Reviews

8.2
Date: Sep 22nd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Akasa Venom Toxic

Akasa can be considered an institution or constant as a computer brand. The Venom Toxic chassis is their latest case aimed at the gaming crowd. The neon green accents make for a badass chassis. We give the large chassis a spin to see if it's all hot smoke or if the Viper has a real toxic bite.

9.3
Date: Sep 20th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-90B 'The Hammer'

HPTX cases are usually so tall that they do not fit under a normal desk. Lian Li - the company who first offered such a chassis - has managed to shrink things down to mid tower size while still offering HPTX compatibility and the ability to install up to 12 hard drives. We rip the case apart to see how everything is suppose to fit in such cramped spaces.

9.5
Date: Sep 13th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Thermaltake Chaser MK-1

The Thermaltake Chaser MK-1, a futuristic looking chassis with a long list of useful features manages to impress in terms of looks, but can it hold up on our test bench? We fill the case with hardware to see if it ends up being chased or really manages to stay the chaser in every scenario.

8.0
Date: Sep 8th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design CORE 1000

The CORE 1000 is the most affordable entry into the Micro ATX case market from Fractal Design. It is aimed to take on the Cooler Master Elite and the Xigmatek Asgard by offering as many features at an affordable price point. Will it prevail?

9.6
Date: Aug 30th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Carbide 400R

After the huge success of the Obsidian and Graphite cases, Corsair is entering the sub $100 market with the Carbide 400R. We show no mercy and review it just like its bigger brethren and are happy to report, that it holds up in an impressive manner.

8.5
Date: Aug 25th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Enermax Hoplite

The Enermax Hoplite has a long list of features and sports edgy industrial looks, which seem to be inspired by other cases in the market but also turns some heads with a competitive price point. We whip out the screw driver to see how it holds up on our test bench - turns out Enermax has done a great job and that tool is barely needed.

9.2
Date: Jul 28th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design CORE 3000

With the CORE family of cases, Fractal Design is aiming for the budget market, trying to offer as many of their unique features as possible for a leaner price tag. We take the chassis for a spin to see if the Fractal Design gene is still present or the splicing has gone too far.

8.9
Date: Jul 26th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
In Win BUC

In Win is known for their 'out of this world' designs and the BUC is no exception. While the looks may not be for everyone, the case scores big with a long list of useful features, a good set of fans and a very competitive price point.

8.7
Date: Jul 18th 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
CM Storm Enforcer

Cooler Master is one of the most recognizable gaming case manufacturers out there. Growing their mid tower lineup, the Storm series has a new entry, the Enforcer. We'll see if this cost conscious gaming case can hold up to the pressure or falls short of its objective.

9.7
Date: Jul 12th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Obsidian 650D

Corsair presents the love child of the Obsidian 800D and the Graphite 600T series. The result is certainly stunning, as the Obsidian 650D offers the best of both worlds, with excellent interior design and great exterior looks & functionality

8.6
Date: Jul 4th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT Source 210 Elite

The dust has settled after the huge splash of the NZXT Phantom, the silence was taken by the H2 - what now? The Source series of cases aims to take on the budget market, but still offer the distinct NZXT looks we have come to expect. How does it turn out?

7.5
Date: Jun 26th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Enermax SpineRex

The SpineRex is the latest, full tower chassis from Enermax. Taking its name from the top spine cover, we dig deeper to see if the cool, multi-mode and multi-LED fans are trying to draw your focus away from something, or if they are the triumphant sights of a cool chassis.

8.9
Date: May 18th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Arc Midi Tower

After the Define and Array cases, the gloves come off and Fractal Design is jumping into the fray with a classic chassis aimed at the higher end mid-range market. We take the Arc for a spin to see if it keeps us and our hardware afloat in the battle or if the existing players in this price segment have the bigger guns.

8.4
Date: May 8th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek HPTX-Tank

Cubitek joins the ranks of Lian Li and Xigmatek with their HPTX-Tank chassis, which is one of three cases on the market capable of holding huge motherboards like the EVGA SR-2. With an unbelievable price tag for an Aluminum chassis, we take a close look to see if it manages to redefine the price / performance segment for such enclosures.

8.2
Date: May 3rd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec MicroFusion Remote 350

Antec has taken the Fusion Remote Max, shrunk it down to the Fusion Remote and has made things even more compact with the MicroFusion Remote. This case can still take a mATX board and allows for low profile expansion cards to be installed, while still featuring the timeless Aluminum front. We take the case for a spin to see if it still offers everything we are looking for in a HTPC chassis, or if Antec slimmed away all the good stuff.

9.7
Date: May 1st 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
SilverStone Fortress FT03

SilverStone forges ahead with their latest small form factor design, the Fortress FT03. This unique example of form versus function challenges classical case design. Taking the Fortress series upwards with a stacked layout we'll see if the FT03 rises above the SFF competition.

8.3
Date: Apr 28th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec ISK-100

The ISK-100 is the most compact Mini-ITX chassis from Antec, but still allows for two 2.5" drives to be installed along with your choice of Mini-ITX board. We fill the case with hardware to check if things are too close for comfort or if the small dimensions of the ISK-100 leave a good impression.

9.6
Date: Apr 25th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Xigmatek Elysium

Xigmatek is growing up and so are their cases. The company has made a name for themselves with their extensive entry- and mid-range enclosures, but the Elysium is not only their first full tower chassis, but it is their first HPTX capable case as well. Let's see if the Elysium is victorious in offering an appropriate resting place of the biggest and fastest hardware out there.

9.6
Date: Apr 5th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-V2120

The V2120 may be the largest chassis from Lian Li. It can not only hold a boatload of drives, but also the biggest enthusiast mainboard on the market: the EVGA SR2. With a hefty price tag we take a look at every aspect of the chassis with eagle eyes, to see if it is the ultimate computer case.

8.7
Date: Mar 30th 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
Raidmax Aeolus

The latest addition to the long line of chassis from Raidmax, the Aeolus flies in as a top gaming case under $100. While Aeolus is a tribute to "the ruler of the winds" we'll find out if it blows us away or if the wind is knocked out of our sails in our review.

9.1
Date: Mar 22nd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT H2

NZXT's H2 is a very well featured mid tower case in the $100 range that offers a clean and stylish look in both black or white. Even though it comes at a competitive price it includes three fans that can be adjusted using an integrated fan controller.

9.3
Date: Feb 24th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec DF-85

The Darkfleet series from Antec features a very industrial design and comes jam packed with fans and features. There are models for every budget and the DF-85 is the largest of the bunch. we take a look at the many unique extras within the chassis and walk away impressed by both the price and performance.

9.2
Date: Feb 21st 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
In Win Dragon Rider

The Dragon Rider is not only an extremely cool case to look at, but also has a very long and interesting feature set that should grab your attention. We take the Dragon Rider for a spin and look behind that shield of a front to see if it manages to fend itself off or if the armor is cracked upon closer inspection.

Date: Feb 15th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
BitFenix Shinobi Preview

We had a chance to take a look at the BitFenix Shinobi chassis pre-production sample, which is the first budget chassis from the upstart BitFenix. While the Colossus and Survivor managed to turn heads with unique looks, the Shinobi packs an understated design and a mean price/performance punch.

8.9
Date: Feb 3rd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-A04

Lian Li has taken the small form factor of the PC-A05N and has changed the interior in favor of mATX compatibility and added space to store up to 7 hard drives within the chassis. With a price tag of just under 100 Euros we take a really close look if it is as innovative as the A05N back in the day or if it is nothing but good looks.