Reviews

9.6
Date: Apr 16th 2008
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
Cellshock DDR3 1866 MHz CL8-8-8 2 GB Kit

Cellshock has begun offering their high-end DDR3 memory modules with blue heatspreaders. Their new 1866 MHz CL8 is a speed demon in disguise and has plenty of reserves, pushing our P35 board to the limit. It manages CL7 at the advertised rating and should also be able to break the 2 GHz barrier at CL8.

8.3
Date: Apr 11th 2008
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
Aeneon X-Tune DDR3 1333 MHz CL8 2GB Kit

Aeneon is entering the DDR3 market with their X-Tune brand. This series is aimed at the gamers and their first offering is set at 1333 MHz with CL8. It comes with very nice looking black heatspreaders and a unique, blue PCB

8.8
Date: Dec 20th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
Crucial Ballistix DDR3 1600 MHz CL8 2GB Kit

The Ballistix DDR3 1600 MHz CL8 Kit is Crucial's only enthusiast DDR3 offering at the moment and as such it has been placed right in the middle of the MHz and CL rating spectrum. The memory kit does actually manage speeds of almost 2 GHz and tighter timings at the stock speed of 1600 MHz.

9.5
Date: Dec 18th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
Cellshock DDR2 1066 MHz CL5 2 GB Kit

Cellshock is a newer brand which offers uncompromising quality. This can already be felt and seen when you take a close look at the massive heatspreaders which use real thermal paste and are secured by hex screws. The 1066 MHz kit features black spreaders, while top top of the line 1150 MHz offering utilizes red ones.

8.8
Date: Dec 13th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
GeIL Black Dragon DDR2 800 MHz CL4

GeIL broke into the market with the Golden Dragon Series in the past and have now "resurrected" the dragon in form of the Black Dragon DDR2 line. The memory features a gorgeous looking PCB with a golden dragon head with bright red LEDs as the eyes. The entry level CL4 variant looks quite promising and performs just as well.

9.6
Date: Dec 9th 2007
Author: nflesher87
In: Memory
Crucial Lanfest 2 GB DDR2-800 Kit

Crucial's Newegg Lanfest 2K7 Special Edition memory kit is an extreme overclocking kit at its best. With stellar looks and the potential to simply shatter the rated specifications, this kit definitely won't fail to please the overclocking needs of any PC enthusiast and at a great price to boot.

9.7
Date: Oct 23rd 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
OCZ DDR3 PC3-14400 Platinum 2 GB

OCZ's new DDR3 1800 memory kit is geared towards early adopters, overclockers and enthusiasts that always want to have the latest and the greatest. We tested the 2 GB kit and were surprised how well balanced overclocking is. You are free to run aggressive CL5 timings at lower clocks or go full out, up to 1850 MHz.

9.7
Date: Sep 7th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
A-DATA Extreme Edition 1200+ 1GB Kit

A-DATA is joining the band wagon of 1200 MHz memory with their Extreme Edition memory. Many manufacturers have displayed memory at these speeds at Computex this year. The kits are available in 1 or 2 GB variants and come with the new, cleaner heatspreader. This Extreme Edition memory is the first to manage 1200 MHz at default voltage with no problems at all.

8.2
Date: Jul 12th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
Winchip DDR3 1600 MHz 1 GB Kit

DDR3 P35 boards and the new memory standard were a big topic at CeBIT and all major memory manufacturers showed DDR3 up and running at Computex. One of these companies is Winchip with their DDR3 1600 MHz CL8-8-8-15 memory. We take a first look at the new memory to let you know, what it holds in store.

8.9
Date: Jul 9th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
Mushkin XP2-6400 2 GB CL4 Kit

Mushkin is well known for the solid memory kits they make. Today we have the Mushkin XP2-6400 2 GB on our test bench. These modules are specced to run at DDR2-800 at CL4. With a price of $150 for 2 GB this kit is sure not the cheapest, but it comes with Micron D9 memory chips. In our testing we saw very nice voltage scaling up to DDR2-1136 at CL5.

9.4
Date: Jul 4th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Memory
Winchip DDR2 1200 MHz 2 GB Kit

Winchip is a well known brand in Asia and is now entering the European market with their memory products. The company has a long history in the OEM sector, while the heatspreader of their PC2-9600 memory looks quite unigue. The 2 GB memory kit, which costs $199, can manage an impressive 1240 MHz at CL5-5-5-15 on our testbed.

9.5
Date: Jun 27th 2007
Author: infrared
In: Memory
Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 2GB Kit

Today we take a look at the Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 2GB kit from Crucial Technology. For those who haven't heard of the Tracer range, these modules feature eye catching blue backlighting and activity LEDs, making this RAM an excellent choice for making your PC really stand out! With most modern games using more and more memory and at the same time needing loads of bandwidth, this memory would be great for high-end gaming systems.

9.4
Date: May 23rd 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
Mushkin XP2-8500 4 GB

Mushkin's XP2-8500 4 GB DDR2 memory is the only kit on the market that can run DDR2-1066 in a 4 GB configuration. While other manufacturers have to use CL6 @ 800 MHz, Mushkin can use CL5 @ 1066, at around 2.30 V. Having 4 GB of system memory may soon be the recommended configuration when running the memory-hungry Windows Vista. The only drawback of this memory is its price: $679.

