1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Z68 Question

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by helloWorld, May 29, 2011.

1. helloWorld New Member

Thanks Received:
    Is this Z68 the latest from Intel? I am purchasing parts for a computer and I was wondering if this will be the best thing around for some time. If so, should I get the 2600K or wait for a better processor?

Sorry if I sound stupid, but I am just getting into this stuff.
  2. chuchnit

chuchnit New Member

Thanks Received:
    Z68 is the latest for the time being. If I were buying today that is the board I would get since it's looking like BIOS support is starting to suck for many P67's. As far as the 2600k, well that subjective. I mean it depends on exactly what you are using the computer for. The better processors for this socket won't be coming out until next year but you should be able to just update the bios and drop the new ivy bridges in if the rumors are correct. Depending on your usage the 2500k might be a better choice and save some coins.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  3. FreedomEclipse

FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

Thanks Received:
    #1 Yes! it is the latest from Intel

#2 a 2600k is good but ONLY if you need hyperthreading. if not then go for a 2500k

overall, it depends what you use your PC for. if you dont encode video much then theres no real use going for the 2600k. an overclocked 2500k will perform almost neck and neck for cheaper.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  4. helloWorld New Member

Thanks Received:
    Thank you guys.

I plan on using this computer mostly for gaming. Do you guys think it would outperform a Core i7 950?

Also, I have read that the Asus P8Z68-V PRO is a good motherboard, what do you guys think about it?
  5. FreedomEclipse

Thanks Received:
    If you Overclock the 2500k to 4.9Ghz, it would even put a i7 980X to shame (and thats one seriously expensive processor)