1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ZOTAC Working On GeForce GTX 680 with 2 GHz Core Clock Speed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Um.. no. Not even close. I hope the card comes with some LN2/chiller/phase unit.
     
  2. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    of course, they will need to liquid cool the hot side of the peltier.. air cooling the peltier 'hot' side wont suffice.. the demo video was just that, a demo.. for actual application peltier+liquid heat exchanger is a must as employed by the DigitalStorm system.. u can see in pic below the liquid-cooled block with entry-exit hoses on the hot side of the peltier module('white' wafer seen sandwiched under pressure between two metal plates)..
    [​IMG]

    how feasible is this type of cooling for a gpu knowing it will have higher TDP than a CPU is unknown.. so lets wait till April for Zotac to release more info
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  3. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Zotac is overreaching IMO claiming 2Ghz core speed, maybe they can achive it on a single unit but to be market ready, don't think so :eek: I would LOVE to see these high Mhz in end user hand's so hope they have something up their sleeve/s :)

    WC TEC would prolly be the best choice for cooling but you would need a serious TEC module and the supporting gear to dissipate all that heat and power the TEC module! Swiftech used to make/sell TEC equipped waterblock's but they stopped making them some time ago IIRC :eek:
     
  4. Solid State

    Solid State New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It'll be the Zotac GTX 680 FTE

    (Fish Tank Edition)
     
  5. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    That actually looks pretty sweet! :)

    Then again, for that kind of money, it had better be... http://www.digitalstormonline.com/comploadsub-zero-tec.asp?id=615827
     
  6. Robotguts

    Robotguts New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dandy,Melb,Vic, Australia
    as far as the power requirements are concerned. it uses x2 (two)only -:pimp:6 pins :)
    you do all know this has all the "new" tech within the gtx680 and can obviously do what they claim..

    being skeptical ,as most are here, is all about being ill informed :)

    research............
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  7. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Guess u meant this one by Fish Tank Edition ?.. :toast:

    [​IMG]

    to see the video of the "Zotac Vapor Phaze Demo System" working u can always check youtube
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,860 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,715
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    What if I told you mid-April is also Radeon HD 7990 launch time-frame?
     
    NHKS says thanks.
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,094 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so we need to wait this thing
    it would be interesting since only few top of the line products that come in custom layout
     
  10. acerace

    acerace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    252 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Malaysia
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  12. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    1.5Ghz should be possible but beyond 1.6 you need watercooling at least
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,126 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    at HWbot on LN2 theres one at 1.9GHZ
     
  14. Mr Verro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    every where no where
    this is the the type of monsters i wanna see:toast:
     
  15. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    442 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    In the remote case they release it, the price is going to be beyond $900
     
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    they need that right now not in april cuz when 690 comes out amd is dead :laugh:
     
  17. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    753 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    april fool's much
     
  18. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    That was with the stock VRM gutted, and EVGA "Untouchables" EPower soldered on and 1.6v+ vGPU (very beefy 12 phase pwm/vrm vs stock 4 phase) :laugh:

    So with a great PCB you can do about 1900 on LN2, some manufacturers are now designing/outputting those stronger PCBs.

    I think a super cherry picked card with EPower modded and the voltmod can do 2 GHz, but are Zotac just going to sell a bare card with no cooler here or what? :rolleyes:
     
  19. Solid State

    Solid State New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  20. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Conventional wisdom says : "2 GHz Core Clock Speed"- problematic, even with liquid nitrogen. Maybe that's ZOTAC unintentional mistake, or referring to dual-GPU based graphics card. Who knows. :)
     
  21. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    With custom designs and extra stuff thrown on I don't think it's impossible. It's very unlikely to say the least. I wonder if they plan on doing a Closed Loop Liquid Cooling Solution.
     
  22. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    is it normal that's no GTX680 is available in amazon nor newegg till now
     
  23. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    They're all sold out. Give it a week or so.
     
  24. Solid State

    Solid State New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just keep an eye on this page. I'm waiting to see what the non-reference cards look like personally.
     
  25. blanarahul

    blanarahul

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    And who is going to provide the required memory bandwidth to that gpu? Because you ain't gonna hit 9 GHz on the memory to provide it adequate bandwidth. :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page