Reviews

9.0
Date: May 30th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N7710-G

Thecus has recently released a SMB NAS server, the N7710-G. This unit is equipped with strong components that easily support the needs of a business environment. Among others, it supports RAID 50 and has a 10GbE Ethernet port through which very high network transfer speeds can be achieved, given you have the right network structure in place.

8.3
Date: May 6th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS214se & DSM 5.0 Overview

Synology knows how to create good and affordable products like the DS214se we will evaluate today. Along with it, we will also take a detailed look at the company's new DSM 5.0 operating system that introduces many new, interesting features and upgrades over its predecessor.

8.7
Date: Apr 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-204TE

Asustor is hard at work to establish itself as a good name on the NAS scene, and they are on the right track. Today, we will take a look at the AS-204TE, which Asustor says to be the best multimedia and storage-center solution for your home because it comes equipped with all typical NAS functions, an HDMI port, and XBMC support.

8.4
Date: Mar 6th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Shuttle OMNINAS KD22

The newest addition to Shuttle’s NAS portfolio, the KD22 is a 2-bay NAS for home and small office users. It packs some incredibly interesting features, like a built-in Wi Fi card that transforms this unit into a hot-spot, and looks incredible because of its nice black aluminum casing.

7.8
Date: Feb 3rd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N2310

Good NAS servers don't have to cost an arm and a leg. Case in point is Thecus' fresh N2310 for use at home. It is equipped with an 800 MHz SoC processor and 512 MB of DDR3 RAM and can take up to two HDDs. Not here to break performance records, its very high price/performance ratio is simply amazing.

8.9
Date: Jan 8th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS214play

The latest trend in NAS devices is to reproduce multimedia content, which home users appreciate since it provides them with the ability to also use their NAS as a media player. Synology adheres to this trend with the DS214play we are testing today - this unit's media server features allow it to transcode 1080p Full HD video on the fly.

9.2
Date: Dec 10th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-470

QNAP recently released their new TS-x70 line, and in this review, we are going to take a look at the TS-470, a 4-bay NAS suitable for SMB (Small and Medium-sized Business) environments. QNAP even claims this server to be capable of offering higher than 400 MB/s read and write speeds.

8.5
Date: Oct 23rd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N5550

Thecus is a key player in network storage solutions, and today, we get the chance to closely examine one of their newest NAS offerings, the N5550. Targeting enthusiast users or small business environments, it is equipped with an Intel Atom CPU and can take up to five HDDs for a total of 20 TB storage.

9.0
Date: Sep 9th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-302T

Asustor is working hard to establish itself, and the recently released 3 Series follows through on those endeavors by targeting home and SOHO users. We will take a look at the AS-302T: It can take up to two HDDs, is equipped with a dual-core Atom processor, and includes many multimedia features.

9.1
Date: Aug 5th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS713+

Synology specializes in high-performance NAS servers with good price/performance ratio. Today, we will take a look at the DS713+ offering reliability and performance along with scalability to business environments, since it can be easily hold up to 28 TB with the Synology DX513 expansion unit.

8.9
Date: Jul 26th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-421 & QTS 4.0

QNAP recently released a major upgrade of their operating system, the QTS 4.0, and they were kind enough to send us a 4-bay NAS for testing, the TS-421, which comes with their latest operating system pre-installed. The TS-421 is a mid-level NAS best suited to home and SOHO environments.

7.6
Date: May 22nd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Shuttle OMNINAS KD20

Today, we will take a look at a small and affordable NAS server from Shuttle, a company that specializes in the development and production of mini PCs. The OMNINAS KD20 supports up to two HDDs, doesn't cost much, and supports Android- and iOS-based devices.

9.1
Date: Apr 2nd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-569 Pro

Today, we get to fully evaluate another high-end SMB NAS server from QNAP. The TS-569 Pro can accommodate up to five HDDs for a total of 20TB storage with 4TB drives. This NAS is also compatible with QNAP's new feature, the HD Station, which transforms it into a fully capable media player.

