Reviews

9.3
Date: Feb 24th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec DF-85

The Darkfleet series from Antec features a very industrial design and comes jam packed with fans and features. There are models for every budget and the DF-85 is the largest of the bunch. we take a look at the many unique extras within the chassis and walk away impressed by both the price and performance.

9.2
Date: Feb 21st 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
In Win Dragon Rider

The Dragon Rider is not only an extremely cool case to look at, but also has a very long and interesting feature set that should grab your attention. We take the Dragon Rider for a spin and look behind that shield of a front to see if it manages to fend itself off or if the armor is cracked upon closer inspection.

Date: Feb 15th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
BitFenix Shinobi Preview

We had a chance to take a look at the BitFenix Shinobi chassis pre-production sample, which is the first budget chassis from the upstart BitFenix. While the Colossus and Survivor managed to turn heads with unique looks, the Shinobi packs an understated design and a mean price/performance punch.

8.9
Date: Feb 3rd 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-A04

Lian Li has taken the small form factor of the PC-A05N and has changed the interior in favor of mATX compatibility and added space to store up to 7 hard drives within the chassis. With a price tag of just under 100 Euros we take a really close look if it is as innovative as the A05N back in the day or if it is nothing but good looks.

8.2
Date: Feb 2nd 2011
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
Raidmax Blackstorm

Raidmax is well known for their spacey looking cases and the Blackstorm is no execption. Available in black/blue or white/blue, we enter the storm front to see if what is at the eye of the hurricane.

9.1
Date: Jan 26th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Define XL

Fractal Design has enlarged the Define R3 to a full tower with additional features, calling it the Define XL. We tear it apart, fill it with hardware and see if we still have room to breath or if it is all nothing but wasted space

8.0
Date: Jan 9th 2011
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek Tattoo Fire

Cubitek is entering the case market with their Tattoo series of enclosures. Ranging from a basic model to one with LED fans and red interior along with a nice set of unique features we take a look at the Tattoo Fire chassis inside and out to see if it manages to light our fire or burns down in the process

Date: Dec 16th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek XL-Tank Preview

Exclusive, in-depth preview of a brand new player in the Aluminum Case market: Cubitek. The Tank Series of cases aim to bring some turmoil into the strong grip exerted by Lian Li and we have the chance to take a quick look at one of their cases, set to be released in Q1 2011.

9.1
Date: Dec 9th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Define R3

Fractal has updated the Define chassis once more. The R3 revision comes with an interesting list of upgrades and features. We take it for a spin to see if it can keep up with the modern times and if it manages to impress in the light of stiff competition in the same price segment.

9.6
Date: Nov 24th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Graphite 600T

Corsair has put a lot of engineering into their Obsidian case line-up and everyone had eagerly been awaiting their first mid-tower case offering. Enter stage left: Corsair Graphite 600T, which takes a lot of the features of the Obsidian and packs it into a uniqe looking case at a much lower price point. We tear it apart and put it back together, to see if it can impress as much as the Obsidian series.

9.6
Date: Nov 10th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Xigmatek Pantheon

Xigmatek has managed to impress with their past cases, offering a nearly unbeaten price/performance ratio. The new Pantheon aims to redefine this once more, offering modern features at a very competitive price point. Will it manage to hold its own or crumble on our test bench?

9.1
Date: Nov 1st 2010
Author: mlee49
In: Cases
AZZA Hurrican 2000

AZZA has a very interesting line-up of cases so far and the Hurrican 2000 is their most sophisticated one yet. It features a menacing look, is filled to the rim with 8 fans (yes 8!) and hot-swap bays for each of the removable hard drive trays. We fill the case with everything - even water cooling and let loose the hurricane.

9.8
Date: Oct 26th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT Phantom & Hale90 650W

The NZXT Phantom is the first truly brand-new case from the company in a very long time. It looks great, comes in multiple colors and packs a long list of useful and well balanced features. We take a look at the white version along with the white Hale90, the first 80Plus Gold certified PSU from NZXT and end up quite impressed by both products.

