1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zune HD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by [H]@RD5TUFF, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  2. audiotranceable

    audiotranceable New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    351 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Westminster, B.C
    install audiosurf:toast:
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    K, gunna do that right now. I would really like to figure out how to transfer some of my movies and such to it so I can watch them, I have transfered a few, but they don't play any video, only audio <_<"
     
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    my friend has a zune hd and loves it. i would get the racing game its fun
     
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So does anyone know a how to guide on how to get movies, and TV shows, and such that I rip from DVD to work ?
     
  6. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    anyone ?_?
     
  7. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    DVD Shrink
    Convert using Format Factory to the specified settings for the ZuneHD
    Add folder to "watch list" in Zune Software
    Add Movies to ZuneHD
    --
     
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    THANK YOU, I will give this a shot.
     
  9. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    lol good luck, i love zunes but i have had nothin but problems with the zune software, it likes to take it upon itself to rename/move my media around, there has been times it wouldnt let me delete stuff or rename anything, plus on top of that it has the tendency to convert all your movies no matter what format they start in.........but even with all that i have had a very good time with my zunes :toast:
     
  10. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I havent had any of those issues, however, I keep a lot of my media, music ect. on my HS, and the Zune player seems to have an odd issue, importing stuff from it. Some things it will import twice and rename, i.e. ( filename , filename2 ) kinda odd, but w/e I spose, not a deal breaker, I just delete the second copy and all is right with the world.
     
  11. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    There are settings that tell it when to convert movies if you check in the Zune software.

    Also, I use this converter for videos (2 pass 480x262 H.264):
    http://www.videora.com/en-us/Converter/zune-hd/

    Great quality, and good file size. Haven't had any videos not work yet.

    As for sync issues w/ filenames, no clue, haven't had any yet. :)
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  12. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,900 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    Florida, US
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I bought my wife Zune 4GB version. First one, tried to update the firmware thru the zune software and it took for ever to update and finally it never came back. Called M$ and they walked me thru loads of steps to revive it but it didn't come back from its 'Comma', so returned it and bought another one which already had the latest version and it works fine. My wife liked it a lot. I am still figuring how to connect thru wireless to my desktop to sync her media files.

    BTW congrats on your Zune purchase.
     
  14. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The conversion worked wonderfully! The video is perfect, just one catch, no subs:ohwell: any clues from anyone on how to fix it ?
     
  15. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm assuming the subtitle you want are hardcoded into an mkv?

    In this case, before you convert the mkv, you have to extract the subtitles to a file:
    http://www.dvd-guides.com/content/view/157/59/

    Here is the latest MKVExtractGUI:
    http://www.box.net/shared/lmma68bp2f

    Just make sure the file name of the subtitles is the exact same as the file name of the mkv (so delete track from sub file name). Then the converter should (in theory) automatically hardcode those into the mp4.

    Let me know if it works. I have a file converting now to test it, but it won't be done for a while.

    Update: Well that method appears to work fine. I checked the outputted file and it had hardcoded subs.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  16. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes it worked wonderfully! Thanks for the help.
     
  17. js01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    I know Windows 7 has a new feature called drag and drop transcoding where you can just drag you media file on to your Zune or any other media device and it will automatically encode it for you and it supports ATI Stream. It works great for my Samsung Q1.
     
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Unfortunately the Zune HD is incapable of being used as a hard drive, which really sucks, but over all I say the quality of the device makes up for it.

    Also in other news I ordered the Zune car pack, that's a charger and a FM transmitter.
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  20. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No the styled subs showed up amazingly. I'm happy, as I have Jury duty coming up and I can finally catch up on some of my series :p
     
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    A new problem has come up. While I can play the file in the Zune software, with the subs, when I loaded it onto my Zune HD, it says "The item is missing or can't be played" now im confused >_<":wtf:
     
  22. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    bump
     
  23. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    How large is the file? I seem to remember this happening when I had Star Trek, which was over 1 GB. I believe converting it to mpeg4, instead of h.264 solved the problem.
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  24. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It's 152 MB and it is an MPEG 4. I'm soo confused <_<"
     
  25. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wow... I have no idea then...

    Try using an H.264 profile? :laugh:
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page