9.1
Date: Jan 7th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-606T NAS

Asustor is a new company with the purpose of providing top solutions for network attached storage and video surveillance. We are lucky to have one of their first products for review: the AS-606T NAS server. It is designed for small and medium-sized businesses (SMBs) or enthusiast users that need a lot of storage space and a ton of features.

Date: Oct 25th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS213+

Synology recently introduced several new NAS servers, including the DS213+ which includes many upgrades over its predecessor. A dual-core processor powers the DS213+ offering faster speeds in every RAID configuration it supports. Also, with only 2.6 Watts during system hibernation this NAS offers great energy savings, something many users will appreciate.

Date: Oct 18th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-869L

QNAP recently released their new TS-x69L series which, in essence, is the economical alternative to the Pro series, but with almost identical performance because the same hardware is used. In this review we will evaluate the TS-869L NAS, which can take up to eight HDDs for up to 32 TB of storage!

Date: Jul 18th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS212j

Today we are testing the Synology DS212j, an entry level NAS that comes at an attractive price of $199. Even at that price, the NAS is equipped with a huge list of features and offers good power savings potential since it needs only 17.6W in operation.

Date: Jul 5th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS412+

Today we will evaluate the DS412+, a NAS server specifically designed for small and medium-sized businesses that need reliability, performance and features like centralized data backups, advanced file sharing etc. In our tests we will find out if the DS412+ manages to achieve the performance levels that Synology claims, so stay tuned.

9.2
Date: Jun 26th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-669 Pro

QNAP's TS-669 Pro NAS boasts six drive bays, which lets you create RAID arrays of up to 24 TB. Thanks to its Atom dual-core processor and dual Gigabit Ethernet, the device was responsive throughout all our testing. If you need more than the included 1 GB RAM, the system can be easily upgraded to 3 GB.

8.8
Date: May 24th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-419P II

QNAP is one of the key players in the NAS market and offers a vast variety of relevant products that cover all needs, from home use to business environments. Today we will evaluate the flagship of their Home & SOHO category, the TS-419P II which is equipped with a ton of features and functions and can take up to four HDDs.

9.6
Date: Jul 9th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: NAS
QNAP TS-859 Pro

The Turbo Station or TS-859 Pro from QNAP is the largest such unit in their NAS line-up, able to take in eight hard drives. Its comes with an Intel Atom CPU and 1 GB memory within the compact chassis, offering much more than just acting as a network accessible storage device.

8.5
Date: Mar 1st 2010
Author: DanTheBanjoman
In: NAS
Thecus N2200

The N2200 is an entry level dual bay NAS. It has a fairly long list of features without making it overly complex to configure, plus it comes at a low price. Since Thecus seems confident about the N2200 we took a closer look at it to see if this is justified.

9.6
Date: Feb 8th 2010
Author: Darksaber
In: NAS
QNAP NMP-1000 Network Media Player

The NMP-1000 is not only a simple media player to hook up to your TV. The small unit includes a BitTorrent client, NAS, uPnP & DNLA functionality along with playback of ShoutCast, YouTube, Flickr, Picasa and Apple Trailers. In fact the list of functionality is so diverse, it does justify the 399 US Dollar price tag and still manages to put a smile on our faces.

8.5
Date: Mar 9th 2009
Author: DanTheBanjoman
In: NAS
Thecus N4100 Pro

The Thecus N4100 Pro is a relatively low cost four bay NAS. It features basically all features the other models do and promises high performance. Where is the catch? We tested the N4100 to find out.

9.6
Date: Aug 7th 2008
Author: DanTheBanjoman
In: NAS
Thecus N5200PRO NAS

Thecus' N5200 PRO NAS device holds up to five drives internally in any RAID configuration desired for maximum safety. With plenty of features and a modular design, when it comes to both hardware and software, it fits anyone's needs. As the N5200 PRO uses a fast 1.5 GHz CPU it has serious potential to stomp the competition.