w speakers for the main stereo sound and a built in 15w sub. I'm thinking that's RMS rated... Sony had a way of rating their audio via RMS before most. The tv's sound is actually pretty sweet.

    I made it a point to get a CRT when looking for a cheap HD tv since CRTs tend to look better at lower res than an LCD would. The only things that really start to look bad on it are my old VHS movies.

    the res is at 1152x654 due to having to compensate for overscan. I could go a little higher if nvidia's app would let me move the desktop to the right a tad.

    edit: right now its connected via the old school component/composite plugs... it does have a DVI port but according to Sony its not meant for use with a PC... though I may try anyway.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  22. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,203 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I still use 1280x1024.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    why?
     
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,220 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    I dont know of one (modern) Sammy LCD monitor @ 24" with lower than 1080p native res. You cannot make pixels that are not there. Your monitor is 1080p I have to imagine.

    Higher res = less jaggies. :toast:
     
  25. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,203 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Screen still works, I like its size (space on the desk), vertical workspace is more important than horizonal workspace to me. Plus I save money on the monitor (no new one = no money spend on a new one) and graphics card (need less computational power). Plus, because of the short viewing distance I would not go bigger than about 19 inch anyway and the highest resolution available for that size is 1440x900 which is no "upgrade". Plus, I am not graduated (university) yet and I don't have a job (no student's side job, let alone a "real" one).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page