7.8
Date: Oct 19th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Thermaltake Armor A60

The Armor A60 is a smaller version of the popular Armor A90. It retains the cool and edgy look of the larger brother, but also offers a few new and interesting features and updates. We throw everything we have at the case to see if the Armor A60 remains standing once the dust has settled.

8.7
Date: Sep 27th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Lian Li PC-Q11 Mini-ITX

The PC-Q11 manages to swallow a full size ATX power supply, standard optical drive and four hard drives while still looking as slim as today's runway models. The mini-ITX chassis is the successor of the Lian-Li Q07, growing slightly taller but managing to impress with a good list of new features. We peel it apart and stuff it full of hardware to see if it bursts apart or manages to keep its posture.

9.1
Date: Aug 31st 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
BitFenix Colossus

BitFenix may be a new brand but their first product has landed. The Colossus case is so large that you simply cannot miss it. It is packed to the rim with new and unique features, which make you wonder what we did without them before. We take an in-depth look at the retail version of this massive EATX case that goes for a very affordable 159 Euros.

7.9
Date: Jul 8th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Array

The Fractal Design Array manages to swallow a whole six 3.5 inch drives and a single 2.5 inch one without the usual dimensions of a mid or full tower case. This makes the ITX chassis a great DIY NAS or server chassis. We dive into the Array to see how they manage to stuff so much hardware into a chassis of this size.

8.3
Date: Jun 28th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Thermaltake Armor A90

The Thermaltake Armor A90 features some menacing looks, all black interior and plenty of *omph* for the next LAN party. We peak under its armor scales to see if the interior is worth protecting with such a cool look.

8.4
Date: Jun 24th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT Vulcan

The NZXT Vulcan is a mATX gaming case capable of holding large multi-GPU configurations with a convenient carrying handle. We tear it apart and fill it with hardware, to see if it lives up to its promise or turns up to be nothing but smoke and hot ashes.

9.1
Date: May 28th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
GMC H-80

The GMC H-80 manages to impress with its cool and elaborate looks along with the gun metal gray choice of color. Inside are four fans, two of them with menacing red LEDs - including the big 250 mm one in the side. We tear the beast apart to see if it manages to impress or turn out to be a timid creature.

9.5
Date: May 6th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Thermaltake Luxa2 LM200

The LM200 is the middle child of Thermaltake's Luxa2 series of high-end HTPC enclosures. While the LM100 Mini offers a compact size along with a PSU and hefty price tag and the LM300 goes all out with space for a full size ATX board, the LM200 can hold a mATX unit and seems to hit the sweet spot on price / performance as well.

9.2
Date: Apr 30th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Define R2

The Define R2 from Fractal Design manages to still turn some heads in the crowded sub 100 Euro case market. It may not look like much at first sight, but Fractal Design manages to stuff it full of useful features, which are simply not present in cases from the competitors.

8.3
Date: Apr 28th 2010
Author: Fitseries3
In: Cases
Microcool Banchetto 101

Microcool, typically known for their heatsinks, recently dove head first into computer chassis with their Banchetto 101 bench station design. With the option to mount your choice of water cooling hardware, this bench station stands out from the rest. Today we take a closer look to see how functional the Banchetto's design is.

8.3
Date: Apr 27th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Thermaltake DH-202

The DH-202 succeeds the DH-102, with new looks and a couple of new features. It also costs around 90 Euros more than the aging predecessor. We take this 7" LCD display HTPC case for a speed to see if it gives us a bit of a deja vu or manages to impress with the new look and feel.

8.6
Date: Apr 19th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Thermaltake V3 Black

The V3 Black is one of the most affordable cases from Thermaltake. It aims straight for the likes of Xigmatek Asgard, which sells for a similar price, trying to walk the thin line between usability and ultimate affordability. We take the V3 Black apart, to see if it manages to go the distance or falls short in the required categories.