1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zalman vf1000 LED won't run above 900 rpm

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by aaronsekas, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. aaronsekas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I replaced the vga cooler on my ati radeon 4890 with the zalman vf1000. I put the power connector of the cooler into the controler and then linked the controller to the mobo. I then started the computer and the fan was at 100% for about 2 seconds then shut off, so I fiddled with the remote and it would only let me get about 900 rpms out of the fan, Also the LEDs arent even on. I tried disabling smart fan in the bios and then using the remote and it still would not work. Could it be that my power supply does not have enough energy to maintain the 100% fan speed from the vga cooler? I do have 4 other fans in my case.

    system specs: video-Ati radeon 4890 mobo-nforce 720i chipset proccessor intel core 2 quad Q8200 2.33 ghz ram-8gb ddr2 psu-650watt corsair
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,949 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,377
    PSU is plenty fine. Most likely you need to disable fan control/monitoring in your bios. If that doesn't work, use a 3 pin fan connector to 4 pin molex adapter but it sounds to me like fan control is interferring.
     
    aaronsekas says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,214 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,257
    Your power supply shouldn't be an issue.

    What happens when you plug the fans directly into the motherboard and don't use the controller?
     
    aaronsekas says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. aaronsekas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I haven't tried it without the controller, but the controller works its just it only lets me set it at certain levels.

    I did disable the fan control but it still did not work, and the leds were not lit.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,949 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,377
    As newtekie said, bypass the fan controller and plug it directly into the motherboard or 4 pin molex. It should run at 100% and the LED's should be lit. If this is not the case, the cooler is most likely defective.
     
  6. aaronsekas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did so and it worked...but how do I control the fan speed now? I think I may just go get the adapter to connect the vga cooler directly into the psu.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,949 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,377
    You could try contacting Zalmann to get a replacement controller. :)
     
  8. aaronsekas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well the controller was working but the fan wasn't...you think with it connected to the psu I would be able to use the controller?
     
  9. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    yes it should work but it's strange how it doesn't work properly when run through your motherboard

    i would say try one of these
    [​IMG]
    which would connect the fan directly to your graphics card it's only £2.99
    from here

    alternatively if you want to connect it to your psu with the supplied controller you'll need one of these [​IMG] from the same shop (assuming you live in the uk) which is also the same price

    personaly i prefer these
    [​IMG]
    from here as they seem less exposed :toast:
     
    aaronsekas says thanks.
  10. aaronsekas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm gonna go with your advice and get the psu adapter, and 1 more question does qaulity thermal compound make that big of a difference? im currently using that white goop that came with the vf1000
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page