1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zero Core causing max CPU usage

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by INSTG8R, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    As the title states when my 7970 goes into Zero Core mode basically my CPU stays pinned at my 4.6 OC.If I wake the PC and Zero Core turns off the CPU clocks drops back to "Idle Clocks".

    I can see what is happening. When it goes into "Zero Core mode" my 1st core is going to 100% usage so that is why it is staying at 4.6.

    I thought Zero Core was a pretty cool feature but if it's forcing my PC to run at OC speeds all the time it kinda defeats the purpose.
     
  2. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    interesting. did you update the drivers?

    check with w1z if he has seen similar issue during testing.
     
  3. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,372 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Odd one. Was going to suggest perhaps Hardware acceleration is switched on in your browser (or similar) but then your gpu wouldn't power down...
     
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Thanks for that link Law it was on my agenda to use that. I just wonder if anyone with a 7 series is noticing the same thing?
     
  6. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No problems here:)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page