1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zotac Zbox Nano not booting

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by rampage, May 8, 2012.

  1. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    Hi everyone i hope you can help.

    I have just bought a new Zotac Nano mini pc and have had it running for a few hours and now the system will not boot, even to the bios.


    i have had the system running with windows with everything fine and dandy, in the bios i enabled a setting to wake the system on power restore and after that that system will not boot. it sits there with the fan spinning at 100% and not displaying any video (the mini pc only has one HDMI as an output)

    (i forget the actual name of setting, but if the power went out it enabled the system to reboot and start up again)


    I did manage to get the system to boot but this involved the lovely (warranty void sticker) to unplug the cmos battery. this would work but when the system was powered down 1>2 more times it would freeze at the bios boot and need to be unplugged again.

    This is where my main issues now comes, i can not get the system to boot even with the bios battery and system unplugged for 20 min, i have tested it with no HDD and different RAM even with no HDD and RAM and its the exact same issue.


    any ideas would be very helpful

    Thanks.
  2. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Philippines
    wow i just saw one of these earlier. what a coincedence.

    did you try resetting cmos and bios settings
  3. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,667 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    You might have to press and hold the power button with it unplugged and the battery removed, as the capacitors can sometimes hold a charge that will keep the CMOS settings saved even with the battery removed.
  4. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i have, well i thought i have completely drained it, im leaving it over night (just because its bed time) then seeing it it boots again tomorrow.


    The problem is i cant seam to reset the bios, with the cmos battery unplugged and using the power button trick, or even waiting 20min.

    side note... (i have checked the power brick and it is putting out the correct 19v )
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    which version of the Nano ?
  6. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    nano AD10 (had to put my own Hdd and ram in) AMD E-350 apu
  7. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    try and look for a bios update

    and next time don't buy zotac
  8. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Why :confused:
    I have 1 personal Nano AD10 and a few VD01's running POS software for some clients for almost a year now without a single issue.


    I have the same model and have never experienced this issue, tho I just put mine to sleep most of the time since it uses < 2w and comes outa sleep in like 10 seconds.
    I would make sure the bios is updated to the latest version, I updated mine as soon as i got it up and running.
  9. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    I bought 2 for my one for my mom and one for my step dad ... both had 'issues' with quirky bios's (failure to accept a usb keyboard,endless reboot cycles,black screen's)
    tl;dr I sent them back and I wont ever buy zotac again
  10. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i might have to work out a RMA , but this is a ebay buy so i will see what happens.

    i am trying for a bios update, but it needs to boot first, not sit there just spinning its fan


    **update. Australia Zotac don't want to know about it, so i have contacted the eBay seller (so much for being Australian sender) Zotac UK and the email address on the warranty sticker. its just a waiting game now.
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
  11. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    apologies for the double post.

    UPDATE

    by fluke the nano booted two days ago and has been running fine sense with a fer reboots.

    today after waking up i find it sitting there with the power idle LED showing (red led) and the cpu fan revving its nuts off at 100%.


    re seated ram, tried a different ram stick, reset bios via the reset button and still o luck

    any i dears to to type of problem bios? power ?
  12. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    overheating ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page