Reviews

9.2
Date: Jul 28th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design CORE 3000

With the CORE family of cases, Fractal Design is aiming for the budget market, trying to offer as many of their unique features as possible for a leaner price tag. We take the chassis for a spin to see if the Fractal Design gene is still present or the splicing has gone too far.

8.9
Date: Jul 26th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
In Win BUC

In Win is known for their 'out of this world' designs and the BUC is no exception. While the looks may not be for everyone, the case scores big with a long list of useful features, a good set of fans and a very competitive price point.

8.7
Date: Jul 18th 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
CM Storm Enforcer

Cooler Master is one of the most recognizable gaming case manufacturers out there. Growing their mid tower lineup, the Storm series has a new entry, the Enforcer. We'll see if this cost conscious gaming case can hold up to the pressure or falls short of its objective.

9.7
Date: Jul 12th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Obsidian 650D

Corsair presents the love child of the Obsidian 800D and the Graphite 600T series. The result is certainly stunning, as the Obsidian 650D offers the best of both worlds, with excellent interior design and great exterior looks & functionality

8.6
Date: Jul 4th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT Source 210 Elite

The dust has settled after the huge splash of the NZXT Phantom, the silence was taken by the H2 - what now? The Source series of cases aims to take on the budget market, but still offer the distinct NZXT looks we have come to expect. How does it turn out?

7.5
Date: Jun 26th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Enermax SpineRex

The SpineRex is the latest, full tower chassis from Enermax. Taking its name from the top spine cover, we dig deeper to see if the cool, multi-mode and multi-LED fans are trying to draw your focus away from something, or if they are the triumphant sights of a cool chassis.

8.9
Date: May 18th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Arc Midi Tower

After the Define and Array cases, the gloves come off and Fractal Design is jumping into the fray with a classic chassis aimed at the higher end mid-range market. We take the Arc for a spin to see if it keeps us and our hardware afloat in the battle or if the existing players in this price segment have the bigger guns.

8.4
Date: May 8th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek HPTX-Tank

Cubitek joins the ranks of Lian Li and Xigmatek with their HPTX-Tank chassis, which is one of three cases on the market capable of holding huge motherboards like the EVGA SR-2. With an unbelievable price tag for an Aluminum chassis, we take a close look to see if it manages to redefine the price / performance segment for such enclosures.

8.2
Date: May 3rd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec MicroFusion Remote 350

Antec has taken the Fusion Remote Max, shrunk it down to the Fusion Remote and has made things even more compact with the MicroFusion Remote. This case can still take a mATX board and allows for low profile expansion cards to be installed, while still featuring the timeless Aluminum front. We take the case for a spin to see if it still offers everything we are looking for in a HTPC chassis, or if Antec slimmed away all the good stuff.

9.7
Date: May 1st 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
SilverStone Fortress FT03

SilverStone forges ahead with their latest small form factor design, the Fortress FT03. This unique example of form versus function challenges classical case design. Taking the Fortress series upwards with a stacked layout we'll see if the FT03 rises above the SFF competition.

8.3
Date: Apr 28th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec ISK-100

The ISK-100 is the most compact Mini-ITX chassis from Antec, but still allows for two 2.5" drives to be installed along with your choice of Mini-ITX board. We fill the case with hardware to check if things are too close for comfort or if the small dimensions of the ISK-100 leave a good impression.

9.6
Date: Apr 25th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Xigmatek Elysium

Xigmatek is growing up and so are their cases. The company has made a name for themselves with their extensive entry- and mid-range enclosures, but the Elysium is not only their first full tower chassis, but it is their first HPTX capable case as well. Let's see if the Elysium is victorious in offering an appropriate resting place of the biggest and fastest hardware out there.

9.6
Date: Apr 5th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-V2120

The V2120 may be the largest chassis from Lian Li. It can not only hold a boatload of drives, but also the biggest enthusiast mainboard on the market: the EVGA SR2. With a hefty price tag we take a look at every aspect of the chassis with eagle eyes, to see if it is the ultimate computer case.

8.7
Date: Mar 30th 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
Raidmax Aeolus

The latest addition to the long line of chassis from Raidmax, the Aeolus flies in as a top gaming case under $100. While Aeolus is a tribute to "the ruler of the winds" we'll find out if it blows us away or if the wind is knocked out of our sails in our review.

9.1
Date: Mar 22nd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT H2

NZXT's H2 is a very well featured mid tower case in the $100 range that offers a clean and stylish look in both black or white. Even though it comes at a competitive price it includes three fans that can be adjusted using an integrated fan controller.

9.3
Date: Feb 24th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec DF-85

The Darkfleet series from Antec features a very industrial design and comes jam packed with fans and features. There are models for every budget and the DF-85 is the largest of the bunch. we take a look at the many unique extras within the chassis and walk away impressed by both the price and performance.

9.2
Date: Feb 21st 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
In Win Dragon Rider

The Dragon Rider is not only an extremely cool case to look at, but also has a very long and interesting feature set that should grab your attention. We take the Dragon Rider for a spin and look behind that shield of a front to see if it manages to fend itself off or if the armor is cracked upon closer inspection.

Date: Feb 15th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
BitFenix Shinobi Preview

We had a chance to take a look at the BitFenix Shinobi chassis pre-production sample, which is the first budget chassis from the upstart BitFenix. While the Colossus and Survivor managed to turn heads with unique looks, the Shinobi packs an understated design and a mean price/performance punch.

8.9
Date: Feb 3rd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-A04

Lian Li has taken the small form factor of the PC-A05N and has changed the interior in favor of mATX compatibility and added space to store up to 7 hard drives within the chassis. With a price tag of just under 100 Euros we take a really close look if it is as innovative as the A05N back in the day or if it is nothing but good looks.

8.2
Date: Feb 2nd 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
Raidmax Blackstorm

Raidmax is well known for their spacey looking cases and the Blackstorm is no execption. Available in black/blue or white/blue, we enter the storm front to see if what is at the eye of the hurricane.

9.1
Date: Jan 26th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Define XL

Fractal Design has enlarged the Define R3 to a full tower with additional features, calling it the Define XL. We tear it apart, fill it with hardware and see if we still have room to breath or if it is all nothing but wasted space

8.0
Date: Jan 9th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek Tattoo Fire

Cubitek is entering the case market with their Tattoo series of enclosures. Ranging from a basic model to one with LED fans and red interior along with a nice set of unique features we take a look at the Tattoo Fire chassis inside and out to see if it manages to light our fire or burns down in the process

Date: Dec 16th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek XL-Tank Preview

Exclusive, in-depth preview of a brand new player in the Aluminum Case market: Cubitek. The Tank Series of cases aim to bring some turmoil into the strong grip exerted by Lian Li and we have the chance to take a quick look at one of their cases, set to be released in Q1 2011.

9.1
Date: Dec 9th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Define R3

Fractal has updated the Define chassis once more. The R3 revision comes with an interesting list of upgrades and features. We take it for a spin to see if it can keep up with the modern times and if it manages to impress in the light of stiff competition in the same price segment.

9.6
Date: Nov 24th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Graphite 600T

Corsair has put a lot of engineering into their Obsidian case line-up and everyone had eagerly been awaiting their first mid-tower case offering. Enter stage left: Corsair Graphite 600T, which takes a lot of the features of the Obsidian and packs it into a uniqe looking case at a much lower price point. We tear it apart and put it back together, to see if it can impress as much as the Obsidian series.