9.6
Date: Feb 18th 2007
Author: funkflix
In: Memory
OCZ XTC Memory Cooler

OCZ's XTC Memory Cooler is a plug-on cooling module for your motherboard's memory modules. With people pumping more and more voltage through their memory, temperature becomes a concern and often limits the maximum overclock. In our testing we saw about 20°C decrease in memory temperature and increased overclocking capability.

9.2
Date: Feb 9th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
A-DATA DDR2 1066+ 2 GB Kit

The A-DATA Vitesta DDR2 1066+ 2 GB memory kit is an excellent choice for overclockers who are looking to maximize their clock rates and performance. Even though it is specified to run at CL5, we had no problems running at CL4 above DDR2-1000 - CL3 is possible as well at reduced clock rates. What makes this versatile memory kit even more attractive is its fair price of $365.

8.7
Date: Dec 31st 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ PC2-6400 ATI CrossFire Certified 2 GB Kit

When deciding on components for a new system, users are often worried about incompatibilities with the memory of their choice. OCZ has teamed up with ATI to bring you CrossFire certified memory. This means that you can install this memory on any CrossFire certified motherboard and it is guaranteed to work. In our testing the modules performed very well over a wide range of timings from CL3 to CL5. To distinguish this memory from their other products OCZ colored the heatspreader in a beautiful ATI red which looks mighty good.

8.8
Date: Dec 27th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
G.SKILL F2-6400CL6D-4GBMQ 4 GB Kit

The G.SKILL F2-6400CL6D-4GBMQ are one of the first 2x 2 GB DDR2 memory kits that let you run high frequencies, DDR2-800 in this case. In our review we will point out the difficulties you will experience when installing 4 GB of memory on 32-bit platforms. Is this $500 memory kit the solution to a smooth Windows Vista experience?

9.5
Date: Dec 4th 2006
Author: infrared
In: Memory
Crucial Ballistix PC2-5300 2GB Kit

Crucial has always been highly thought of by all serious overclockers. They have catered well for the enthusiast market with their Ballistix and Ballistix Tracer range of memory. Today we take a look at the Crucial Ballistix PC2-5300 2 GB kit, which has given us some stunning benchmark results! Reaching speeds of over 1 GHz, and breaking the 10,000 MB/s barrier in Everest Read.

9.0
Date: Oct 7th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ PC2-8800 Gold 2 GB Kit

Even though the OCZ PC2-8800 Gold are designed "for gamers" they still offer features that you would usually see only on high-end overclockers' memory. Being able to run at a default of 1100 MHz DDR2 is very impressive, even though it requires around 2.4V to do that. In our testing we could get this $450 memory kit to DDR2-726 at CL3 and DDR2-1178 at CL6. This shows that this kit has something for everybody, no matter if you overclock just a little, or need insane FSB speeds.

9.6
Date: May 17th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
Mushkin XP2-6400 1 GB

With the XP2-6400 Mushkin has released their second generation of DDR2-800 memory. The memory comes with default timings of 4-4-3-10, which is a good deal better than most of the competition. The elegant black heatspreaders add to the look of this memory. But this memory is not only about looks. The timings can be tightened down to 3-2-2-4. Relaxing them has an even better surprise for you - we reached DDR2-1104 at CL5.

9.4
Date: May 3rd 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
A-Data Vitesta DDR2-800

AData is well-known in the overclocking scene as a high-quality memory brand which offers good overclocking on all their memory modules. We have their Vitesta DDR2-800 kit on the testbench and were impressed that it could be overclocked to DDR2-900 without any problems. Even though the default timings of 5-5-5-15 are a bit slow, they can be tightened down to 3-2-2-4 when running lower clocks. Another plus is that this memory will work great even at stock voltage of 1.8V.

9.1
Date: Apr 24th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
G.Skill F2-4200PHU1-512SA

A few weeks ago I got me a new notebook from Lenovo, the Thinkpad X60s. Soon I realized that the default memory configuration of 512 MB is not enough. Since the official memory upgrades are rather expensive I thought I'd give G.SKILL notebook memory a try. These modules come for about half the price of the original memory and offer rock stable performance for your memory hungry applications.

9.0
Date: Apr 5th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
G.Skill F2-4200PHU2-1GBNT

The F2-4200PHU2-1GBNT are G.SKILL's latest budget DDR2 memory kit. Even though they lack heatspreaders they offer excellent overclocking. Our sample would go from the advertised DDR2-4200 up to a blazing DDR2-5800. What makes this kit even more attractive is that you can tighten the timings to 3-3-2-4. All this comes at a very competitive price of only $75 for a 2x512 MB dual channel kit.

9.3
Date: Mar 24th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
G.Skill F1-4000BIU2-2GBHV

G.SKILL presented their new 2GB F1-4000BIU2-2GBHV DDR memory kit at Cebit. If you are looking for a well overclocking 2GB memory kit you should definitely take a look. Even though it comes with CL3 timings, it will also run at CL2 and CL2.5. It can do all its overclocking magic at only 2.6V so this may be a good choice for users of budget motherboards which do not offer allow voltage adjustments in the BIOS.

9.2
Date: Mar 23rd 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ EL DDR2 PC2-6400 Platinum XTC

OCZ has been a technology leader in the overclocker's memory business for quite a while now. Their new DDR2 PC2-6400 Platinum XTC kit comes with stock timings of 4-5-4-15 which we could tighten down to 3-3-2-4 and still get some serious overclocking out of the memory.