Reviews

9.4
Date: Apr 20th 2015
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TVS-463 8G AMD Powered NAS

QNAP has for the first time used an AMD CPU with one of their NAS offerings. The new series is codenamed TVS-x63, and today, we will evaluate the TVS-463, which, as its model number implies, can take up to four HDDs. It is also 10GbE ready through an optional expansion card.

9.4
Date: Mar 26th 2015
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS1815+

Synology definitely put up a strong showing in the SMB category with the DS1815+ that can support up to 18 HDDs if paired with two optional DX513 expansion units. Today, we will put it to the test to figure out how it fares against the competition.

9.1
Date: Mar 13th 2015
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS7004T

Asustor recently released their AS7004 and AS7008 NAS servers which address small- and medium-sized business environments with 200 and more users. Today, we will put the AS7004 to the test, which can take up to four HDDs and is based on an Intel i3 processor.

7.5
Date: Feb 18th 2015
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N4310

Thecus has lately paid some additional attention to mainstream NAS servers by offering solid products at very affordable prices. The N4310 falls into this category and provides users with a rich feature set at a highly competitive price.

9.2
Date: Dec 23rd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DiskStation DS415+

Synology recently introduced the DS415+. This four-bay NAS mostly targets SMB users and is the first to use an Intel Rangeley quad-core CPU, which allows for very high performance in every possible usage scenario.

8.9
Date: Oct 27th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP HS-251 Fanless NAS

Lots of new QNAP offerings lately utilize Intel's Bay Trail CPU, an ideal choice for a NAS. In this review, we will take a look at the HS-251. A mixture of a NAS and HTPC, it comes with the best of both worlds, passive operation, and great looks.

9.3
Date: Sep 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-451

QNAP released the TS-x51 series, which, although classified lower than the TS-x70 line, is comprised of high-performance members that feature the brand-new Intel Bay Trail SoC. Today, we will take a look at the TS-451. It not only features good performance but also looks great because of its white finish.

8.8
Date: Aug 4th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS414slim

The NAS market grows day by day and all companies thrive to introduce more and more innovative products. In today’s review, we will take a good look at one of these products, the Synology DS414slim, a compact NAS with a huge feature list.

9.0
Date: May 30th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N7710-G

Thecus has recently released a SMB NAS server, the N7710-G. This unit is equipped with strong components that easily support the needs of a business environment. Among others, it supports RAID 50 and has a 10GbE Ethernet port through which very high network transfer speeds can be achieved, given you have the right network structure in place.

8.3
Date: May 6th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS214se & DSM 5.0 Overview

Synology knows how to create good and affordable products like the DS214se we will evaluate today. Along with it, we will also take a detailed look at the company's new DSM 5.0 operating system that introduces many new, interesting features and upgrades over its predecessor.

8.7
Date: Apr 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-204TE

Asustor is hard at work to establish itself as a good name on the NAS scene, and they are on the right track. Today, we will take a look at the AS-204TE, which Asustor says to be the best multimedia and storage-center solution for your home because it comes equipped with all typical NAS functions, an HDMI port, and XBMC support.

8.4
Date: Mar 6th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Shuttle OMNINAS KD22

The newest addition to Shuttle’s NAS portfolio, the KD22 is a 2-bay NAS for home and small office users. It packs some incredibly interesting features, like a built-in Wi Fi card that transforms this unit into a hot-spot, and looks incredible because of its nice black aluminum casing.

7.8
Date: Feb 3rd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N2310

Good NAS servers don't have to cost an arm and a leg. Case in point is Thecus' fresh N2310 for use at home. It is equipped with an 800 MHz SoC processor and 512 MB of DDR3 RAM and can take up to two HDDs. Not here to break performance records, its very high price/performance ratio is simply amazing.

8.9
Date: Jan 8th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS214play

The latest trend in NAS devices is to reproduce multimedia content, which home users appreciate since it provides them with the ability to also use their NAS as a media player. Synology adheres to this trend with the DS214play we are testing today - this unit's media server features allow it to transcode 1080p Full HD video on the fly.

9.2
Date: Dec 10th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-470

QNAP recently released their new TS-x70 line, and in this review, we are going to take a look at the TS-470, a 4-bay NAS suitable for SMB (Small and Medium-sized Business) environments. QNAP even claims this server to be capable of offering higher than 400 MB/s read and write speeds.

8.5
Date: Oct 23rd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Thecus N5550

Thecus is a key player in network storage solutions, and today, we get the chance to closely examine one of their newest NAS offerings, the N5550. Targeting enthusiast users or small business environments, it is equipped with an Intel Atom CPU and can take up to five HDDs for a total of 20 TB storage.

9.0
Date: Sep 9th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-302T

Asustor is working hard to establish itself, and the recently released 3 Series follows through on those endeavors by targeting home and SOHO users. We will take a look at the AS-302T: It can take up to two HDDs, is equipped with a dual-core Atom processor, and includes many multimedia features.

9.1
Date: Aug 5th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS713+

Synology specializes in high-performance NAS servers with good price/performance ratio. Today, we will take a look at the DS713+ offering reliability and performance along with scalability to business environments, since it can be easily hold up to 28 TB with the Synology DX513 expansion unit.

8.9
Date: Jul 26th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-421 & QTS 4.0

QNAP recently released a major upgrade of their operating system, the QTS 4.0, and they were kind enough to send us a 4-bay NAS for testing, the TS-421, which comes with their latest operating system pre-installed. The TS-421 is a mid-level NAS best suited to home and SOHO environments.

7.6
Date: May 22nd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Shuttle OMNINAS KD20

Today, we will take a look at a small and affordable NAS server from Shuttle, a company that specializes in the development and production of mini PCs. The OMNINAS KD20 supports up to two HDDs, doesn't cost much, and supports Android- and iOS-based devices.

9.1
Date: Apr 2nd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-569 Pro

Today, we get to fully evaluate another high-end SMB NAS server from QNAP. The TS-569 Pro can accommodate up to five HDDs for a total of 20TB storage with 4TB drives. This NAS is also compatible with QNAP's new feature, the HD Station, which transforms it into a fully capable media player.

9.1
Date: Jan 7th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-606T NAS

Asustor is a new company with the purpose of providing top solutions for network attached storage and video surveillance. We are lucky to have one of their first products for review: the AS-606T NAS server. It is designed for small and medium-sized businesses (SMBs) or enthusiast users that need a lot of storage space and a ton of features.

Date: Oct 24th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS213+

Synology recently introduced several new NAS servers, including the DS213+ which includes many upgrades over its predecessor. A dual-core processor powers the DS213+ offering faster speeds in every RAID configuration it supports. Also, with only 2.6 Watts during system hibernation this NAS offers great energy savings, something many users will appreciate.

Date: Oct 18th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-869L

QNAP recently released their new TS-x69L series which, in essence, is the economical alternative to the Pro series, but with almost identical performance because the same hardware is used. In this review we will evaluate the TS-869L NAS, which can take up to eight HDDs for up to 32 TB of storage!

Date: Jul 18th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS212j

Today we are testing the Synology DS212j, an entry level NAS that comes at an attractive price of $199. Even at that price, the NAS is equipped with a huge list of features and offers good power savings potential since it needs only 17.6W in operation.