1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

zalman vf 700

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by eta24, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. eta24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,
    any tips how to control the speed of zalman vf 700 on ati x850 pro,or the only way it is to conect to 5 or 12v and have the same speed all the time.
    Tks.
     
  2. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    you can hack off the connectors of the stock heatsink and the vf700 and mod them together so you can plug the vf700 into the card. the most reliable way is to leave it attached to either a dedicated 5v/12v line or using a rheobus on your case.
     
  3. eta24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    rheobus ?sorry I don't know what it is.:confused:
     
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Didn't it come with a fan controller O_O
     
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
  6. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    if done right this will result in a fan that runs at 7v max but can be controlled with ati tool.
    would be best to go with the fanmate:cool:
     
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    yeah. once i get a vf900 for my x1800xt i will be using it with my sunbeam 4 channel rheobus. this cost $20 off newegg and works beautifully. if you need to control the fan just get one of those so you can change the speed without taking the side panel off or modding the case.
     
  8. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    I do modification on my VF900CU fan connector, so I can plug it to the card and card control its speed.

    It is only 2 wire on my x600pro.

    Regards,
    Arto.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page