1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zalman Announces HDD Enclosure with Virtual Drive Feature

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,703 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,422
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Zalman announced its first external HDD enclosure. Unlike any other External HDD enclosures, we have spiced it up with world’s first virtual drive function on ZM-VE200. Now, end users do not need to carry around uncomfortable CD/DVDs. All they need to do is simply extract ISO image from the CD/DVDs and store them in the ZM-VE200. ZM-VE200 comes with the LCD that displays the list of the ISO files that have been loaded. Then they can install various OS / software by user’s choice with faster USB connection. Also with its stylish slim design will definitely attract customers to take anywhere they go.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Key Features
    • Replaces existing CD/DVD drives or players with the use of any ISO files.
    • CD/DVD image (ISO file) loading software pre-installed
    • Select and automatically load ISO files.
    • Doubles as an external HDD drive
    • External SATA 3 Gb/s connection available.
    • Auto-detect as Mass Storage Disk and External ODD
    • Easy Access to internal HDDs
    • Write Protect Key
    • Luxurious Aluminum Touch Case for Cool Esthetic and Thermal Cooling
    • USB Powered

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. Black Hades

    Black Hades New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    3 Words. Grub4dos iso mount:)

    It's a bit unclear, can I boot from it if required? or I does it only install OS if you're accessing it from an OS...

    If this is a (hardware based+ system agnostic) iso mounting tool then wow, otherwise meh.
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Location:
    London, UK
    if you can install an OS from it then i believe it is hardware based
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. air_ii

    air_ii New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    USB2.0 or 3.0?
  5. faraprejudecai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I would buy this!
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,458 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    So SATA 2
  8. Black Hades

    Black Hades New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    Not necessarily... You CAN install say windows from windows, or upgrade it, you don't need to boot from the disk. However a clean fresh install cant be done like this.
    Example you could say install windows 7 with daemon tools, doesn't mean that's hardware based or bootable for that matter.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  9. air_ii

    air_ii New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    But the picture shows the disk connected via USB, hence my question. I believe SATA is a second option.
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,458 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Due to power limitations ?. But still don't stop the interface in the hdd being SATA 2 ( 3Gb ).
  11. East17 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Can you f*king boot from one of the stored *.iso files stored on it like you would boot from a CD or DVD in an Optical Disk Drive ?!?!?!!?
  12. air_ii

    air_ii New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    That kinda makes no sense. If it were just for power, they'd rather ship it with an additional power supply, wouldn't they? Anyway, it's USB2.0, thank you. Which sucks, btw.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page