1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zotac 680 4GB or EVGA 680 2GB SC+?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by mog22wai, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. mog22wai New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Hi All,

    This is my first post and I've got a question about the Zotac 680 4GB. I'm not familiar with that brand, and I've currently got an EVGA 680 SC+ unopened. I've held off opening it till I was positive it was the best card. I ordered it on impulse and now I'm having second thoughts. I had also ordered a XFX 7970 BE DD but I returned it already.

    I'm concerned about only 2GB vram on the EVGA 680 SC+, am I over thinking this? Is Zotac a good name in quality. I've googled it, but come up with suprisingly little data on them.

    Is a stock 680 with 4gb vram gonna be that different than the EVGA 680 SC+? It's the only 4gb 680 I've found that's actually available. Although, the EVGA Classifieds are coming out soon, but the odds of me actually seeing one is slim to none.

    Thanks for any input!

    PS - I'm upgrading because my XFX 5970 BE is on the fritz and XFX is dragging their heels with the RMA.

    Or wait and see how AMD 's Tahiti 2 pans out? However, after constant problems with drivers for the 5970 I'm ready to give Nvidia a try.
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,676 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,548
    I suggest filling in your System Specs under user CP so people can base their insight off that information. What resolution are you running? 2gb is enough for single 1080/1200p
    mog22wai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mog22wai New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Thanks, man. The first thing I did was fill in my System Specs before I posted...not sure why it's not showing. I just checked and everything I filled into the System Specs is there, but it's not showing here...dunno. Maybe it takes a little while. I've got 3 monitors all slightly different sizes. One is 120hz and 3D, the other 2 are 60hz. All run at 1080p. I don't run all 3 (eyefinity) for gaming very often, usually just stick with one.
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  4. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    370 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Regardless of what brand the card is, they all come out of the same factory (likely Foxconn) and then are shipped to the board partners for branding. Zotac is fine, just make sure you're comfortable with their warranty policies.
    mog22wai says thanks.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Hi and welcome to TPU! :toast:

    Your system specs are showing now.

    I had your same difficulty but between the Asus 670 TOP 2GB and the Zotac 670 4GB.

    I read that if you're gaming at 1080p it's not worth paying for 4GB vram.
    Also if you're not into games like Skyrim and adding modded textures to it.

    I chose the 4GB Zotac myself because I game at 2560x1440, Skyrim's my favorite game and I keep installing texture mods and can't wait to set ugridstoload at 7 or higher and modding the hell out of the game and modifying the .ini file even further for better draw distances and better graphics...
    mog22wai says thanks.
  6. mog22wai New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Thank you both very much for responding! I appreciate your input. I do enjoy Skyrim and modding, which is why I've held off on opening the EVGA...seriously condidering shipping it back now. Dang it...they actually had some of the 4GB Zotac's in stock this week but their back out again. I'm hoping the 4gb Evga Classified will show it's head in the next week or so. But I'm sure it will be just as elusive as the FTW 680....which I never even saw for sale.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page