1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ZOTAC Embraces All High-Resolution Connections on Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 2, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    “ZOTAC is always leading the way with our graphics cards. As new displays are shedding old connections, it’s the perfect time for us to move ahead do the same,” said Carsten Berger, marketing director, ZOTAC International.

    By eliminating the legacy TV output port, all newly manufactured ZOTAC graphics cards feature HDMI, dual-link DVI and VGA outputs for high-resolution connections to monitors and televisions. ZOTAC GeForce GTS 250, 9 and 8400GS series graphics cards with HDMI output also have a S/PDIF audio input to route audio from a sound card or onboard high-definition audio for simultaneous audio and video output over a single HDMI cable for simplistic connectivity to the latest displays and audio receivers.

    “ZOTAC was the first graphics card manufacturer to include DVI-to-HDMI adapters and S/PDIF audio input throughout its entire lineup in the early days of HDMI connectivity. Now that HDMI is becoming a default standard for monitors and televisions, it was an obvious forwards-looking move,” Mr. Berger said.

    General details
    • All newly manufactured ZOTAC GeForce series graphics cards will only have high-resolution outputs
    • ZOTAC GeForce GTS 250, 9 series and 8400GS only
    • All cards manufactured by ZOTAC feature HDMI
    • Dual-link DVI and VGA are also on the cards
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Entire line? Thumbs down to "connector hodge podge" (but thumbs up to the eradication of legacy).
     
  3. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    413 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    I don't get it... "ZOTAC Embraces All High-Resolution Connections on Graphics Cards"? Where's DisplayPort then? And they keep VGA outputs? What year was that press-release meant to be released anyway?
     
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    funny thing, ATI has had HDMI with sound without any SPDIF cable out since HD 2000 series from 2007 :p
    and ATI also has DisplayPort on DX11 generation HD 5000 series :p
     
  5. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    Embracing the 22-year old VGA! Leading the way... ummm... no? Perfect time to move ahead? ummm... NO?
     
  6. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    DisplayPort has been around for a while on professional-series boards... I unwrapped a Quadro today that had two.
     
  7. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Meh who cares. I say if your not buying the card then what does it matter to you? I personally like not needing a bulky adapter to hook up to a spare monitor if my current one has problems. Then again i have samsung so i neednt worry :p
     
  8. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    I don't get it. By the time you can buy an 'affordable' monitor that is larger than 2560x1600, you wouldn't be using this or next generation cards anyway. So why do you even need DisplayPort now?
     
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Card? An entire brand is going that way and I'm seeing this trend from other companies as well. Will it be like 1200 vs 1080? I went and bought a 1920x1200 monitor before they became extinct. Luckily the video card market is still big at the moment.

    Though I completely admit that most of this comes from my anal retentiveness. Absolutely not going to use one monitor on VGA and one on DVI. I end up dwelling on the quality difference between the two...
     
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Because companies have had years to get the ball rolling on moving away from VGA/DVI and moving towards DisplayPort. You gotta prod them a bit to notice that we're waiting and not too happy :)
     
  11. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Most people dont have a spare 24" DVI monitor laying around. I know i dont.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,550 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    how many old systems have you seen get a new screen slapped on top?

    I've seen a fair few pentium 4 machines on 1080P screens, and they're from the "1280x1024 is pro!" era.

    many older systems get a new screen at some point, so the connectivity and maximum resolution really does matter.

    gamers are the only people that upgrade their machine each time they get a bigger screen ;)
     
  13. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I upgrade my screen to my graphics capability so im not wasting money.
     
  14. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    My 4870 has DP on it and I could give a rats ass about that... I want my S-Video/Composite/Component Din DAMMIT!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page