1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ZOTAC ZBox Mini PC to Get VIA Nano X2 Power

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ZOTAC is readying a new ZBox mini-PC model that makes use of VIA Nano X2 ultra-low power x86 platform. Nano X2-powered ZBox models have been already spotted in the Japanese market. The new ZBox model will make use of Nano X2 U4025, which is a dual-core processor clocked at 1.20 GHz. While VIA is the smallest x86 processor vendor, in the ULV category, the company does tend to punch above its weight, competing with low-wattage Intel Atom processors.

    The Nano X2 U4025 processor will be backed by VIA VX900H chipset, with integrated S3 Graphics. The VIA-powered ZBox will be available in two SKUs: a complete product, and a barebones package to which you have to add some of your own compatible components. Both will support up to 4 GB of DDR3 memory, a 2.5-inch SATA bay will be provided to install a hard drive or SSD. Most other features will be consistent with other ZBox models: 6-in-1 card reader, Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11 b/g/n WiFi, Bluetooth 3.0, USB 3.0 connectivity, as well as HDMI and DisplayPort outputs. Originally based on the Intel Atom platform, ZOTAC's ZBox is available in AMD Fusion "Zacate" platform apart from the new VIA-powered one. The new ZBox models will be available worldwide by the end of this month.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
    CyberDruid says thanks.
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,432 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    873
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    S3 Chrome wasn't that bad so this can be a pretty interesting option.
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,400 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,095
    Finally some nano love! Bring em on!

    I got a Nano board a while back and it's pretty darn sweet.
  4. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Finally some VIA love.

    EDIT: get out of my head! xD
  5. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,400 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,095
    The problem with Nano x2 afaik is that they are very hard to find.
  7. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    465 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    It all comes dow to drivers again, if the s3 just dies by driver support and on the ati box flash runs gpu accelerated you might ignore the cpu
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    wish they'd put the chrome 540gtx in there, but the 1.2ghz cpu would bottle neck that probably. still the later chrome gpus were pretty decent. I think that 540 was on par with an 8600gt. the model of the "s3 graphics" would be nice to know btw...
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,073 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Long story short, the CPU power is better, but the Zacate on-die GPU destroys anything in its class by a mile.
  10. Tralalak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    CyberDruid says thanks.
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,451 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    Nice to see Via come out of the closet and wade into the ULV (or at least APU) Processor war.
  12. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Do want.
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,583 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah at last we hear again from VIA
  14. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Do want!
  15. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    366 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Finally a box with more power than an atom.

    Then they fuck it up by clocking it down to 1.2ghz :shadedshu

    Its not like they have to worry about product cannibalization. These things should have unlocked everything, incl multipliers and vcore settings. But, I know they won't.
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,432 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    873
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Well, AMD Fusion C50 is also clocked at just 1GHz yet it's perfectly fine.
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    TBH, I think that an option for a boost to 1.5GHz would have made it REALLY good (ie: not just fine or good)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page